We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for the location but its clean quiet and staff is top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have been staying here recently for business. Location is good right by the Tanger Outlet mall and many fast food chains. Hotel itself is clean, comfortable, rooms are decent size with standard Hampton furnishings. Front desk staff are wonderful, some of the best of all the Hampton Inn's I have been at, you ask and you have it, top notch there. Breakfast once again is standard Hampton Inn fare. Hotel does fill up fast, Barstow is a stopping point for Vegas and there is also military bases around the area so that contributes to that factor. The high room rate is something I am not sure of why, maybe due to the above mentioned location and military base. Compared to the other hotels in the area I will pay it but it does cause one to ponder.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 773 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently spent a night at the Hampton in Barstow on my way to San Francisco. I didn't arrive until 1am but when departing the next morning I noticed my U-Haul trucks gas guage seemed low compared to when I parked just a few hours earlier. After driving across the street to fill up my truck I discovered the fuel hose had been cut between the fuel inlet and the fuel tank (during the night) and most of the fuel had been siphoned out of the truck. The U-Haul truck parked just beside mine had a window smashed and items had been stolen out of that truck. The front desk said "sorry there is nothing we can do" and Hilton HHonors guest services told me the same thing. I would think Hilton would stand up for customer care and the safety of their guests and the guests personal property. I was told this hotel only has one working security camera which is located at the front desk. The hotel itself was nice but the security of the parking lot is horrible.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Airway_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fullofbarstowinfo, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I appreciate your speed in bringing this incident to my attention which allowed me to follow up with our security team and local law enforcement agency regarding your incident.
The safety of our guests is a top priority, which is why the hotel is equipped with security cameras at all entrances and exits, elevator lobbies and other public areas. Unfortunately, there are unscrupulous folks in this world who will prey on others regardless of the safety measures put in place. For this I am sorry and truly empathize with you regarding the loss of your items.
I am happy you enjoyed the hotel itself and I am hopeful you will try us again the next time you are in the Barstow area.
Respectfully,
M. Bond-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

If found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, with an Excellent staff. Price was a little high I thought for the locale. However, it was worth it to have a very clean and nice place. I could hear people in the hall from my room and didn't like that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randallk108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

There are plenty of places to stay in Barstow proper, but the newer ones are located on I-15 a few miles south of town in a developed area that includes a large outlet mall. The Hampton is very good; with a location at the end of the area where it is the most quiet. Everything works, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the breakfast is good, and free, the staff is well-trained and skillful. Nice outdoor pool and spa. There are several restaurants, most of the fast-food and/or chain variety in the area, so you don't have to go back into Barstow to eat. There is a large military presence around Barstow, so the hotel gets many military guests. My only complaint is the high room rate, even with a AAA or senior discount and maybe they have to make up for giving the military guests a lower rate. The quiet location may change soon, though. There is a sign across the street announcing a coming casino and resort. You might want to check its progress and think about how that will change things for the Hampton.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank FlyingHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've stayed at this Hampton Inn and Suites before and know that there are no tubs in these rooms unless you request one with a jacuzzi. I did and the suite had a balcony as well. I was able to watch the sunrise the next morning from my balcony. Hampton Inn & Suites has done a good job with providing a hot breakfast at their hotels. It was the typical fare of bagel toppers and waffles. They also had a steak and eggs combination that really didn't look all that appetizing, but they had enough other choices that it didn't matter. Overall, I'd stay here again since it's the right price for the stay.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a tub, choose a room that has a jacuzzi in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingPamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've stayed in Barstow on about 5 different occasions and this hotel is the best option. The location is convenient, near the outlets, gas stations and near multiple restaurants. Everything that you need is within walking distance. The property is nice, set aside from everything so it lends itself for a quiet stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chichimom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just off the freeway in Barstow, this is the first hotel you'll spot. It's a good Hampton Inn. Clean. Big rooms. Great breakfast served already from 5 am. There are a couple of fast food restaurants in the area for a quick/easy bite. 3-4 gas stations too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
644 reviews
5.7 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#5 of 29 in Barstow
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow

Address: 2710 Lenwood Rd, Barstow, CA 92311-9591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barstow
#3 Family Hotel in Barstow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
Price Range: $100 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Barstow
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow Hotel Barstow
Hampton Inn Barstow
Hampton Inn Hotel Barstow
Barstow Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing