We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Route 66 Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Motel 6 East(Barstow)
View Hotel
Ludlow Motel(Barstow)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Topper Motel(Barstow)
View Hotel
Sunset Inn(Barstow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nites Inn(Barstow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Barstow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
81
120
44
19
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
120
44
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold carsround bedclassic carsneon signglory daysroom was cleanparking lotcoffee machinethe main dragroad noiseflat screenstayed one nightstay there againgreat place to staymemorabilianostalgicmotel
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 285 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This place was very musty and the carpet was filthy. The shower was also dirty. No clock in the room which is odd. I've stayed in quaint vintage places but this was just old and run down. Disappointing. :(

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Nicely positioned on the route back from the Grand Canyon to the west coast this motel is an ideal overnight stop if you just want to make the most of your time. Rooms are basic but very cheap, aircon is next to the bed so if it's really hot you might need to choose between the heat or the noise. Staff very friendly and helpful even late at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank champ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised. Super friendly and helpful gentleman checked me in and gave me lots of information about the area. Really clean room, tons of hot water and a great price. I'm not a big fan of the round beds, but the bed was comfortable. Lots of TV stations. The grounds are beautiful and clean with lots of fun stuff to look at. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandererbybirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Route 66 Motel on our drive from LA to Las Vegas, and wished we had stayed another 2 or 3 days. Veda and Mridu Shandil are great hosts, they have a vast knowledge of the area so can advise on places to see, distances, restaurants, anything you want they can tell you. Contrary to what we had read and heard, there is a lot to see in Barstow and the surrounding area all within easy driving distance. If you want shopping there is a large shopping mall within couple miles, a drive in cinema which unfortunately we didn't get time to go to, plenty of eating places, and Calico Ghost Town an easy drive - approx 15 miles down the road. If you are a railway buff don't miss the station which looks like a huge hacienda, lots of tracks and the museum. Our room at the motel had all we needed and Veda gave us a coffee machine for our morning Tea! We had the round bed which was a novel idea but soooo comfortable, plenty of towels, and room was very quiet. Outside there is a collection of vintage cars of all shapes and sizes, some requiring talc but guess they add to the atmosphere of this unique motel on Route 66 . We will most definitely stay here again on our next road trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tugflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

On our second trip of Route 66, we booked a 1 night stop in Barstow as we did not stay in this town before. The motel itself was well maintained, grounds were well kept, and on entering the room, found it was clean, spacious and adequate.
The owner was hospitable and polite and fulfilled our special request.
I would thoroughly recommend this Motel as there are so many 'chain' hotels now that Route 66 is seeing a revival, please continue to support this family run nostalgic Route 66 motel instead.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 186338Jmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews