We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
84
131
51
20
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
131
51
20
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old cars round bed classic cars step back in time neon sign room was clean glory days stay overnight the main drag coffee machine free wifi fridge and microwave las vegas great place to stay memorabilia nostalgic motel
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 310 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

On our way to mexico we stopped for one night at this motel for the fun of it.
It was so cool. Old cars parked in the driveway. Old soda machines. 45 records all over the office.
Room was clean and totally adequate for a night for couple of nights stay. Bathroom shower was awesome...nicely tiled.Sink was so tiny but just added to the charm of this place.
Very friendly help also...

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We didn't stay here for a first class experience; we stayed because of the history of Route 66 and the memorabilia. The room was OK; very spartan and the round bed was quirky but satisfactory. The towels were questionable; very rough and scratchy and a bit gray. We were glad we'd brought our own towels. The owner is very proud of the place and of his efforts in maintaining the vintage feel; he said they've owned it for 35 years. Sadly, the water feature had no water in it and it looks like the memorabilia, which is plentiful, is being allowed to rust in place. The rooms could definitely use an update, but overall, we count the experience in the plus column. If you want funky (in a good way) and vintage, this is the place

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Route 66 Motel in Barstow, California has been around since the 1920s and has managed to maintain its place on Route 66 all these years. If you're looking for a lavish, all-inclusive resort motel this isn't the place. If you're looking for a truly original and somewhat quirky place to spend the night then this is it. Ved and Mary Shandil, the owners, have turned the operation into a labor of love. The rooms are in very good condition with flat-screen TVs, refrigerators and microwaves. Some of the rooms even have round beds. There are a number of vintage cars that decorate the ground, and an interesting "water feature" in the middle of the parking lot. If you happen to be passing through Barstow at the end of the day and are looking for a small, friendly place to spend the night, give the Route 66 Motel a try. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Room tip: Some rooms have round beds; other have regular shaped beds. You might want to take a look at both before choosing a room.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flyboy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The rooms were cheap and the photos promised a real authentic experience for our Route 66 road trip. We were not disappointed, as there is plenty of ambience in this motel. The owner greeted us kindly and was very helpful as he also gave us a room with a round bed, which he seemed very proud of.
The only bad thing is the place is definitely in need of a deep clean. You would not want to walk around barefoot in the bathroom as there was hair and dirt all over the floor and the bathtub was stained with a ring of dirt.
Simple accommodation need not be seedy, but unfortunately, this place lost some of its charm.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monicalups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Cool property with lots a old cars and some refurbished gas pumps and stuff, old Rt 66 theme. Rooms clean, beds comfy enough. Sink little and weird, but hey I only paid $40 somethin to stay and the managers were so nice and happy to assist with any questions we had. Id stay there again and recommend this place just don't expect too many amenities for such a great price.

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nocnursedonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews