We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad smoking room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Barstow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Barstow
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very bad smoking room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed just for one night. We booked non smoking room next to each other we were given smoking rooms on other sides of the building we had to go back for spray and management did not seem bothered at all. Breakfast was fine good to be included. Free wifi. The smoke was in all upholstery bad for clothes breathing and trying to get to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    248
    113
    31
    20
See reviews for
178
174
88
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We needed an inexpensive over night lodging and this Super 8 fit the bill nicely. Although it is an older Super 8 with smaller rooms and bathroom and exterior doors, it had been updated and was exceptionally clean. We were surprised how well the bed slept. It came equiped with flat screen TV, microwave, small refrigerator and free Wifi. The air conditioner was an older in- unit wall model under the window, but worked well with it 100 outside. The A/C provided some slight background noise, but did not turn off and on incessantly and was more soothing than most. We did not use the pool but it looked clean and inviting. The continental breakfast was standard fare with pastries, muffins, cereal, yogurt and some toaster waffles and whole fruit. I did note you had to get there early for the best selection. I was there about 7 am and it was good. My wife and daughter got there an hour later and the choices were reduced. For under $50 including tax this place was well worth the money. Even my wife said she would stay here again. .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigskyguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was a clean and decent hotel especially for the price! We were disappointed in the WiFi as we never could get it to work properly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Felicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here enroute to Palm Springs. Good value (around $50) for a large well equipped room, nicely landscaped in a quiet location away from the Freeways and main road but close to everything that you might need. Free Wifi was a little temperamental at times and slow when most are logged on. Good Superstart Breakfast but beware it ends at 9am. Friendly and helpful front desk staff on arrival and at check out.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Father Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you are looking for a place to lay your head then this place is for you. Rooms are simple and the Wifi actually works.

Likes: Good Wifi, hot water, and clean room.

Dislikes: You can smell smoke and continental breakfast was gone by the time we checked out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.2 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#3 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#8 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Barstow

Property: Super 8 Barstow
Address: 170 Coolwater Ln, Barstow, CA 92311-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Barstow
#5 Business Hotel in Barstow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#9 Family Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Super 8 Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Barstow
Barstow Super 8
Barstow Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing