We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal. Get a table on the terrace”

Restaurante Galena Mas Comangau
Ranked #8 of 84 Restaurants in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $57
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurante en Begur, de cocina tradicional Mediterranea a la brasa de carbon vegetal.Facilidades de aparcamiento.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely meal. Get a table on the terrace”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel and had dinner one night on the terrace. Everything was great - the wine (go local), the food (seafood and fish were outstanding), and the service (the chef sent out 2 amuse-bouches). And the view from the terrace is just grand.

We didn't try dessert, but I'm sure it would be wonderful. Since we stayed at the hotel we were privy to the wonderful buffet with home made cakes, and I imagine the evening desserts would be of equal quality.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brianinvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    70
    12
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“best food in begur”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We ate twice here once inside and once on the balcony.The food on both occasions was excellent.It is not cheap to eat here but the food justifies paying that bit extra.The service is friendly.We had tried 2 other restaurants in begur and been very dissapointed so when we found this restaurant we were very pleased.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank essie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great choice, excellent service and nice views!”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

So if you can, make reservations for a table outside on the small balacony. It overlooks the valley and at sunset -- wow! But don't fret as the inside is very cozy. I can imagine off season this would be very nice as it has a fireplace and should serve well in all seasons here. The service -- outstanding. You can tell both waiters have been here for a long time and feel very comfortable interacting with their guests. The owner came by to all the tables to say hi and sat down with a friend for dinner himself! The sea food was brilliant and everything was just perfect. The views amazing. I would say its one of the top 3 places in the area for food and service.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirk20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food, eclectic but great service”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We ate here while staying in Begur. The food was simply fabulous, cooked well, tasty. The service made the evening special. The eclectic mix of styles from the two waiters was a delight. And even better, it was a lot less expensive that we had expected. The menu had an extensive choice of dishes and styles of cooking, not as dominated by seafood as other places in the area seemed to be, but still a very good choice of seafood dishes of that was what was wanted. A good Spanish wine list, maybe a little short of 'very' local wines.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MunroBasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough and Begur
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local food and great service”
Reviewed August 8, 2009

we have now eaten here on a number of occasions and this is our first choice for value for money in Begur. It has an excellent menu of the day, our favourite in the whole area around Begur.

The staff are friendly and attentive and the owner is charming.

In the summer, get a table outside - great views of the valley

The foodis very good and the ambience is classic

also has free wifi!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onemanandhisdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Galena Mas Comangau also viewed

 
Begur, Costa Brava
Begur, Costa Brava
 

Been to Restaurante Galena Mas Comangau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing