We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Buggy Ride, Anyone?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Economy Inn
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Buggy Ride, Anyone?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We checked in here late in the evening after a terrible day's drive through pouring rain in the desert! As we tried to settle in, the party next door set up a table right outside our door, and proceeded to have a birthday party for one of their foursome, complete with drinks and toasts and laughter. Not a very restful night. The next day, my wife arose complaining of bug bites on the back of her legs. Don't know what kind of bugs, but they were there. I got none, because I was sleeping in the second bed. My lucky night, I guess.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SadSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barstow, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After being kicked on the streets with my mother, we chose to stay at this establishment for a week or two, and it was simply amazing. The staff were beyond friendly, rooms were nice, and actually relatively quite for the area it was in. I also stayed on a separate occasion a year or so later with my friends and it was another wonderful experience. I recommend it to anyone coming in or through town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rap3Monst3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The decor and furniture have undoubtedly seen better days, but the room - which had a TV, fridge, microwave & free wi-fi - was perfectly clean, as was the bedding and towels. The bed was comfortable ensuring we had a good night's sleep after four hours' driving through the desert. There are numerous eateries within a few minutes' walk. We found the owner very friendly and helpful. For $37 (inc. tax)/night, this made a good value overnight stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hi i am from Phoenix AZ i am on road 150 days of the year i stay Economy inn Barstow CA @ Jan, 2013 its very good to stay @ that hotel. Staff are help full.I was went to Las Vegas with my family and i stay @ this hotel because it was late @ night and i found this hotel to stay but it was good experiance to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertR756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel offers a simple, clean room for the night at a budget-friendly price. You could do worse for the money but I'd be surprised if you could do better. Nice TV choices, fridge and microwave, and working wireless internet too. Just don't expect more than hotel coffe and a packaged danish for "breakfast" and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Unless you are a gymnast, ask for a downstairs room so you can avoid going up and down the narrow, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This is pretty good budget accommodation. You definitely get what you pay for. For less than $50 it was worth it. The room was clean, the bed (and sheets) were clean and comfortable. Towels and bathroom were clean. An interesting array of items such as toothpaste, body lotion, craisins and drink flavourings were provided, however no shampoo or conditioner. The aircon was noisy, but efficient. The swimming pool was spotlessly clean and sparkling with a secure gate. Free wifi worked well. My only real negative - no hot water. However, being Barstow in the summertime, the cold water was warm, so I was still able to enjoy a warm shower....but I wouldn't like to be stuck with no hot water in winter. Upon check-out at 8.40am the following morning, I was going to drop the key back to reception and inform them of the hot water issue, however the door was locked. There's a great diner right next door called Jenny's - they do an awesome $2.99 breakfast and good coffee. All up, a good night's sleep AND breakfast for less than $60 :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank una77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The room was clean and the bed was good but the shower didn't work properly and the Internet kept coming and going. The room door didn't shut properly and the handle looked like it had seen better days. But it was close to lots of restaurants and grocery stores.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Funkygas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barstow hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.3 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#9 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Route 66 Barstow Hotel
Route 66 Barstow Hotel
#18 of 29 in Barstow
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#10 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Barstow
Ramada Barstow
#13 of 29 in Barstow
3.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Property: Economy Inn
Address: 1243 East Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Economy Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Economy Inn Barstow is convenient to many of California’s most appealing sites such as Calico Mountain Trails, Barstow Rodeo Grounds, Calico Ghost Town, Rainbow Basin, Marine Corps Logistics Base and Tees and Trees Golf Course. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers guests a Continental breakfast served from 7 am to 9 am, free high-speed wireless internet access, free parking with room for large vehicles, an outdoor pool, fax/copy service and pets are accepted with additional charges in select rooms only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing