We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lots of unwanted light, natural and artificial , in the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of unwanted light, natural and artificial , in the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The room was clean and comfortable enough, but there was about an inch gap of daylight under the door to the outside. Thankfully we were on the second level to the outside so I didn't much worry about critters coming in. Then there was the issue of a permanent nightlight that we couldn't shut off that bathed the room in bright light, disturbing sleep. Haven't experienced this weird phenomenon in any other lodging ever. I used the extra bed pillows to shut out both.

Room Tip: This hotel is adjacent to the interstate but we heard no noise to bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepperpot129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    253
    105
    45
    23
See reviews for
216
238
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Older room but remodeled/ upgraded. 2 queen beds very comfy but not the best we ever had. No complaints really. Next to railroad tracks but they did not bother us. However they did supply foam earplugs in the room. We did not need to use. This is the 1st room out of 4 other hotels this week that actually had lots of working outlets to use and charge our devices!!! Very nicely done. Bathroom was a little smaller than other places but everything was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hppygirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for a single night en route to Las Vegas from San Diego. The room was good and cleaned to an acceptable but not excellent level (faded bath mat/towels, etc). The staff were great at recommending a place to eat nearby as we arrived late and many fast food/diners are open late in the area. A massive fridge and microwave provide good facilities. Free coffee was available from reception and coffee making facilities were provided in the room. The only major drawback was the pillows which were out of shape and very lumps (although I was so tired I slept fine). Ear plugs were also provided in case you are a light sleeper and are disturbed by traffic noise. A great stop-off point.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Warm, helpful staff. It is close to lots of restaurants and easy access to the interstate. Room was great. Only thing negative is that the only good place to walk your dog is a small grassy area in the front, right on a busy street. If we are going to be paying extra for a dog, hotels should provide a good area to safely walk the dogs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you're traveling to Las Vegas or Flagstaff, this is a good location for southbound California travelers. The facility has been remodeled and the furnishings were certainly acceptable. We asked for a top floor, quiets area and were located in the building away from the freeway. There is an occasional train that isn't too disturbing. The access to the freeway either of the aforementioned destinations is very good. We didn't avail ourselves of the breakfast which was probably acceptable at best.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the freeway. A top floor is usually better than a lower floor. Be sure that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chino, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

stayed for buisness for 9 months mid week checked out on the weekends. rooms were clean never a problem it was like home away from home. checked in on mondays reservations were made when we checked out on thursday every time bottom floor never a problem. service was always great and rooms were always clean i would recomend for any extnded buisness travel. everything worked and front desk was always helpful and freindly. patty went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of with reservations and that check in and out was always done quickly. beds are comfortable cleaning staff did a great job. there was never anything broken or not working. towels always fresh and there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room smells HORRIBLE!! We arrived after 10pm on a summer night. The AC of the room wasn't on and lacks power. Combined with the room's smells. It was inhabitable for more than 1 hour.

I don't think the hygiene standard of this place is sufficient.

consider warned.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dongbai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
5.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
0.8 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#5 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#9 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn
Address: 1984 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-3218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barstow
#6 Business Hotel in Barstow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is a moderately priced, pet friendly hotel conveniently located on Route 66 in quaint downtown Barstow, California. Offering all of the features and amenities that business and leisure travelers expect, the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is situated just minutes from the Amtrak station and only 71 miles from Ontario International Airport. Guests traveling to Barstow and through Barstow will all appreciate the friendly service and delightful accommodations provided by the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Desert Villa Hotel Barstow
Best Western Desert Hotel
Best Western Barstow
Barstow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing