We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
“Great staff, great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place is great, we stayed a night while passing through on our drive to Chicago. While the train yard is next door, you cannot hear it at all while inside the hotel or your room. They are pet friendly which was important to us as we had our dogs with us. The hotel is very clean and nice and staff here is SUPER FRIENDLY and made everyone feel comfortable. Breakfast is standard and very good and the girls on staff will sit and chat with you like you were at home! Especially great was their General Manager Tawnee Bryson, when we were having some trouble with our car she went out of her way to help us a lot! Thanks Tawnee!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
37
51
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

on our recent trip we stayed one night at this property. The absolutely best service from the staff on duty. the room was very good with a comfortable king bed. got a fridge for medications with no trouble in a very short time. greeted by iced tea and fresh baked [excellent] warm cookies.
the free breakfast was standard but tables etc. very clean and kept that way. And too boot the restaurant recommended was so good we stopped on our way back to Canada to have another meal[the Pizza Palace].
truly a better than average place with above excellent friendly, knowledgeable staff at all levels. The trains did not disturb us at all and the plug pack given us made it a great memento and story.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mawt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here late a night and what good luck. Have nothing but praise for this stopover. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room very spacious and comfortable. The hotel posted warning about being close to the rail yard but the triple paned windows did more than enough to quell any potential disturbance and we slept soundly. A pool and laundry facilities were an added plus. The breakfast is one of the best I've had in my American travels. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stopped at this hotel on spec during our R66 trip. Did not receive an enthusiastic welcome at check-in, despite being a Priority Club member. Room was adequate but had no fridge or microwave. There was warnings of loud noise from trains but fortunately this did not affect us.
TV and waffle maker in breakfast area out of service. Had to request replenishments of juice and bread, otherwise breakfast was as expected.

The pool was the coldest we had experienced on this trip but the room had the best shower so far.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Shaunalan,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I accidentally booked two rooms here thinking it was the other Holiday Inn Express in Barstow....
Very, very tiny rooms, no fridge, no microwave, LOUD trains switching all night long. Dumb location for any hotel...very slow check-in...40 min.?
Woke up to things chewing in the walls! Maybe slept 2 hours. Not good after being on the road all day. We had two big 36' trucks and noted that needed parking for both on reservation but barely found room to park them.
Entire hotel smells like carpet freshener powder. Covering up something?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kernvilledaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear kernvilledaddy,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the check in experience, room size and room amenities. We will look into these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

everything fine but bland coporporate lodgings.
would have looked elswhere but was getting dark.
Breakfast finished on the dot and we felt lucky to get anything
Room clean and beds comfortable

Noise of railroad squealling much of the night
Hotel offered earplugs in room literature but no open disclosure on front desk
£78 for one room 2 people too expensive

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear eebee1,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is pleasing to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the room and found the bed comfortable. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is great to stopover when traveling from LA to Vegas. I like talking to the staff and enjoy the good atmosphere. The noise level from the train switch did not stop me from getting a good nights sleep. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
2.6 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
3.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#5 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66

Property: Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
Address: 1861 W Main St, 1861 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311-3715 (Formerly The Barstow Route 66 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay awhile with this hotel on Route 66 location. Welcome to the friendly Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 Hotel, where the coffee and iced tea are ever-flowing and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel specializes in taking care of business travelers, specifically government and military travelers in need of extended stay options. Guests enjoy both free wired and wireless HSIA and a 24-hour Business Center with fax, print and copy services. No matter if you are in town dealing with the Railyards, USMC Logistics Base or Fort Irwin Military Base, the hotel can help you stay productive and comfortable. We also offer per diem rates year-round.The hotel's location in Barstow, CA surrounds guests with rich railroad and pioneering history, so consider starting your adventure at Calico Ghost Town, which offers gold panning, mine tours and gunfight stunt shows. Experience the desert landscape as you tour the National Training Center at Fort Irwin. The hotel is also on Historic Route 66, so a visit to the Route 66 Mother Road Museum is a must. While there's plenty for the hotel's guests to do in Barstow, CA, the on-site amenities offer guests plenty of options, as well. Soak up some rays by the outdoor pool, grill out with the propane barbecue grill or work out in the Fitness Center. We serve a hot and free breakfast daily. Book today and let us show you what a difference friendly Southwestern hospitality makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barstow - Historic Route 66 Hotel Barstow
Holiday Inn Barstow
Barstow Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing