We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop on the way to vegas”
Review of Motel 6 Barstow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Barstow
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Reviewed October 26, 2012

In the middle of the desert.
It is a good location in the middle to stop during the way to vegas.
The room was clean and equipped with towels.
No complaints!
Do NOT leave anything in the car & try to park infront of the front desk!
Way more safe than around the building.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelOGlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 143 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

One of the better Motel 6's I've seen. We stayed at this one on the way from Las Vegas to Ventura. On a side street off the main boulevard, and set back from the street. Very quiet. Must be well insulated, because we heard nothing from the pool outside.or the semi truck parked nearby. Lots of eating options on Main St., within less than a mile. If you stay a night (or more) in Barstow, this is the place for comfort & savings.

Room Tip: We were upstairs, at a corner. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NVRoaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in before. We checked in and went to the room and turned the a/c on right away, it was around or over 100 outside, we left the room for abut and hour or two to go to the store when we got back it was still HOT in the room. later that night the toliet backed up on us and when I asked for someone to take care of it I was handed a plunger to do it myself, when the toilet overflowed and I could not do their maintance's job they said they would have to move us. Little did I know it would be 3 buildings down and around the other side of the building. We barely got our stuff in the room and my 5 yr old son had to us the restroom, well needless to say, that toliet was also clogged before we even used it and the a/c never worked in this room either. So once again I had to walk all the way around the buildings and down the stairs to get another set of keys for a new room. The plumbing worked in this room, but the a/c still did not. I dont know how you get 3 different rooms and not one a/c would blow out cold air, so we slept in a very warm room and couldnt wait to check out. I would NOT recommend anyone stay here if you need to beat the heat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steffanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We couldn't resist the price - $40/night for the family. Both check-in & check-out staff were very friendly. Parking was nice in a tree-shaded lot. We had an upstairs room and it was quiet. It's your basic motel room - average size, clean, good shower. The towels were small and rough as sand-paper, but otherwise the room was very good EXCEPT the beds. The springs are shot & I woke with a terrible back-ache as I feared I would. One of the most important things about a motel for me is the quality of the mattress, so the poor mattresses make this motel a poor choice for me though. When the receptionist inquired how things were at check-out & I told her "good except the soft bed wrecked my back". She expressed surprise & said most bed complaints are that the bed is too hard. Go figure. If this isn't an issue for you, I'd highly recommend this motel as a frugal option. (We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and big with picnic tables deck-side). It is conveniently located near a Vons & a couple blocks from restaurants (e.g. 24-hr Denny's).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickyOm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

we stayed at this motel twice in July, and the clerks were all friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and we loved the pool, it was clean and well kept.
it is in a nice part of town, and easy to find off the freeway.
we will choose this hotel again, when travelling this way.

Room Tip: we always choose downstairs, its easy to get to, and you can park by your door if you want to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank othermom375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My first Motel 6 ever and it was a good stay. Peaceful, quiet, shady and a bit on the worn down side but clean. Friendly staff, nice little pool, great location for loading up on groceries before you hit the road again. I would stay here anytime again, especially for such a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank desertmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

You can walk the outside grassy slope and go almost the entire way around this motel and still be under shade trees. They checked us in early. The room was clean, but the ac was the old kind up on the top of the wall and did not seem to keep the room as cool as I like it. Of course, I like to sleep cold.
This place is a block off main street and one of the better Motel 6.
It is near the Sizzler. This Sizzler seems to be more upscale and I was totally knocked over by the food and the quality for the price charged.
Go to Hooz on First for a nice bar with people from all walks and a very good bartender during the day. She talks and pays attention to all her customers and can recommend some good places to eat and some bars that you might not want to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.2 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#6 of 29 in Barstow
1,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#9 of 29 in Barstow
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Barstow
Days Inn Barstow
#19 of 29 in Barstow
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
231 reviews
24.4 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#23 of 29 in Barstow
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Barstow

Address: 150 Yucca Ave, Barstow, CA 92311-3251
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range: $47 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Barstow Hotel Barstow
Motel Six Barstow
Barstow Motel 6
Barstow Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing