We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Barstow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Fremont, United States
1 review
“Good place to stay in Barstow”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Overall, the Desert Villa Inn met or exceeded my expectations. I had some concerns about the potential noise based on other reviews and the fact that there were earplugs provided in the room; however, I didn't notice any noise during the night and slept fine, so the rooms must have good sound insulation. Only after I walked out of the room in the morning did I see how close it was to the rail line and freeway (Note that if you are rail buff it's a great hotel - I saw a UP & a BNSF train pass by as I was eating breakfast). The room was well appointed and clean. I had a king bed room so there was space for a sofa and table which gave me a nice spot to work from (much better than sitting on the bed) while I watched TV. Breakfast and the breakfast room was pretty typical - warming tray with eggs & sausage, waffle maker, bread, bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, TV tuned to CNN, etc. - nothing gourmet, but quick and easy to get in and out with more than enough selection and quantity to keep you going until lunch. I'd recommend this hotel (actually a traditional open walkway motel) to others, and I would stay at it again if I'm in Barstow.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Martin

I am so glad you enjoyed you stay. It is true we are close to it all here. Its nice to see we were able to provide a great trip for you. It is truly our goal to provide a great hotel guests love and we hope to see you again at a Best Western Desert Villia.

Thank you and happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    303
    129
    51
    29
See reviews for
262
290
61
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Picked this Best Western because it is pet friendly. Room was clean and well maintained. Patty at the front desk was extremely helpful with local places to eat. Joined BW Rewards and have not regretted staying at a Best Western since. Very friendly staff. Even the coffee was good here!

Room Tip: Farthest room from the tracks is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Vivian

On behalf of the entire staff: THANK YOU.
Thank you so much for your kind words, I am very fortunate to work with a great group of people, we as a team truly enjoy what we do, you are very kind and we hope you will visit again soon.

Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel was clean, well-kept and comfortable. While we did not mind the noise, note that this hotel is right on US 40 and next to busy train tracks. Hotel provides complimentary ear plugs, which is appreciated. Overall, good value and convenient location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Magan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Magan

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review of our property, it is a pleasure to host such wonderful guests, I have shared your comments with my co-workers and we all thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After driving from Ogden, UT to Barstow, CA it was nice to settle down for the night. Good restaurants in the area. Convenient access to interstate. Pet area needs improvement. Near train tracks but not a problem. We had two rooms, one for mother-in-law. Both rooms were nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear George

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our entire team.

Please visit Best Western Desert Villia again the next time your in Barstow.

Safe Travels and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Came into town late looking for a place to stay and just punched Best Western into the GPS. Most impressive thing was the manager who was very generous with his time and advice. Can't recall his name but he had an impressive moustache. Room was great value for the money and convinced us to use Best Westerns in other towns where we had not booked advance accommodation. Quality can vary but this was an excellent first choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Marren

We appreciate all of your wonderful comments and your terrific review. I'm happy to hear you had a fabulous experience and we hope to have the luxury of serving you again soon...

Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

A little expensive for what you get, but was not bad night. Biggest complaint was the noise. Interstate highway is next to hotel , but the railroad is the real noise maker. I was awakened by Several trains at night

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank esnewton2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Traveler

Thank you for leaving a review. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that you did not have a sound night sleep.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Comfortable, clean, helpful staff, good breakfast. A little too close to highway and rail line but good construction baffled most of the noise so slept well. Convenient return to I-40. Newspapers provided which was nice. Receptionist even had a prepared list of local restaurants with directions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Sharon

Thank you so much for your review and comments regarding your recent stay with the Best Western Desert Villa. We appreciate you noting the breakfast, and service of our staff. Thank you for your loyalty and really hope to see you here next time you visit Barstow, CA.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
5.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
682 reviews
0.8 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#5 of 29 in Barstow
985 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
5.7 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn
Address: 1984 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-3218 (Formerly Best Western Desert Villa Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barstow
#6 Business Hotel in Barstow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is a moderately priced, pet friendly hotel conveniently located on Route 66 in quaint downtown Barstow, California. Offering all of the features and amenities that business and leisure travelers expect, the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is situated just minutes from the Amtrak station and only 71 miles from Ontario International Airport. Guests traveling to Barstow and through Barstow will all appreciate the friendly service and delightful accommodations provided by the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Desert Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Desert Villa Hotel Barstow
Best Western Desert Hotel
Best Western Barstow
Barstow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing