We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal for price; pool too cool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Clean, friendly...generally in line with other reviews. Despite summer desert heat, the pool was too cold to use in the evening or the morning. Limited breakfast unless you like waffles. Roger & Nikki were very friendly in person. Nikki is abrupt on the phone--don't let it throw you off. If you choose the kitchenette, be aware that "limited equipment" means no pans, utensils, plates, etc. - just frig, microwave, and stove/oven. Good deal for the cost.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 644 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Arrived late in Barstow, but Roger and Nikkie were there to greet us, show us to our room, and make recommendations for a late night meal (Coco's across the street). The room was very clean, large, and comfortable. Our room had a complete kitchen! When we went into the breakfast room in the morning, Roger was there to greet us, offering home made waffles with fresh blueberries, which he insisted on making for us. The other breakfast selections were all good quality and because of Roger's friendliness, good conversation was had amongst all of the guests. I doubt that a more pleasant hotel experience is to be found in Barstow, or anywhere for that matter.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLLtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Selected this motel many months ago for a one night stay during our 5 week trip across USA on Route 66. We were very pleased with the comfort, cleanliness (how do you get the sheets so white, Nikkie), facilities and size of room and considered it to be great value for money. We were very early for check in, but that was not a problem and had a choice of room. Grabbed a quick bite to eat - at a discount - in Cocos across the street, but then encountered credit card problems. Nikkie was very helpful, going well beyond expectations to assist and in the morning provided further telephone facilities in order that I could call UK. I have never had such warm and genuine help anywhere throughout our many travels across the world over many years. Nikkie and Roger, many, many thanks for such a comfortable stay and your assistance to solve our problems. Would definitely stay again if ever in Barstow, or if in the area, would change direction to come here.

Dave & Chris, Highcliffe, Christchurch, England

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Leaving LA late in the afternoon for Las Vegas we opted to spend the night at the Rodeway Inn in Barstow to break up the drive and we are so glad we did. Upon arriving the owners were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Our room was large, well apportioned and very clean. Breakfast (from 6:00 to 9:00) was quite good. Coco's Restaurant (just across the street) offers a discount to quests at the Rodeway and served up quite a good late night meal. There was some pool work taking place but it was not at all disruptive (except that the pool was closed). If ever in the Barstow area again I would certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room certainly met our needs. Note that we did not notice an elevator and none was men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobhiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Checked in here based on some previous good TripAdvisor reviews. The staff were helpful, our room was large and we had our own kitchen. The breakfast in the motel lobby was fairly extensive but only served until 9am. There was some building work happening so the pool was closed and a couple of the parking bays were used for storing construction gear. Got a slight impression that the motel was occupied more by locally-based contractors than by passing travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swedishtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Friendly service with a good price. Good breakfast. Fresh blueberry waffles with real blueberries made by owner.

Clean. I'd stay here again any time. Go to Lola's Mexican Rest. just across the street. Good and reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rooms were well maintained and very clean, with very comfortable beds. The property seems fairly new, whether it is or not. The owners were very friendly and accomodating, rearranging their reservations to give us a quiet room. I would definitely stay there again. The complimentary breakfast was good, much beyond the standard coffee and stale rolls.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#6 of 29 in Barstow
1,029 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
5.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Barstow

Address: 1261 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-2408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#4 Business Hotel in Barstow
#4 Family Hotel in Barstow
Price Range: $79 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barstow Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing