We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food. Pretty location.”
Review of Can Quei

Can Quei
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Besalu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 5, 2018

My husband and i arrived at the little medieval town of Besalu at lunchtime looking for a place to eat. I asked a little old lady who we met on the street if she could recommend somewhere and she directed us to Can Quei. It was the best advice ever! The restaurant is a place where locals go to eat so the food is excellent. All fresh local produce. It's located in an incredibly picturesque place right next to the church.I recommend it 100% if you spend the day in Besalú, since it is a quiet and central place.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank fionabR7474AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 376 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

I take a typical spanish dish, "calamarcets amb verdures", squid with vegetables. The quality of ingredients are the reason for the level of this typical Catalan restaurant.

And the service are very good, all the time take care of us.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank josepa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

It's a pity: a nice place, good food, fair prices - but personnel that does not want to see you, 1 hour (!) waiting for a single dish which then is only luke warm, having to ask for cutlery. Go there only outside main hours.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Thomas615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

A nice local restaurant with quality food and service..
Its hard to beat for value @$16 for food with local wine..
Fully recommend..

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank traveldudeaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

This restaurant was closed most of the week but finally we were able to visit towards the end of our stay. The restaurant was deserted apart from us and another couple who only stayed for one course. We were only given the option of an inclusive menu. My first and second courses were nice and cod very well cooked. My husband had a cold 'fishcake' which was some kind of fish pate and for his second course he ordered lamb shank which came with slightly warm potatoes. The meat itself was cold but gravy hot. He sent it back and it came back rearranged but the outside of the meat was still cold. It came back again with a thermometer stuck in it near the bone. Obviously microwaved food is hotter in the centre. They didn't see a problem. He refused to eat any of it and we left without having desert. They only asked for payment for one meal which was the only thing they did right in terms of service. The waitress was surly and just walked back and forth plonking things on the table. The restaurant, like many others in Besalu, is geared to serving lunch only and shouldn't open in the evening if it's just going to serve reheated food. Don't go here

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank vivien b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Quei also viewed

Besalu, Province of Girona
Besalu, Province of Girona
 
Besalu, Province of Girona
 
Besalu, Province of Girona
Besalu, Province of Girona
 

Been to Can Quei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing