We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel with nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel with nice rooms”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel personnel is very friendly and helpful in general. The rooms are very clean and spacious enough to feel comfortable. The hot breakfast was good and well prepared. The fitness center is small, but okay for a quick workout after a long drive. The only drawback is a train switch station right behind the hotel that creates some noise which did not stop me from having a good night sleep. I would definitely stay there again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Joerg S

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works really hard to make sure your stay is great and that you get the great service of the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your kind words. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    26
    15
    11
See reviews for
39
53
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here end of Nov 2012. Found it was the most expensive of the 3 Holiday Inn Expresses we stayed at on our trip to Arizona. It has shaken my confidence in relying on the Express name.
The room was extremely small with only one chair and that was a desk chair. The shower took up a great deal of the room and the sink was part of the room. The corridor smells of stale cigarette smoke and that may because they allow smoking in the rooms on the second floor. The breakfast room is tucked under the stairs and not particularly comfortable. I didn't find the room as clean as I like. The warning about the train shunting only comes after you have checked in and as ear plugs either won't stay in my ear canals or they cause pain the offer of ear plugs doesn't help.
I wrote to the corporation headquarters to suggest that this is not up to the caliber of the Express name and it should be demoted at least to a Holiday Inn. I received a form letter back saying that they had passed my email on to the hotel. Haven't heard a thing from them but that is probably because there is no resolution to my concerns.
Not so sure about booking into Holiday Inn Express Hotels as we travel anymore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluenozer2897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. I want to apologize since your stay wasn't up to the standards that you expect. Our rooms are smaller than some other Holiday Inns and I can understand why this bothered you. Also we do not allow any smoking on the second floor, however our first floor does have 6 smoking rooms. Each smoking room and the entire first floor hallway has air fresheners that are program to go off at routine intervals. If any smoke escaped to the second floor I am deeply sorry because that was not are intentions. I am also sorry if you didn't find our breakfast bar comfortable. The stairs that are nearby don't go over the breakfast bar, but they do wrap around the room so I can understand why it would seem that way. Once again I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

After I checked in I was handed a paper that said the hotel was located adjacent to a train switching yard and that the hotel realized some guests were "more sewnsitive" than others to noise and that the desk could provide ear plugs. This is not what I expected for the price of the room.

The room was extremely small and not of the quality I usually receive at a Holiday Inn Express. The Staff was very helpful, but there is nothing they could do to make up for the poor location and size of the room.l I consider this to be very poor value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to give us a review. I am sorry that the train yard bothered you and that the size of the room wasn't up to your standards. We try very hard to keep the train noise out of our hotel. In each of our rooms we have triple paned windows and we do offer the ear plugs, like you noted. I am glad to hear that the staff was helpful. We look forward to improving our hotel and to continue to bring you the great service of the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is not your usual 'Holiday Inn Express' experience.
We were driving back from a winter holiday in Utah and just could not finish the trip to San Diego. Generally, we like the predictability of the 'Express' brand for road trips...clean, smart, friendly and moderately priced.

It was dark, dingy, ugly tight rooms with marred furniture and questionable cleanliness. The reception desk refused to give us a AAA discount and charged $25 for our dog. (Even as priority members.)

We are always grateful for the pet welcome and friendly help - which we did receive. And there was a warning about the noise from the railroad switching station adjacent to the hotel. I am a heavy sleeper from a loud city - the loud squealing noise did not personally affect me.

As Priority Club members there is usually a perk...none here.

I'm sorry to score so low - but maybe they will take notice. Usually, we linger in hotels the next morning and it really is a powerful statement that we were on the road by 7am.

Note - there is another Holiday Inn Express a few miles south on Rt 15 that gets good reviews...go there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear TouringTales

I am sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your standards. I don't understand why you weren't able to get the AAA rate either, since we always offer it. As for the pet fee we charge everybody 25 dollars for the pet since we have to do special cleaning to the room afterwards. We do this so people that have allergies are not bothered and so our rooms maintain their cleanness. I would like to apologize since your stay wasn't as good as we hoped it would be. We are always trying to find ways to improve our hotel and I thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidal Junction, California, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

There is a railroad switching yard directly behind the hotel and the brakes sequel all night long from trains dropping boxcars off and picking boxcars up. The staff is very nice and so are the rooms. I stayed in room 214, which is on the ground floor/ street level.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 214. See pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boots K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We really value our guest feedback and look forward to improving and maintaining our great services. I apologize for the train noise. We do try to inform our guest that the switching yard is near by, we also offer ear plugs at the front desk, and we even triple paned our windows. I am glad to hear that our staff was friendly and that the rooms were nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Enjoyed our stay there. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beds very comfortable. Paid $3.00 for WiFi and didn't get to use it, as there were no directions and just didn't want hassel of calling down for directions. Not happy with going out into hall and having one of the staff out there spraying something (Fabreeze?) in the hall, cause of cig smoking in the rooms. :-( If they're going to have smoking rooms then they shouldn't be spraying other stuff around. I couldn't breath for nearly 1/2 hour after going back into the room!!! BTW, I'm not a smoker, but would rather have the smoke than whatever he was spraying!
Other wise stay was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that the spray bothered you. We have a small number of smoking rooms and sometimes the smoke can leak out into the hallway so we have our employees spray the hall to maintain a fresh scent. As for the 3.00 WiFi charge I am a little confused because our WiFi is free and you only need the internet access code that we give you at the front desk. But, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

A fine stop in a dated Inn. The staff was really really great, the highlight of the place. We were very afraid when we heard the non-stop train switching squealing behind the hotel, they offer earplugs if you need them! We slept fine, in our room it was not bad. Breakfast was fine, typical HIEx offerings. Room needs an overhaul, dated, and the sink was outside the toilet/shower area so you could not use the sink without disturbing the others in the room. Again, the staff was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear TravelingLinda,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced

I was sorry to hear some aspects did not meet your expectations when you stayed at our hotel. I am pleased that our staff was able to off set this displeasure with great service. I was glad to hear you were able to enjoy a good nights sleep!

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
605 reviews
2.6 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#5 of 29 in Barstow
985 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
3.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
247 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66

Property: Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
Address: 1861 W Main St, 1861 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311-3715 (Formerly The Barstow Route 66 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay awhile with this hotel on Route 66 location. Welcome to the friendly Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 Hotel, where the coffee and iced tea are ever-flowing and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel specializes in taking care of business travelers, specifically government and military travelers in need of extended stay options. Guests enjoy both free wired and wireless HSIA and a 24-hour Business Center with fax, print and copy services. No matter if you are in town dealing with the Railyards, USMC Logistics Base or Fort Irwin Military Base, the hotel can help you stay productive and comfortable. We also offer per diem rates year-round.The hotel's location in Barstow, CA surrounds guests with rich railroad and pioneering history, so consider starting your adventure at Calico Ghost Town, which offers gold panning, mine tours and gunfight stunt shows. Experience the desert landscape as you tour the National Training Center at Fort Irwin. The hotel is also on Historic Route 66, so a visit to the Route 66 Mother Road Museum is a must. While there's plenty for the hotel's guests to do in Barstow, CA, the on-site amenities offer guests plenty of options, as well. Soak up some rays by the outdoor pool, grill out with the propane barbecue grill or work out in the Fitness Center. We serve a hot and free breakfast daily. Book today and let us show you what a difference friendly Southwestern hospitality makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barstow - Historic Route 66 Hotel Barstow
Holiday Inn Barstow
Barstow Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing