We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Time takes its toll” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Barstow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Barstow
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Occidental, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Time takes its toll”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I had reviewed this motel 2 years ago, on my drive from CA to NM, and felt it fair to give an update on what has changed since then. Just about the only two things that haven't changed and remain pleasant is a) its location, a quiet side road off the main drag that keeps you sheltered from the railway activity which can be quite prominent, noise-wise, in other parts of town, and b) a friendly front desk check-in. Otherwise time, maybe management, budget, inconsiderate guests or a combination of all factors have turned this Motel 6 into the budget motel one isn't surprised to experience when looking for an affordable accommodation. I had a non-smoking room on the first story facing the pool, not a good choice if you want quiet. The room itself was tidy but not clean, the bathroom sink did not drain, and there shower stall was pretty beat up and rusty. The was a peculiar odor in the room, like it hadn't been aired out in a year, or as if someone had hung up 6 day old socks. No refrigerator in the room and WiFi use costs $3 extra. Can't say anything about the pool other than the chlorine smell that promised to keep it as bacteria free as possible. Being only a few bucks cheaper than other options with higher ratings and better reviews here on TripAdvisor, I would choose one of those and not stay here again. Too bad, because 2 years ago this was a very decent place which is why I chose to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night's sleep, choose a room away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desertmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    45
    7
    13
See reviews for
29
34
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

PROS;
Office staff was very friendly.
They showed me map to let me choose my own room on it.
Everything worked fine.
My family enjoyed the pool, even though it was VERY crowded, to be expected!

CONS;
Just a tad over priced, for being a Sunday night.
Web was too slow to make any connection.
Lack of parking BIG time, we had to park along the side of the property where we could not watch our car.
Beds where VERY hard and pillows REAL thin.
NO ice machine at this location! Very rare for a Motel 6! Inconvenient as well, given this place is tucked away with not any place real close to get ice and it was HOT out! (at least that's what I was told by staff).

Room Tip: Very noisy if by the pool, so just get a room away from pool if you want silence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I will try not to get carried away, but I may have found the best Motel 6 staff in the entire company. Really. No sarcasm, not being facetious. The four woman who run this property are mature, responsible and caring individuals to talk TO you, not at you. No grunts, grumbling or ignoring customers. These people care and show it. I got there on a sweltering Friday afternoon and was booked into a nice, downstairs room immediately by Vickie. Ms. Hamilton, Terry and GM Karen were great as well, always asking if I needed anything, and cheerfully making another key card when I locked myself out of the room.

Friday, while outside, on my phone, I encountered a young man walking around the property. Clearly, he was no guest. I went to the office, where Terry, the night manager, promptly phoned the police. When the cops arrived, she and Karen were outside, front and center, to direct the police and ensure their guests’ safety.

Their customer service, attitudes and all-around demeanor were the best I have ever experienced at a Motel 6 and most other lodging venues as well.

The room was still a room, in place, Barstow, which might be better driven through than staying over. Still, knowing the staff cares carries weight and gives an extra sense of security and peace of mind.

Room Tip: Ask for Ms. Hamilston, Vickie, Terry or Karen, the GM. They give GREAT service. Be careful at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very friendly staff. Our room was dirty, I don't think they cleaned the floors ever. One of the worst showers I have ever had. No water pressure and smallest shower I've ever seen. But I guess its to be expected for $45 a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsays17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I don't know know where some of the other reviewers stayed, but my ground floor room was truly yucky! The check in fellow was pleasant and offered the ground floor room for convenience. Perhaps the upper floor is less yucky. While I realize Motel 6 is budget, no frills, etc., I really just want a clean place to sleep and bathe. The linens were suspiciously dusty smelling, the box spring edge was covered with stains, and everything felt old and grungy. The bathroom vanity light was a starkly bright light, which I will say is better than the dim, mood lighting that many hotels and motels offer, but in this case served only to show the gunk in the tub drain! The bath mat was left in the tub and I opted to not shower due to that. And yes, it was cheap, but can you say it was a good value when I felt like I slept in someone else's dirt!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KD-Welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barstow hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

No fridges as standard- like most of the motel6 I gather, but reception said they had a few if you pre-booked. There weren't any available as we just booked online the night before and didn't realise. Just filled the sink with ice from machines to keep our food and drinks cool. Clean and seemed to be newly decorated. Slightly nicer than another motel6 we stayed at during our trip. Not much to 'do' in Barstow, but close to shops and restaurants and the pool was good to cool down in during the mid day heat. Good value for money and comfortable for 1-2 nights.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from car park if a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teaplease100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at the motel 6 on the way from Grand Canyon to Sequia National Park ads just needed a place to stay for the night. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and recommended a very good Mexican restaurant where we ate later. The rooms are basic with not many amenities but clean and the bed comfortable and in all excellent value for money. Short walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolfbusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.2 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#9 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Barstow

Property: Motel 6 Barstow
Address: 150 Yucca Ave, Barstow, CA 92311-3251
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Barstow Hotel Barstow
Motel Six Barstow
Barstow Motel 6
Barstow Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing