We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The butifarra is excellent”

Restaurant Curia Reial SL.
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Besalu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The butifarra is excellent”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This restaurant in the middle of Besalu has a nice terace, good service and a simple but good cuisine at reasonable prices. We enjoyed the butiffara with white beans.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaco1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    183
    42
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food- excellent service!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were a group of 20 people having lots of pica pica ( tapas) that was the best I ever had in Spain! Every dish was to cry for and when the fantastic lamb arrive I was truly sad having to much tapas! The service where as excellent as the view - overlooking the bridge and tower of Besalú! Missing this restaurant if being in Besalú would be a loss/Helen

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Had lunch there on a very warm October day. I sat outside and the view was just breathtaking! I had the stuffed potatoes (primero), arroz mixte (secundo, and crema catalana and coffee for dessert. Everything was delicious, so I felt really bad that I was only able to eat half of each dish (portions were big - for me anyway). Not sure if they do half servings but probably worth checking! Would certainly go back - it was part of an overall lovely day in Besalu - and I would love to share the experience with someone next time around!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldeu, Andorra
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely food, fantastic service”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My fiancé and I were checking this restaurant out as a venue for a pre-wedding dinner with close friends and family. We were not disappointed.
We had popped in the previous weekend and were shown around the restaurant by a lovely waitress, Silvia. From the outside, the restaurant looks rather small but inside it opens up into a fabulous rustic building with lots of natural stone and arches. The restaurant is on a couple of floors with a smaller, more bijous section downstairs and a larger room upstairs.
For anyone wanting a drink and some tapas during the day, the restaurant has a bar area and a terrace (partly covered) which has a fantastic location overlooking the river and famous bridge of Besalú.
We found the service to be excellent; the waiting staff were very discreet but always there when you wanted to ask for something. Even if they were busy, you could "flag one down" and ask for something and they would fetch it immediately they had finished with their task in hand.
The food was lovely and traditional Catalan. Between the four of us, we had Trinxat, Botifarra with white beans, rabbit on the grill and an oven-baked rice dish, just to mention a few. Everything was delicious. The house wine was very reasonable (Marques de Monistrol) and the price of the meal altogether, with two courses each, plenty of wine, water, Baileys for the girls and carajillos for the boys, came to a very reasonable €35/head, including tip.
We will definitely be back and are really looking forward to including it as part of our extended wedding celebrations.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed October 4, 2008

Delicious food, excellent service, reasonably priced.
Pleasant terrace with a view in the summertime.
Do not miss it when in Besalú!

Helpful?
2 Thank jnha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Curia Reial SL. also viewed

Besalu, Province of Girona
Besalu, Province of Girona
 
Besalu, Province of Girona
Besalu, Province of Girona
 

Been to Restaurant Curia Reial SL.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing