We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of unwanted light, natural and artificial , in the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Desert Villa Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The room was clean and comfortable enough, but there was about an inch gap of daylight under the door to the outside. Thankfully we were on the second level to the outside so I didn't much worry about critters coming in. Then there was the issue of a permanent nightlight that we couldn't shut off that bathed the room in bright light, disturbing sleep. Haven't experienced this weird phenomenon in any other lodging ever. I used the extra bed pillows to shut out both.

Room Tip: This hotel is adjacent to the interstate but we heard no noise to bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pepperpot129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 878 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Older room but remodeled/ upgraded. 2 queen beds very comfy but not the best we ever had. No complaints really. Next to railroad tracks but they did not bother us. However they did supply foam earplugs in the room. We did not need to use. This is the 1st room out of 4 other hotels this week that actually had lots of working outlets to use and charge our devices!!! Very nicely done. Bathroom was a little smaller than other places but everything was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hppygirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for a single night en route to Las Vegas from San Diego. The room was good and cleaned to an acceptable but not excellent level (faded bath mat/towels, etc). The staff were great at recommending a place to eat nearby as we arrived late and many fast food/diners are open late in the area. A massive fridge and microwave provide good facilities. Free coffee was available from reception and coffee making facilities were provided in the room. The only major drawback was the pillows which were out of shape and very lumps (although I was so tired I slept fine). Ear plugs were also provided in case you are a light sleeper and are disturbed by traffic noise. A great stop-off point.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Warm, helpful staff. It is close to lots of restaurants and easy access to the interstate. Room was great. Only thing negative is that the only good place to walk your dog is a small grassy area in the front, right on a busy street. If we are going to be paying extra for a dog, hotels should provide a good area to safely walk the dogs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you're traveling to Las Vegas or Flagstaff, this is a good location for southbound California travelers. The facility has been remodeled and the furnishings were certainly acceptable. We asked for a top floor, quiets area and were located in the building away from the freeway. There is an occasional train that isn't too disturbing. The access to the freeway either of the aforementioned destinations is very good. We didn't avail ourselves of the breakfast which was probably acceptable at best.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the freeway. A top floor is usually better than a lower floor. Be sure that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Spartan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

stayed for buisness for 9 months mid week checked out on the weekends. rooms were clean never a problem it was like home away from home. checked in on mondays reservations were made when we checked out on thursday every time bottom floor never a problem. service was always great and rooms were always clean i would recomend for any extnded buisness travel. everything worked and front desk was always helpful and freindly. patty went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of with reservations and that check in and out was always done quickly. beds are comfortable cleaning staff did a great job. there was never anything broken or not working. towels always fresh and there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room smells HORRIBLE!! We arrived after 10pm on a summer night. The AC of the room wasn't on and lacks power. Combined with the room's smells. It was inhabitable for more than 1 hour.

I don't think the hygiene standard of this place is sufficient.

consider warned.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dongbai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
5.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
717 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
345 reviews
1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
648 reviews
0.8 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#5 of 29 in Barstow
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Villa Inn

Address: 1984 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-3218 (Formerly Best Western Desert Villa Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Barstow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
Price Range: $90 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Villa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Desert Villa Inn, conveniently located in the heart to downtown Barstow on Route 66, California. Whether you're traveling to Barstow or just passing through, you can rest assured that you've made the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Desert Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Desert Villa Hotel Barstow
Best Western Desert Hotel
Best Western Barstow
Barstow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing