We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel in Barstow, a fine stop over”
Review of California Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
California Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Barstow is one of those cross roads towns that does not have much to offer - its hot and there is not a lot going on. It is located however where we hit 9 hours driving and need to stop.
We have gone through Barstow many times and have tried a few of the hotels on this end of town - East Main St. and this is our favorite: quiet, clean (if a bit dated but, who cares!), large rooms with refrigerator and microwave. A basic breakfast is provided too - coffee, tea, breads, cereal, fruit etc. though we bring our own provisions.

Front desk is always cheerful and helpful.

They recently redid the pool pool out back and I took a lovely early evening swim as the sun was going down, nice and refreshing.

Best feature is the giant cactus!

Room Tip: Get a room in the row just in back of the office, we like the one by the tall giant cactus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Never had to spend a night in Barstow before, have only passed through a thousand times. But i must say the California Inn was a pleasant surprise. Price was reasonable, staff was friendly and everything was clean. Breakfast in the lobby was great!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed for just an overnight stop on the way from the Joshua tree park to Yosemite.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Room was clean, comfortable and quiet.
An excellent, no frills, superb value for money hotel.
Would use again.
There is also an excellent Italian restaurant opposite which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RTB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Overall, this was a great stay on the way North (considering the price). It was fairly quiet for a Saturday night, there were no bedbugs, the room and carpet were clean and the bathroom was adequate. The one complaint that another reviewer had was the "sandpaper" towels. I have to agree with their assessment, but I talked with the owner and he explained why they were like that. Basically, he said that people do all kinds of things with the towels, like wash their cars, load them up with makeup, polish their shoes and get blood on them. In order to get them in decent shape, they have to use very strong and hash chemicals. So, there ya go! Last thing is the "free" breakfast... get there early before the whole place gets torn up. It gets really messy by 8:30 and may not be very appetite friendly...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank srarakawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a nice clean budget hotel. I'd recommend it to anyone passing through Barstow on a one-nighter, and to business travellers looking to stay longer.

My room was clean, the bathroom was nice, the wifi was good, and the room had a small coffee maker, a microwave, and a 3 foot high fridge. The bathroom was nice and the fixtures looked newish. The walls were thick enough that the TVs in the next rooms didn't bother me. Even though the neighborhood didn't seem particularly threatening, it was nice to see triple locks on the room's front and patio doors, and room key required to gain access to the building. The night clerk was friendly and helpful.

Negative points? The carpet is ugly. There's no hot tub. The complimentary breakfast is mediocre. But if that's the worst you can say about a $50/night hotel, I think you've done pretty well.

On my return trip, I'll be staying here again. I guess that says it all, doesn't it?

Room Tip: The first floor patio doors open out into the parking area. If you're a paranoid type like me, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were passing through on a road trip and ended up here at the last minute. The room was clean and spacious. There was a microwave and a refrigerator as well as a small coffee maker. The bedding was just okay-- I wish motels would get rid of those icky flowered bedspreads. There were two sinks-- one inside the bathroom and one outside. Clean shower and tub and plenty of room.
Like a previous reviewer mentioned, I did not like the look of the locks on the outside sliding door, but upon examination, saw that there was actually a working secure lock. This was kind of a strange set up as the rooms had two doors- one interior and one exterior. The place was really quiet. Breakfast was good and served in a decent time frame. I would suggest the owners of this place (a former Comfort Inn) upgrade the mattresses and bedding, remove the broken locks from the door so people feel more secure, and improve the lighting in the room.
Good parking, decent room rates. Water temperature in the morning seemed not as hot as it should be. Oh, and there was a nice big pool, but we did not swim.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This could be such a nice place. The room was spacious, comfortable... there's a nice pool (oasis) area in back... breakfast was adequate... it's relatively quiet as it's set back just a bit from the highway. And it's cheap, so it's unrealistic to expect luxury. But that doesn't excuse the broken lock on my 2nd story sliding glass door, or the onion ring on the floor under the AC unit, or the pubic hair on the bed, or the fact that it took 4 tries, a couple phone calls & almost an hour to get hot water for a shower. I would give this motel one more try in hopes that they've worked harder to assure cleanliness.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamaisVu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
648 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
345 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Inn

Address: 1431 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-3216 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barstow
#5 Family Hotel in Barstow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#7 Business Hotel in Barstow
Price Range: $63 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — California Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your California Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing