We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HIE stop on the way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“HIE stop on the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Had some trouble with my map application saying this hotel was on main street, but it's actually over by the outlets. Fortunately this location seems further away from the train tracks than other comparable chains on main street.

Room Tip: The outlet mall has some bus parking on the side away from the freeway, so I'm not sure if a par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank munge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    116
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
97
96
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
400 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel when traveling from Las Vegas to Santa Barbara. I used points from my IHG membership.
We had a room with two queen beds. The room size was OK and clean. Parking, wi-fi and breakfast was complimentary. There was a guest laundry, which is perfect in order to catch up on the dirty loads while on a road trip. They sell some snack and soda in the lobby.
There isn´t much to do in Barstow, but good place to stop just to crash if you have a long drive. The hotel is quite close to the Barstow factory outlets.
The staff was friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vestfoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Vestfoldgirl,

We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I am glad to read that you were pleased with the services we provide. One of the greatest rewards is receiving encouraging feedback such as yours. Our staff takes pride in creating a memorable, exceptional experience for our guests. Hearing that we have accomplished that goal means that we have delivered you the value and experience you expect.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel is nice. The bed is awesome. However, even though the room was clean upon checking in, housekeeping tried to get into the room TWICE while I was attempting to sleep. The first time, they knocked once, then used their key and opened the door. Fortunately, the latch was across the door so they couldn't get the door all the way open. The second time, only an hour later, they did it again WITHOUT knocking first. Seriously, do they not have a list of rooms that need to be cleaned? After staying only 5 hours, I decided to get on my way back home only after first complaining about the events. The front desk did give me a $20 discount, but with my short stay, I would have expected a little more. This probably won't deter me from staying there again since I would hope it is an isolated incident with a new housekeeper.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helendale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The rooms were super clean, the beds so comfortable and the people at check inn were very professional and nice. Breakfast was amazing the next morning. Pleasant staff. A very enjoyable stay. Our grandson loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor near the side door with a pool view. Was very quiet! Two double beds. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Looking for a one night pit stop en route from Kingman, AZ to LA and the Pacific Coast Hwy, we need to stop and re-fuel/rest. That day's drive was 258 miles.

Seeing that there were 2 Holiday Inns, we looked at the Reviews and chose this one, as it was NOT next to a Railway Yard - good call - those hooters could be heard for miles. This was crucial, as sleep was desperately needed.

This Holiday Inn is way out of town (SthWest), next to a Tanger Outlet, and within 5 minutes of I.15 or the Mojave Freeway - BTW.

Otherwise - frankly, just like all (well most) of the others Holiday Inn Expresses. $93.99 + Taxes = $105.74, so no big deal

Downside - No remotely decent Restaurants in the area, so we took the Receptionist's advice and went to 'Idle Spurs' as the apparently "nearest good one", she knew of. It was miles away and diabolical.

We rose early breakfasted and set off for LA, Hollywood and Ventura. A good night's sleep and a quiet area (could not hear the Interstate, despite it being very nearby), helped raise our rating to between Average and Very Good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Safariholic,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was very nice inside and out. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the room with the king sized bed and it was perfect. It was roomy, very clean, and had everything we needed. Breakfast was great. The entire experience was wonderful, and I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone needing a stay in this area.

Room Tip: King size bed suite has pull-out bed in couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Considering its location, this is a very good place to stay. We were travelling route 66 and it served us well for an overnight stop. Room was fresh, spacious and very clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. An added bonus is the outlet centre next door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#3 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
5.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#5 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center
Address: 2700 Lenwood Rd, Barstow, CA 92311-9591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#7 Family Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Barstow is located at Interstate 15 and Lenwood Road, we are adjacent to over 100 Outlet Stores at the Tanger Outlet Center and Factory Merchants Barstow. The National Training Center/Ft. Irwin and the USMC Logistics Base are nearby or enjoy our area attractions such as Calico Ghost Town, Goldstone Deep Space Tracking Station, Route 66 Museum, Mojave River Museum or the Western Railroad Museum. See natures beauty come alive at Rainbow Basin, Calico Early Man Sight and Mojave National Preserve. Whatever your reason for visiting the High Desert, treat yourself to the best Barstow has to offer! 2004 Newcomer of the Year Award Winner! 2005 Torchbearer Award Winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barstow Hotel Barstow
Holiday Inn Barstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing