We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great food”

Idle Spurs Steakhouse
Ranked #5 of 108 Restaurants in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Since our opening in the 1950's the Idle Spurs Steakhouse has established a reputation for excellent food, friendly service, and a unique dining atmosphere. We remain one of the most popular restaurants in the High Desert Region of Southern California with a multitude of visitors stopping on their travels between Las Vegas and Los Angeles or on Historic Route 66. Authentic western antiques and a beautiful indoor garden will truly create a memorable meal. Idle Spurs has refreshing beers on tap, wine by the glass or bottle and a full bar if you would prefer to relax in our lounge. Please join us for your next special meal!
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Lovely setting, good easy to find location, varied menu, food lovely, staff brilliant, nothing was too much trouble

Thank Drumgarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdleSpurs17, Public Relations Manager at Idle Spurs Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you for the excellent review and for choosing to spend time with us on your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 315 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

We arrived here on a Friday evening and had to wait to be seated which is pretty typical of any restaurant on a Friday, the staff was nice and talked to us while we were waiting with our little one. Once we were seated we ordered and although the food took a bit longer than we expected it was great, my son's kids burger was so good too. We enjoyed our experience at Idle Spurs, maybe someday we will make it back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andre2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdleSpurs17, Public Relations Manager at Idle Spurs Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review Idle Spurs. We get pretty busy in the evenings so thanks for being patient. Glad your son enjoyed his burger and hope you will join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Very good service and very friendly. The prime rib was excellent and the filet was great as well. I highly recommend this place for business or family dining.

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdleSpurs17, Public Relations Manager at Idle Spurs Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Our prime rib and filet are still two of our most popular items. Thank you for joining us and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had dinner at this restaurant and it was the best part of the "Barstow Experience" Hotel was not so great but girl at desk said this place was good so we tried it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 636traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdleSpurs17, Public Relations Manager at Idle Spurs Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks for the review and for dining with us on your travels. Stop here first next time and we can help you pick a better hotel ;) Also, please let us know how we can improve your meal on your next visit. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We arrived late one evening in Barstow en-route back to Arizona. We stopped at this out of the way Steakhouse and found a gem, not only in appearance and atmosphere but service beyond.
The steaks we had were broiled to perfection and melted in our mouths.
When we paid the bill we were presented a little pamphlet telling us what three things they valued the most. I saved that note and now can not find it, but one of the three was the customer.

I have experienced their commitment to customers personally. I left a pair of cheap sunglasses there but did not recall until I was in Las Vegas. I called the restaurant and they said they would send them to me. I offered to send the money to ship them to me and a box and whatever else they might need, and they refused saying the would take care of it. AND THEY DID! We were travelers. They had no reason to do this, other than the fact that they do value each and every customer that enters their restaurant. Of this I am sure.

Never mind that the food and service was great, who else do you know that would have done that?

The décor is special and very western with style. Please do not pass this gem by. Next trip to Calif, will be centered for the hour that makes it possible to stop and eat there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdleSpurs17, Public Relations Manager at Idle Spurs Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks for the great review! Please come stop by again on your next trip to California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Idle Spurs Steakhouse also viewed

Barstow, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 
Barstow, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 

Been to Idle Spurs Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing