We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect overnight stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Barstow
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were on a family road trip from Las Vegas to San Francisco and made this our overnight stop before heading into the Los Angeles area. It was easy to find, minutes off the highway. It had a great little pool that was open late. It is just down the street from the Outlet Mall, and plenty of restaurants. The free breakfast was also great with plenty of choices. I would definately recommend this hotel. Barstow seemed like a nice little town. I wish we had checked in earlier to check the place out a little bit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank augusierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Too bad you didn't get to stay as long as you wanted. Maybe next time you can call ahead and request an early check in! We will be more than happy to prepare a room for you! Majority of our guest stay here, not only for the wonderful accomodations, but the location of the property as well. It is conveniently located near the Tanger Outlets and plenty of restaurants! I'm very glad that you chose our hotel and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Barstow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 703 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

Clean, comfortable and secure. What more could one want from a hotel? The staff (Miss Sandra) was warm and welcoming...and oh so understanding when I couldn't figure out the air conditioner...who'd of thought the silly thermostat on the wall controlled things! (yep, I am electronically challenged). Plenty of towels, extra pillows and blankets in the closet.
I was traveling with my dog, I let them know ahead of time (as they request) so they put me in a room near an exit.
Definitely a great choice as a halfway point home from Vegas...or any other time.

Thanks Comfort Suites!

Room Tip: when booking on line, there is a spot for special requests, utilize it...the staff reads it!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEEHAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Don't worry about the air conditioning incident, you are not the first one to do that. I'm just glad that our helpful staff was able to offer you immediate assistance. This is why 24hr front desk staff is a must! We want to make sure we are available for anything you may need to make your stay more comfortable. Being a pet friendly hotel we also want to make sure your dog is comfortable. This is why we offer 1st floor rooms to pet owners for easy outdoor access. Hope you and your dog come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

During June and July of this year my wife and I toured the American West and stayed in thirteen different hotels over a 30 day period. We’ve rated all the hotels (including this one) relative to each other. We hope this will help others planning a similar journey. We made an overnight stop in Barstow and chose the Comfort Suites on the strength of the favourable reviews on Trip Advisor. These were reinforced by our own experience. The hotel is fairly new and the room reflected this in its décor and comfortable furnishings. The buffet breakfast was very good. Besides being varied and plentiful, it was keenly supervised by staff to make sure that it remained so. This is not the case in some other hotels we have stayed in. 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie Hurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

13 hotels in 30 days! That is a lot of traveling! So glad to hear that we kept up with the competition. Your opinion is very important to us and it really does help others when choosing where to stay in Barstow. Thank you very much for the informative review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Very nice stay friendly folks, clean hotel, great pool, good facilities. Was going to be a one night stay but hotel was so comfy we stayed 2. If we travel through Barstow again we will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Wow! You loved our hotel so much you extended your stay?! That's just great! What every manager wants to hear! Thank you so much for sharing your great experience on Tripadvisor! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We made online reservation few days before arrival based on the information we found in TripAdvisor. We needed a place to stay on our way to Los Angeles. it seems this hotel is very new. We got huge room separated to two rooms. TV in each room, microwave, fridge, free Wi-Fi and very big bathroom. The hotel is located near restaurants. The front desk was very nice and breakfast was included. Coin laundry is also available. Very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n699fjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

So happy to hear that all the great information you read on trip advisor was accurate! Thanks for leaving us such a great review! Look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The service was terrific, especially from the desk personnel. Christine and Sandra are standout employees, gracious, effecient and very nice, helpful ladies. Our rooms were big and beautiful, clean, nicely appointed and as comfortable as being in our own homes. The location was the optimum for our movie shoot, that was located near the historical mines of Calico, ca. In all, I could not have imagined a more perfect lodging experience, while on a job or on a vacation. My hat is off to the management, and to the personnel who really made our stay a great time. The breakfast was the BEST. Thank You, Tom Massimini a member of the crew working on the movie shoot.UNTITLED WESTERN

Room Tip: I stayed in room 210 and it overlooked the pool; and looked North into the desert hills. Simply BEAU...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasmassimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you for the kind review!! We really enjoyed your film crew as well!! I'm very glad that our staff took good care of all of you. Barstow is a very popular location for movie shoots and commercials. Your film crew is one we won't forget! Thanks for choosing us and can't wait for the movie to come out in theatres!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Found this place on TripAdvisor.com and placed it on our list for possible place to stay when we got to Barstow. We typically prefer the Hampton, so called them first. The girl on the phone was pretty unhelpful and unfriendly- didn't offer any discounted room rate on the suite, despite it being a Thursday and VERY slow night in Barstow. So- we checked out the Country Inn and Suites (also highly rated on TripAdvisor.com). It looked nice and new- but they did NOT have any suites with a separated bedroom and living room area (despite the name). That wouldn't work well for us because we have kids and prefer them to sleep in separate area from us. Bummer- given that we liked that they had an indoor pool.

So- onto Comfort Suites to check them out. We called first and the front desk girl (Rebecca, I think) provided excellent customer service- knowledgeable, friendly, and gave us a slight discounted room rate for the 2-bedroom suite (which makes a difference on whether we stay there because- given that it was such a slow night in Barstow- it just didn't feel right to pay full price!). The hotel looks really new and well-maintained. The room itself was actually more like a 1-bedroom suite. There is a king bed in a separated bedroom, then another queen bed that is semi-separated from the living room. No worries- there was plenty of room and we all got good sleep! Initially, I was worried about the AC not working well enough, and the guy that they sent over was friendly and tried to be helpful- I was concerned that the motion-sensored AC would shut off at night and I'd wake up hot (pregnant and needed AC!) He checked with his manager and assured us that the AC would still work throughout the night even as we slept and that this has not been a problem for other guests. Sure enough- it was not a problem! Room was kept cool enough and we had a great night sleep! The only negative to the service was the girl who was on shift in the evening after Rebecca left. We asked for an alarm clock, and she was clearly trying to avoid having to help us. The answer was just a no. In retrospect, I think she was just really overwhelmed because she was probably the only one on staff at the hotel that evening, and it had become busier with more people arriving and staying from the bad traffic to Vegas. When I insisted that she checked with the housekeeper, she stalled (saying there was no housekeeper, no maintenance man, no one else on site), but eventually called someone when I asked that she check with the manager then. Lo and behold, she came back out a few minutes with our much needed extra alarm clock. Thank goodness! I don't think she was being rude or unfriendly on purpose- I think she was just overwhelmed by being the only one there.

Anyways, about the pool- we were initially worried that it would be too hot with no shade because it's an outdoor pool. No worries there- by the time we got back from Calico Ghost town, it was around 5pm, which was perfect for pool time because half of the pool was shaded by an awning. We had a nice time jumping in the pool and using the hot tub even!

Then, in the morning, the breakfast that was included in the room rate was a treat! Everything from waffles, cereals, oatmeal, fruits, and the usual greasy fare (sausages, eggs, etc.). Now- for those who complain about it- this is not 4-star breakfast food. Don't expect to get a culinary experience of Eggs Benedict with chef-made Hollandaise sauce. For being complimentary with the stay- this is a good, solid breakfast buffet. There is something for everyone- those who want greasier food vs. those who want healthier yogurt and cereals vs. kids who want freshly-made waffles. And coffees and juices to boot!

Given the rate, how new the hotel is, all the extra perks (free breakfast, free internet, free parking, etc.), this is a GREAT hotel to stay at when you need to stay over in Barstow. Remember- don't expect great views, local ambience, etc. This is not a resort town- the hotel is near the freeway and there is a truck stop next to it. But- the soundproofing must have been good enough because we never heard noises or were awakened by cars, trucks, etc. Great night sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for away from the elevators for quiet room.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katinSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_caa22, Manager at Comfort Suites Barstow, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to inform others about your stay at our hotel. It was interesting to read about your experience calling other hotels. As a manager, I like to know what we are doing different than the other hotels to win over your business. Based on the information you gave, it is not a wonder why we are rated #1 for hotels in Barstow! I'm very happy to hear that my staff was friendly and offered you a rate that was affordable to you. We also love to hear our guest's opinions on our breakfast so we know we are doing a good job on selecting the items. Thank you so much for your review and great rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
0.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#6 of 29 in Barstow
1,020 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
5.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Barstow

Address: 2571 Fisher Blvd, Intersection of I-15 & Lenwood, Barstow, CA 92311-9448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barstow
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#3 Business Hotel in Barstow
Price Range: $85 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Barstow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Barstow Hotel Barstow
Barstow Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing