We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Spanish Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a find! Galena Mas Comengau is a delight. It's the kind of delightful country inn one finds in France, just outside a nice little hill town in the midst of the Costa Brava. The room we had was large, charming and very comfortable. It really felt like the old farmhouse (has) that it is. The owner is charming and helpful as is the rest of the staff. Breakfast is reasonably priced and first-rate. By all means, sty here if you go to this beautiful region.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XYZABCTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 480 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

The restaurant was the highlight of our stay here-fantastic food and staff so friendly-a real personal touch . Breakfast equally as nice.
The room was in a typical rustic Spanish style, with its own front door ,bougainvillea & terrace which was nice
Free parking right on site was a bonus
We had a small dog with us and there was no charge
Only criticism is the room had a slightly fusty/mouldy smell, inevitable when it isn't heated all the time in winter but the air con heater was fine
Would love to go back in summer and highly recommend the restaurant
We were just on a one night 'business' trip in the area , & just picked it randomly ,so what a pleasant surprise
Some of rooms accessed from outside rustic steps,so perhaps no good for elderly or disabled has

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennymac46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent four nights at this hotel and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Begur but it's just a short five or ten minute walk to town. Our room had a patio right outside it and we spent several evenings sitting at the little table drinking wine. The complementary breakfast at the restaurant was delicious, as was lunch and dinner! The restaurant terrace is a perfect place to sit and enjoy your meal. Miguel was extremely helpful and welcoming and really went out of his way to make sure that everyone was having a nice stay. We got a great deal on our room, possibly because it was the off season, and it was worth every penny. My only complaint was that the bed in our room was firmer than I would have liked but I could easily overlook that for all the other fantastic qualities of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights over the summer. Our room was snug but we squeezed in 2 put up beds alongside the very large kingsize. Outside was a lovely terrace with table and chairs. While breakfast was taken inside or outside on the beautiful restaurant terrace. The food was wonderful. Breakfasts delicious and substantial while dinners were fantastic. Miguel is a most generous and welcoming host. While Begur is a beautiful and thriving town, full of little shops, bars and restaurants; Galena Mas is right on the edge of the town within easy walking distance of everything in the town. You do need a car though, so you can visit the absolutely stunning beaches which are dotted around the peninsular. Beautiful scenery and great food. With families made very, very welcome. Our main concern was that the hotel did not have a swimming pool and we very nearly decided against staying. Miguel told us about the local municipal pool. Its a 100 metres away and beautiful - safe/fun/full of kids. I'm so glad we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The city Begur is like a fairytale city, and the hotell is 5 min from the old centre. Old farmhouse with tons of charm, warm and helpful host and very speical rooms. Our room had been the tools room in the old farm, our friends room was the dunkeys barn. Most rooms have a kind of terrace. The restaurant has beautiful views. Very recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I visited Begur twice this summer (it is such a stunning place and the locals are very friendly and helpful) and whilst staying at the (expensive) villa on my second visit I drove past Miguel's place and wished we'd booked in there again! The hotel is in a great location; it has beautiful views and is v peaceful yet only a v short walk to town / restaurants. We stayed in a superior room which was certainly worth the price. Miguel and the rest of the staff were very friendly and relaxed which made us feel at home. I think my partner would go back to the Galena just for the amazing breakfasts out on the terrace. I would definitely recommend this place to any friends who were visiting the area.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the little extra as you get a really good terrace overlooking the valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S10Jimjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here with our two young daughters for 9 nights in Aug 13. Miguel and the team made us so welcome at the hotel and couldn't do enough to make our stay wonderful. It is a great base to explore the area and the restaurant is terrific and very popular with the locals. If you want an affordable family friendly hotel that retains it's boutique specialness, then Mas Galena is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJBW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
727 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#10 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
10.9 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau

Address: Ramon Llull 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#4 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $100 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the village of Begur in the heart of Costa Brava is Galena Mas Comangau Hotel-Restaurant.. A converted catalan Farmhouse dating from the 18th Century.Our Hotel located in a peaceful area of Begur, five minutes walking from the city center, and very close to the best beaches and golf courses in Costa Brava ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galena Mas Comangau Begur
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing