We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get your exercise here!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get your exercise here!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This Holiday Inn has no elevator. We had to carry luggage for 4 up two flight of stairs. The room was small but was clean and the breakfast was good. Glad I was not in a wheelchair or was using a walker. By the way, the little town of Barstow, California was not too friendly to tourist. Had the finger flipped off to me after purchasing gas and pulling out (with the right of way of traffic light) . I think it was because I was towing a small UHaul and could not speed thru the light. Apparently some of the residents of Barstow are drug users and don't appreciate the money tourist bring into the small town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor unless you want to lug you luggage up flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydroy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear lloydroy1960,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

I humbly apologize for the inconvenience the lack of elevators has caused you. At the same time, we are truly sorry that you did not find the neighborhood to your liking. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
37
51
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is quite charming, very clean and the staff is fantastic. Really can't say enough about the staff there totally willing to help you out, easy to talk to & very knowledgeable about many things. Hotel's breakfast is so good, very yummy. Hotel is always clean. Yes it's next to a train track but the hotel has triple plain glass and sealed really.....well they also offer free ear plugs. Love coming here and will continue
You will love it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motherdaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibi B, General Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, September 18, 2015
Thank you very much MotherDaffy, for completing a TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I appreciate and very much value your feedback.
Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to my staff and the management team, we all are always trying to improve the quality of our services we provide to our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such wonderful and positive feedback!

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town

Sincerely,

Bibi Boucher
General Manager
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Unfortunately, I was only able to stay here overnight as I had booked accommodation in Las Vegas for the following night, but would like to have stayed longer.
This hotel was a "Breath of Fresh Air"... Exceptionally clean, well equipped, well located, well priced and the staff on duty were amazing!! These points were of particular importance to me, as I had traveled from Australia to ride Route 66 by motorcycle, and as an "Ageing" traveler, I tend to ache more at the days end than I once did, and really appreciated the obvious attention to detail and client comfort.
The lass on reception duty advised me of the proximity to the rail line and even offered meearplugs, but I didn't have a problem with noise at all.... (perhaps because of double glazed windows, or maybe riding a Harley for years has deafened me somewhat!!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bar-Gird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place is great, we stayed a night while passing through on our drive to Chicago. While the train yard is next door, you cannot hear it at all while inside the hotel or your room. They are pet friendly which was important to us as we had our dogs with us. The hotel is very clean and nice and staff here is SUPER FRIENDLY and made everyone feel comfortable. Breakfast is standard and very good and the girls on staff will sit and chat with you like you were at home! Especially great was their General Manager Tawnee Bryson, when we were having some trouble with our car she went out of her way to help us a lot! Thanks Tawnee!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

on our recent trip we stayed one night at this property. The absolutely best service from the staff on duty. the room was very good with a comfortable king bed. got a fridge for medications with no trouble in a very short time. greeted by iced tea and fresh baked [excellent] warm cookies.
the free breakfast was standard but tables etc. very clean and kept that way. And too boot the restaurant recommended was so good we stopped on our way back to Canada to have another meal[the Pizza Palace].
truly a better than average place with above excellent friendly, knowledgeable staff at all levels. The trains did not disturb us at all and the plug pack given us made it a great memento and story.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mawt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here late a night and what good luck. Have nothing but praise for this stopover. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room very spacious and comfortable. The hotel posted warning about being close to the rail yard but the triple paned windows did more than enough to quell any potential disturbance and we slept soundly. A pool and laundry facilities were an added plus. The breakfast is one of the best I've had in my American travels. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stopped at this hotel on spec during our R66 trip. Did not receive an enthusiastic welcome at check-in, despite being a Priority Club member. Room was adequate but had no fridge or microwave. There was warnings of loud noise from trains but fortunately this did not affect us.
TV and waffle maker in breakfast area out of service. Had to request replenishments of juice and bread, otherwise breakfast was as expected.

The pool was the coldest we had experienced on this trip but the room had the best shower so far.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Shaunalan,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
2.6 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
3.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#5 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66

Property: Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
Address: 1861 W Main St, 1861 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311-3715 (Formerly The Barstow Route 66 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay awhile with this hotel on Route 66 location. Welcome to the friendly Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 Hotel, where the coffee and iced tea are ever-flowing and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel specializes in taking care of business travelers, specifically government and military travelers in need of extended stay options. Guests enjoy both free wired and wireless HSIA and a 24-hour Business Center with fax, print and copy services. No matter if you are in town dealing with the Railyards, USMC Logistics Base or Fort Irwin Military Base, the hotel can help you stay productive and comfortable. We also offer per diem rates year-round.The hotel's location in Barstow, CA surrounds guests with rich railroad and pioneering history, so consider starting your adventure at Calico Ghost Town, which offers gold panning, mine tours and gunfight stunt shows. Experience the desert landscape as you tour the National Training Center at Fort Irwin. The hotel is also on Historic Route 66, so a visit to the Route 66 Mother Road Museum is a must. While there's plenty for the hotel's guests to do in Barstow, CA, the on-site amenities offer guests plenty of options, as well. Soak up some rays by the outdoor pool, grill out with the propane barbecue grill or work out in the Fitness Center. We serve a hot and free breakfast daily. Book today and let us show you what a difference friendly Southwestern hospitality makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barstow - Historic Route 66 Hotel Barstow
Holiday Inn Barstow
Barstow Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing