We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR SERVICE”

Idle Spurs Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 104 Restaurants in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Since our opening in the 1950's the Idle Spurs Steakhouse has established a reputation for excellent food, friendly service, and a unique dining atmosphere. We remain one of the most popular restaurants in the High Desert Region of Southern California with a multitude of visitors stopping on their travels between Las Vegas and Los Angeles or on Historic Route 66. Authentic western antiques and a beautiful indoor garden will truly create a memorable meal. Idle Spurs has refreshing beers on tap, wine by the glass or bottle and a full bar if you would prefer to relax in our lounge. Please join us for your next special meal!
Apple Valley, California
1 review
“POOR SERVICE”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

46 of us went there for a late lunch on wed, called ahead so they knew we were coming, service was crap, never did get a glass of water, had the special meatloaf, food was good [small portions] for 11.95 some got salads and realish tray, some got none!!! had to ask for our bread three times finally got it after the meal, maybe the bartender should not be to waitress!!! not a bad place, just bad service. 760 954 5664

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sad29101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    96
    30
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Old Steakhouse”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is off the beaten path of fast food restaurants and chain restaurants. You get a substantial full meal. The prime rib is quite good - not the usual rubbery meat you get in so many places now. The service is very good, and it's fairly quiet. Full bar. we eat here whenever we go through Barstow.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravelerSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
279 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great BLT sandwich but . . .”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stopped for lunch on way to SF and ordered the BLT sandwich. It was huge with thick bacon slices, generous avocado slices, fresh tomato slices, & sliced hard boiled egg pieces. Mine was great BUT unfortunately my wife took a bite and pulled out a long blonde hair from hers. Our waitress apologized & deducted it from the bill which we appreciated. It was bad luck & we probably won't stop there on future trips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGoodTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Definitely a better stop than the Mad Greek in Baker coming or going from Vegas!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We found this place in a desperate search to find something other than the Mad Greek or Bob's Big Boy to and fro from Vegas. It was a tad off the beaten path, but not enough to deter us from it. We brought our own wine and there was no corkage fee. The quality of the steaks was good, but they overcooked mine. It was still getter than the awful experience I was sure to experience if we had stopped in Baker. It is still worth the stopover by a long shot!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cparker1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Bucks
Level Contributor
218 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great meal and restaurant”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had read good reviews so planned a visit here - it was definitely worth the short drive from Main St. Nice welcome, and my partner loved the marinated veg appetisers mentioned by another reviewer. Salads were excellent, and we both chose the filet. Cooked to our specifications and good size portions, although we both had slightly inedible mouthfuls (but didn't detract overall). The service was very friendly, although not the fastest ever. We really liked the venue, the experience and the food and counted this as the best meal on our two-week holiday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Idle Spurs Steakhouse also viewed

Barstow, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 
Barstow, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 

Been to Idle Spurs Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing