We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Barstow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites Barstow
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great motel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stopped in Barstow for 2 nights on the way to Palm Springs. While this motel is at the interchange type community of gas stations, fast food etc, instead of the large number of motels on old Rt 66, it was a great base for exploring the Harvey House Hotel, and Calico Ghost Town and a few other sites (missed some due to time) in the high desert. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they upgraded us to a suite type room for no extra cost....nice...great room(s). The breakfast was just about everything most people would want. They even had a dinner one night, which we missed unfortunately, The drive from Barstow to Palm Springs was a beautiful drive through the desert. If we drive to Palm Springs again from San Francisco, definitely would stay here and follow a similar route instead of skirting the LA mega-sprawl even if the drive is somewhat longer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the very back overlook a very large truck service facility with many trucks stopping for ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at the Comfort Suites while in Barstow! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and so appreciative that you took the time to let other travelers know about it. Thank you for all of your compliments! We pride ourselves on our staff, so I am excited that you noticed them!

I agree that the drive through the desert can be a beautiful one, especially the desert sunsets. With your decision to change your route we appreciate your return in the future! See you soon! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    144
    26
    3
    1
See reviews for
202
192
39
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hotel is easy to get off the 15, by outlet mall. Next to the Flying J. Rates are resonable. Plenty of parking for RV's or Semis.

Plenty of restaurants around.

Beds are nice and confortable.

Full hot breakfast- the works.

I have stayed here a couple of times and will do it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barne125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review for others to see! You hit all of the basics that a hotel should be able to offer. Location, cleanliness,parking and amenities. I am thrilled that we earned a repeat guest, that is always our goal with each and every guest. Thank you again, we appreciate your business so much!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was great, we had two room accost the hall from each other and the pool was hot in the middle of January. The staff was so kind and nice wanting to help with what ever we needed. We had a room with the Jetted tubs and we really enjoyed our stay and breakfast was great. This is our second time here coming from Utah and to California. Oh you Manager went our of her way to put us so close to each other and look up medical help because we thought we might need it. Thank you we will come again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the two suites with separate rooms and jetted tub if available I would get those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience! We always try to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We know it is important for families to be near one another, so it is our pleasure to go the extra mile to try and accommodate this request. As for the pool, it has been so cold lately that we have to keep the pool warm or our guests would get frost bite! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are excited to have you come back again (without the medical issue). Thank you again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family and I were on our way from San Francisco--we own a restaurant there--to a Church convention. We really liked this hotel. My wife and I liked the night manager, he's a real character, and he'll help you anyway he can. The room was clean and new. I guess my only complaint is, that I ate too much at breakfast. The kids really enjoyed the pool, and I got a good workout at the gym. We loved it so much, we decided to only stay at Comfort Suites from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the workout room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review! As a restaurant owner you know how important it is to have a quality product for your customers, and that is what we aim to achieve as well. You also know that making a lifelong customer is the ultimate goal and it looks like we have achieved this with you and we are all very excited about that! Thank you for staying with us and taking advantage of our amenities. In addition thank you for becoming a loyal Choice Hotels Brand guest! THANK YOU!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Booked this hotel for an overnite stay on our way to Palm Springs from Vegas. Large room, two queen beds and sofa bed for our family of four. Efficient checkin and despite being in later evening, night manager gave us access to outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Nice touch. Very clean rooms, hotel which seems on the newer side. Quiet also. Comfortable beds. Expect no miracles from the sofabed...adequate and fit for a teenager. Good choices for breakfast, including eggs. Would definitely stop there again. Manager said there is fitness room open 24 hrs but we did not use it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenPrairies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us while traveling through Barstow! I noticed that you are a frequent traveler and I am excited to see that you took time out to write about your stay with us at the Comfort Suites in Barstow. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our Jacuzzi even though it was late! Our night managers try to accommodate our late arriving guests so that they enjoy their stay with us, even if it is a brief one. Thank you again for staying with us and for taking time out to let others know about your experience. THANK YOU!!!!!!!! I do not think I can ever say that enough:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Room, bed, wifi, ameneties, breakfast, location, everything is Perfect!!!!
The spa is heated, so you can even use it in the winter, the gym is equiped with lifefitness. Bed is very comfortable and the complimantary breakfast is above average.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_linda_010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience for others to view. We aim for each guest to be happy and leave with intentions of only staying with us when back in the area. I am thrilled that we received a "perfect" score from you! It gets cold at night so we keep both the pool and jacuzzi heated so that our guests can still utilize them. I am happy that you were able to take advantage our amenities while staying. Thank you again for staying and I hope that we earned your business the next time you are in town! THANK YOU!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

After driving up the coast to Malibu and traversing the freeways of LA we were ready to crash and randomly picked comfort suites and we're so glad we did. The room was amazing, breakfast had plenty of variety and surprise, surprise, dinner was included as well and the staff were all friendly without exception. We had a view over the pool and spa and if it wasn't winter...

Room Tip: Just turn up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we got very lucky with your random pick! I am excited to see that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your satisfaction. Our pool is heated so the next time you come visit jump in! Thank you again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
5.2 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#5 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#6 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Barstow

Property: Comfort Suites Barstow
Address: 2571 Fisher Blvd, Intersection of I-15 & Lenwood, Barstow, CA 92311-9448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#2 Family Hotel in Barstow
#3 Business Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Barstow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Barstow Hotel Barstow
Barstow Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing