We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dirty room, friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Barstow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Barstow
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dirty room, friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very friendly staff. Our room was dirty, I don't think they cleaned the floors ever. One of the worst showers I have ever had. No water pressure and smallest shower I've ever seen. But I guess its to be expected for $45 a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsays17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    46
    7
    13
See reviews for
29
35
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I don't know know where some of the other reviewers stayed, but my ground floor room was truly yucky! The check in fellow was pleasant and offered the ground floor room for convenience. Perhaps the upper floor is less yucky. While I realize Motel 6 is budget, no frills, etc., I really just want a clean place to sleep and bathe. The linens were suspiciously dusty smelling, the box spring edge was covered with stains, and everything felt old and grungy. The bathroom vanity light was a starkly bright light, which I will say is better than the dim, mood lighting that many hotels and motels offer, but in this case served only to show the gunk in the tub drain! The bath mat was left in the tub and I opted to not shower due to that. And yes, it was cheap, but can you say it was a good value when I felt like I slept in someone else's dirt!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KD-Welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barstow hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

No fridges as standard- like most of the motel6 I gather, but reception said they had a few if you pre-booked. There weren't any available as we just booked online the night before and didn't realise. Just filled the sink with ice from machines to keep our food and drinks cool. Clean and seemed to be newly decorated. Slightly nicer than another motel6 we stayed at during our trip. Not much to 'do' in Barstow, but close to shops and restaurants and the pool was good to cool down in during the mid day heat. Good value for money and comfortable for 1-2 nights.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from car park if a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teaplease100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at the motel 6 on the way from Grand Canyon to Sequia National Park ads just needed a place to stay for the night. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and recommended a very good Mexican restaurant where we ate later. The rooms are basic with not many amenities but clean and the bed comfortable and in all excellent value for money. Short walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolfbusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

After an awful stay at the Motel 6 in Willows, CA the night before, we were not expecting much of this hotel. What a pleasant surprise, however, to find a clean, comfortable and very quiet room. The location is near shopping and restaurants and the staff is attentive and helpful. We would definitely stay here in the future. It is also very pet friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamitaGreenValley_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinec, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ordinary Motel 6 - good for one or two nights. Quite cheap with outstanding quality. Walls are really thin and if you have room facing tyhe parking lots, it is quite noisy all the night. But as I mentioned for one or two nights it is fine for the price.
Lot of restaurants, shops, etc. around.

Room Tip: Better rooms are not facing the road and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Arrived 4th June 2013 at 2.30 pm - this is an old fashioned Motel 6 property. Check-in was quick and easy. I asked for a street level room away from a noisy areas as Im a light sleeper. This room selection proved not to be a problem for the reception staff. It was pleasing to be asked if I need any further tourist or eating information towards the end of the check in process. This motel has a pool which at the deepest end is just 5 feet. There is plenty of car parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.2 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#8 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#7 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#16 of 29 in Barstow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Barstow

Property: Motel 6 Barstow
Address: 150 Yucca Ave, Barstow, CA 92311-3251
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Motel-6, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Barstow Hotel Barstow
Motel Six Barstow
Barstow Motel Six
Barstow Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing