We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
California Inn
Nearby Hotels
$66
RodewayInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,086)
Filter reviews
1,086 results
Traveler rating
367
452
176
51
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
452
176
51
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleansliding doorgrand canyonfree breakfastbudget hotelnice poollas vegaslow priceplace to staywafflesgreat pricedeath valleycoffee makerbiscuits and gravymain streetovernight stopfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
761 - 766 of 1,086 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel overnight on our way to Death Valley. The hotel was a revelation for the price. Nice clean rooms everything in the room you want plus free WiFi for the price. Swimming pool area was clean and looked after. The hotel is close to many different restaurants and shops around the local area. Would recommend hotel to all and I would stay there again if I was in Barstow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped here for a night on our way from grand canyon to santa barbara. It is a clean, nice place with very good rates (45$ with coupon). It also seems to have very honest guests, as i left my ipad for 7 hours on the vending machine and it was still there after i finally found it :-D Plenty of restaurants, as well as a cinema in walking distance so you don't get bored in the evening.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the California Inn in Barstow on our way to and from Sedona, AZ. For the price of $48 + Tax/night, you can't beat this place. It's clean and very close to many different restaurants (Sizzler, Panda Express, Del Taco, Coco's, Sizzler, etc.) Actually, from the California Inn you can walk to these restaurants. We had a very comfortable king size bed, microwave and refrigerator in our room. This hotel also serves a very substantial breakfast, included free in the price of the room. The hotel also offers free Wifi, which many extremely high priced hotels don't even do these days.

Room Tip: If you're passing through, this is an excellent place to stay and half the price of other hotels with less features.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardr13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice in two weeks! We stopped there over night on our way to Sedona from San Jose and loved it so much we reserved a room for the trip home as well. The sign in front of the hotel says $49.00 per night. We booked on line and got it for $45.00. Clean rooms, nice sheets and towels, free wifi, big swimming pool (not heated), very comfortable bed, good free breakfast, close to many restaurants, friendly staff!! For those of you needing a great place to stop along the road and get refreshed this is it!! I highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Book on line to get the best deal! Also, there is no elevator so if that's an issue be sure to get a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The California Inn was called a Comfort Inn before. How do I know? Because every hotel brochure was re-stickered to California Inn. This budget solution had me worried for a time, but my fears were irrelevant, as the rooms were good, the beds were awesome, and the location was also perfect.

East Main Street was part of Route 66 before, plus there were numerous fast food joint within a short walking distance from the motel. All in all, we had a really good sleep here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dante252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews