We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, quite clean”
Review of California Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
California Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 25, 2012

It's a $50 hotel room so I was a bit nervous, but I liked this place just fine. Obviously at that price it's no-frills, but if you want a clean quiet hotel room this is the place for you. The towels are a bit rough, and the carpet a little worn, but the room was very clean and comfortable and I would absolutely stay here again.

They do have smoking rooms here, so you're going to catch a whiff of smoke out in the hallways, but our non-smoking room was just fine and smoke-free.

The Italian restaurant across the street is a perfect match for this place too, cheap, simple, tasty, and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zonker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

Very clean, large rooms recently renovated. Great value at 43.99 for king size bed, fridge, micro, Coffee pot. Free fast wireless internet and a great deluxe continental breakfast with hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit and a usa today paper. What more could you ask for? We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steamboaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were very happy with this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff very accommodating. When my husband had a problem accessing the wifi, a staff member came to our room and contacted their IT person who figured out the problem (it was a problem with our computer, not the wifi). The continental breakfast was very good and was served in a large room with plenty of tables, very comfortable. We found this hotel to be quite a bargain for the price and would stay there again if we returned to Barstow.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Clean, large rooms, great value. Convenient location right off the freeway. Free wireless internet and a better than usual continental breakfast (hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, fruit).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmzalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Picked hotel because of refrigerator and microwave. No coffee pot in room. I asked why as they had been featured in advertisement. They said that they were so often stolen. I would be given one if I requested. This is a large establishment for a reasonable price and there were workmen standing outside last night visiting. The room was clean and spacious. The TV had many channels. The breakfast was nice. The first boiled egg I've seen on a three week trip. Staff at desk was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This place seems more like a hotel than a motel. Lacks the amenities a hotel has, but is half the cost of a hotel. Lotsa TV channels, great price, Very clean & secure. Quiet too, for Barstow; no train or freeway noise.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCCRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Pleasantly surprised; glad I didn't read Tripadvisor reviews as we may not of stopped here and missed a good place to stay in Barstow. Front desk was most helpful & pleasant and the breakfast was very good. Obviously the hotel has been recently renovated and it was clean and spacious. The reception and breakfast area was bright and clean. Would definitely recommend this one.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glopaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
644 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
339 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Inn

Address: 1431 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-3216 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barstow
#5 Family Hotel in Barstow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#7 Business Hotel in Barstow
Price Range: $65 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — California Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your California Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing