We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castell d'Emporda
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Once again we stayed in Hotel Castell d'Emporda for a few days.
Our experience was wonderfull!
We had a lunch at the terrace with amazing views and a very good dinner in restaurant DRAC!
The staff was very friendly and as usual we felt very welcome at the breakfast with Emma, who has been there for many years and treats us like family!

What a pity we had to leave..

We try to come back in autumn to our little paradise in Catalunya!

Room Tip: Room 15: close to the pool, amazing view and lots of privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olgapg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    120
    50
    26
    17
See reviews for
84
300
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pubol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants in the region. Unfortunately the amazing Dutch chef they had for three years went and unfortunately they changed the whole service stuff and put in a new maître. What a pity. That combined with the fact that the event business and wedding business seams to be there main or only focus, makes it impossible to maintain a stable food quality and service. Impossible to go for a romantic lunch or dinner or for a business lunch experience. Sadly one option less in the Girona area :-(.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ago A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here as part of a walking holiday booked in the UK. This is a review of the restaurant only.
Firstly we informed them we are vegetarian which can as an unwelcome surprise to the head waiter. Fortunately on this evening the special rice dish was vegetarian and was very good. Night two they were more prepared for vegetarian guests but surprisingly did less well. The raw mushroom and undercooked artichoke was a real low point.
In summary, we didn't feel like welcome guests, the menu choice was limited (especially if you are vegetarian) and the food was not what you'd expect from a 4 star establishment. I won't be recommending to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plawsworth_DH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

.......and quiet for a long overdue break from work. I could not have selected a better place to stay. Fantastic views from our "garden" room. Really comfortable bed in a fantastically appointed room. The only noise we could hear whilst sat on our secluded balcony was birdsong.
I cannot fault the staff for their friendliness and willingness to make our stay welcoming and comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant four times and were blown away on each occasion.
An easy walk into Bisbal and surrounded by gorgeous countryside and pretty villages which made for interesting walking.
Back at the Hotel the terrace and swimming pool were great and to have the pool open and heated so early in the season was an unexpected and very welcome surprise.
We have found a gem which is easy to reach from London and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The garden rooms and suites all have private balconies with views over the D'Emporda plain. Sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed two night to attend a wedding. It was worth every euro spend. The room was good but the view was amazing. Staff was nice and helpful. The food that was served during the wedding was of outstanding quality. The stream of little apppetizers seemed endless and was a good variety of meat, fish and vegetarian. I will certainly go back at some point and can only recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oclaassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend in September. We had a fabulous time, it really is secluded in the middle of beautiful Spanish countryside, the views are amazing.

We had a Garden suite which was lovely and spacious, the view from the bath with the sun setting was fantastic. Each room has a DVD player and you can borrow a DVD from the Hotel library. The bathroom had a large rain shower and a huge bath.

The restaurant was really good. The food was fantastic every night and to a very high standard with both local and indonesian dishes on the menu, breakfast was relatively simple but plentiful and tasty. The service in the evenings in the restaurant was good. Generally the service was great (the breakfast service was shocking though - completely chaos and confusion!) and the reception staff couldn't do enough to help you.

This hotel is very much a wedding destination (there were 3 weddings whilst we were there for 4 days) and you very much feel whats going on as the hotel isn't that big. We were informed in advance but depending on how big the wedding is etc the menu is reduced/where you're dining changes. Its worth noting that you often feel a bit of an extra in other peoples weddings. Saying that though we were never overly put out by any of it.

I'd definitely recommend it but just be aware of the weddings going on. All in all a great relaxing trip.

Room Tip: probably try and get a room not near the lifts/stairs - I imagine it could be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charly100_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My new Wife and I wanted to tell you all about our flawless wedding experience in early August 2013. First of all, the castle is a magnificent venue. The rooms are charming and historic, with modern appointments that make it all very cool. The Olive grove, the beautiful vistas which go on forever, and of course, the overall history and magnificence of the castle, As one of our guests put it, "I feel like I am in a fantasy!"

Now for the staff: we set this wedding up over a year earlier and the majority of the decisions were made in New York. Albert, the owner, and Violetta the wedding coordinator and her staff worked very hard to provide us with the options they thought we would appreciate and enjoy, and they were spot on. They went out of their way to accommodate us and our decision making was seamless. Not only did they deliver on every promise, they far surpassed what we were expecting.

After the ceremony, our combined families from Spain, France, and the US enjoyed cocktails while watching the sun set in the distance. The aperitifs were fantastic and the dinner itself was perfect. The food is some of the best I have ever eaten and I live in New York City. All in all, we could not have planned or expected a better event. Call them and let them handle everything. They are that good.

PS. They even set up a car service so nobody had to drive at 3AM!

Room Tip: We plan on returning there next year and hopefully, the honeymoon suite will be available when we do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near la Bisbal d'Emporda
4.6 mi away
El Raco de Madremanya
El Raco de Madremanya
#1 of 2 in Madremanya
553 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Aatu
Hotel Aatu
#3 of 3 in Peratallada
101 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
549 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mas Rabiol
Hotel Mas Rabiol
#1 of 3 in Peratallada
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castell d'Emporda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castell d'Emporda

Property: Hotel Castell d'Emporda
Address: Castell d'Emporda s/n, 17115 la Bisbal d'Emporda, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > la Bisbal d'Emporda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in la Bisbal d'Emporda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castell d'Emporda 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful rural Empordà region, this boutique hotel is set in a restored 14th-century castle. It offers an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi, free parking and air-conditioned rooms with panoramic countryside views.Hotel Castell d’Empordà is within 10 km of the charming villages of Pals and Palafrugell, while the beaches of the Costa Brava beaches are just 15 km away. Girona Airport is 40-minute drive from the hotel.Rooms at the Castell d’Emporda are individually decorated, with silks from India, and furniture brought from Italia, Morocco and China. There is a CD and DVD player in each room.The hotel's Drac restaurant serves Mediterranean dishes made with fresh local produce. You can enjoy meals and drinks on the covered terrace, with wonderful countryside views.Hiking is popular in the area, and the hotel offers bicycle and car hire. There is also a 24-hour front desk, allowing you to come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Castell d'Emporda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castell d Emporda
Hotel Castell D'Emporda Spain/Province Of Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing