We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainbow Basin - Worth the visit”

Rainbow Basin Natural Area
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic desert area is good for hiking and other outdoor activities.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Rainbow Basin - Worth the visit”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I found this little side trip through Tripadvisor and was so glad I did. We were staying at Barstow on the way to LV and decided to have a little side trip. My boys aged 11 and 14 loved what they called the adventure. We were also very priviliged to have spotted some road runners in the scrub and watched them for a while. The road is very accessabile for all vehicles and the views are worth the drive out there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    43
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this....”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Almost didn't go! So glad I did! Such an interesting place, well worth the 10-15 min. ride out there. We drove our car (Altima), no problems...

Helpful?
4 Thank Wittster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rainbow Basin”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

It's just a few short miles to the Rainbow Basin one way loop. 4 wheel drive is not needed but a passenger car won't do either. The rock colors and formations are awesome. We took a lot of pictures and got out of the truck a few times also. The entire loop is only 3-4 miles of a dirt desert road. A few hair pin turns and a few rocky ruts that make the use of high clearance necessary. It's free, it's easy to get to and from, and it's pretty cool. I would recommend a friend to go or even go there again to share the exporence with a friend or family member.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinross0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Branch, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this drive”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Spending the night in Barstow, we took this small side trip before dinner and we sure were glad we did. Might be the best thing to see and do in Barstow.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful and close to town”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Despite the warnings, you can easily drive this gravel road in a passenger vehicle, at least in dry weather. The colors and formations are beautiful. There are even a couple hikes.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Basin Natural Area also viewed

Barstow, California Desert
 
Barstow, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 

Been to Rainbow Basin Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing