We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over with pet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Desert Villa Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This motel was just what we needed on our quick stop on our way thru Barstow. The pet room was a little crowded but served the purpose and was clean and dry. There was a terrific rainstorm that evening and the power went out for a short time but the staff did the best they could. Ear plugs were provided on the bedside table since we faced the highway but they were not needed.

Room Tip: Good for a quick trip thru town but not for a longer stay. Request a pet room a little away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Desert Villa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Traveler

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us, we hope you will visit again soon.

Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 861 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

The room smelled like roach spray. The boxes outside have rat poison, please watch your children and pets . The hotel doesn't want you to know they have a problem. The rooms need to be updates, the sofa was stained.

Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Bring air freshness and your own sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

While it's an older hotel, it has been well maintained. Beds are comfortable and the breakfast is good. The staff is friendly and helpful. Parking is adequate for larger vehicles. Overall a good place to stop.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Desert Villa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Donald

We are grateful you took the time to write a review of our property, we appreciate the kind words and we hope you will visit again soon.

Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The room was very clean, the breakfast was much better than most motels of this type. Hot coffee, cookies and fresh fruit at check in. Plenty of safe lighted parking that can be seen from every room for your truck and trailer or car. I will use this motel again cleanness is very important to me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wilfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Desert Villa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Wilfred

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the amenities, cleanliness and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit to Barstow, CA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here overnight February 14 on the way to Las Vegas. We find Best Western to be consistent mid-level accommodations offering decent value and have stayed at both this particular property as well as the one in Mojave. The room in Barstow was very clean and well-presented (getting close to needing a "refresh" upgrade, though) and the microwave, refrigerator, and free internet are always appreciated by those of us that are road-tripping. Also, the breakfast buffet was as-advertised and the items were all fresh and tasty. No problems at all. The front desk was helpful and prompt and gave us great directions to Rainbow Basin. We read the warnings about noise from the road the the railroad tracks, but we were not bothered at all. There are earplugs provided in the room; we did not use them. Thank you for another good stay at Best Western.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Desert Villa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Dave

Thank you so much for your review regarding your recent stay with Best Western Barstow. We appreciate you noting the cleanliness of our hotel, amenities, and the friendliness of the staff.
Thank you for commenting on the free breakfast that we provide.

Thank you for your loyalty and really hope to see you here next time you visit Barstow, CA.

Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had a bit of trouble with a drunk coming in off of the street and threatening the front desk and I while I was checking in. The front desk calmly called 911 and asked the man to leave the lobby. Called me later in my room to make certain I was ok.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank girldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Desert Villa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Traveler

Thank you so much for the review, it was truly our pleasure.
We hope you will come back soon!
Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The fitness room was a plus. The equipment was in good shape and worked. The option of free weights with the bench was an added bonus. The breakfast area was small and it was difficult to negotiate around the food items as there were several guests there at the same time. There was only one working toaster so there was always a wait to have toast. Otherwise, the selection and quality of food was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank DoryRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Desert Villa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Traveler

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us, please accept our apologies for the breakfast issues, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations.Thank you for your positive comments regarding the exercise room, we appreciate it.

Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
5.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
713 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
323 reviews
0.8 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#6 of 29 in Barstow
1,026 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Villa Inn

Address: 1984 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-3218 (Formerly Best Western Desert Villa Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barstow
#6 Business Hotel in Barstow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
Price Range: $89 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Villa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is a moderately priced, pet friendly hotel conveniently located on Route 66 in quaint downtown Barstow, California. Offering all of the features and amenities that business and leisure travelers expect, the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is situated just minutes from the Amtrak station and only 71 miles from Ontario International Airport. Guests traveling to Barstow and through Barstow will all appreciate the friendly service and delightful accommodations provided by the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Desert Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Desert Villa Hotel Barstow
Best Western Desert Hotel
Best Western Barstow
Barstow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing