We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for sleeping for not the best of the best westerns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Desert Villa Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Reviewed October 9, 2005

It was advertised that they had DSL in all the rooms and it turned out they did not. We were moved to a second room with DSL and that room's air conditioner did not work. So, we used the DSL and then move back to the original room. Very inconvenient.

The lobby is currently under construction. This hotel is used by many blue collar workers and railroad workers and the nonsense whistling by men from the balconies was annoying.

The room had the advertised refrigerator and hair dryer and ironing board and pretty new bedding. Our favorite way to evaluate a room is to see if they have fitted sheets. This Best Western did we were pleased to find out.

Barstow is a pretty lonely town mostly for overnighters on their way somewhere else. There is not much to pick from for hotels here, so this was ok, but not the best of the Best Westerns. They need to improve.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 890 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Wales, UK
14
Reviewed October 1, 2005

Best Western Desert Villa Inn Barstow CA

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday 10th sept 2005 it was to be a stop off on our way to Las Vegas
Check in was fine and our room was a good size very clean and fresh smelling, and consisted of two queen beds and it also had a fridge microwave and coffee maker in the room for the rate of $82.00 per night

our only mistake was to go for food in the La Sala lounge which is located next to the reception, I ordered clam chowder followed by a chicken dinner with a baked potato
The clam chowder was only just luke warm, and when the main course arrived it could only be described as cold the baked potato felt like it was straight out of the fridge and the chicken wasn’t much better

When I complained to the server she said there was nothing wrong with the dinner and would go and heat it up for me, an offer which I refused she then proceeded to argue with me as to whether the dinner was all right or not

Do not go here for food it was absolute rubbish, due to our bad experience the night before we decided to give the free breakfast at the La Sala lounge a miss

the hotel was fine but the La Sala lounge was rubbish

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2005

The hotel is nothing spectacular bur nice, clean and spacious with microwave, refrigerator and a big TV + HBO and the beds were comfortable. The pool is ok and the breakfast was a pleasant surprise, better than expected. We paid about 80,- USD (AAA rate) and I would recommend it to anyone who is on his way to Vegas and needs a little break.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SylvieWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
12
Reviewed August 2, 2005

The hotel had dead roaches in the bathroom. Do not stay there for more than a night.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2005

We arrived a day earlier than booked but it caused no problem. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast choice was quite good and eaten in a comfortable breakfast room with helpful staff. The outside pool felt rather cold but was good once you got used to it. Several eating places in the town. We discovered Barstow's connection to Route 66 (a museum, check opening times) and the railroads which we found fascinating.

2  Thank HolidayOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bristol, England.
24
Reviewed April 12, 2005

We would use this hotel again, shops, fuel and resturants were conveniently close by. Breakfast (continental) was good. The only drawback to this nice hotel was that we could hear the railway nearby which was loud enough to wake us during the night.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2005

This hotel and its staff are just wonderful! From the moment you step in the lobby you are treated like at home. They give you all sorts of advice, they have printed handouts with directions to dining, shopping or roads to other places. Rooms are great, clean and comfortable. It is no wonder this hotel scores high on the BW evaluation scale.

6  Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
5.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#2 of 29 in Barstow
728 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
362 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center
1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Villa Inn

Address: 1984 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-3218 (Formerly Best Western Desert Villa Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Barstow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
Price Range: $90 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Villa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Desert Villa Inn, conveniently located in the heart to downtown Barstow on Route 66, California. Whether you're traveling to Barstow or just passing through, you can rest assured that you've made the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Desert Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Desert Villa Hotel Barstow
Best Western Desert Hotel
Best Western Barstow
Barstow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing