We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The weather was cold, but the welcome was warm.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Loxwood
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The weather was cold, but the welcome was warm.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We thought that Catalonia in Mid-May would be nice and warm and sunny, but apparently they are having just as unusual a spring as here in England. Nevertheless our stay at the Galena was really great - the owner was so friendly and helpful (and spoke excellent English amongst many other languages) and gave excellent advice on where we should visit.
We ate in their restaurant twice and both times the food was excellent and the service friendly but efficient and the breakfast feast (called a buffet) was wonderful.
Our room had a terrace which was lovely on the days that we spent walking - just right for a relaxing glass of wine while the legs recovered.
Begur itself was only a short 5 minute walk away and there were a lot of very good restaurants to choose from in all price ranges.
All in all an excellent choice and we'll certainly try and get there again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoxwoodLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    99
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
61
335
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Begur, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had dinner in this restaurant, and the beef is just so fantastic. The beef tastes wonderful and is really tender; it is sourced especially for the Chuleton, and it is world class. The rest of the menu is always very good. The staff are welcoming and friendly and very efficient. The proprietor is professional and a great chap. We go to this restaurant regularly and are never disappointed. highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilesmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful and fun staff. The food was delicious and the atmosphere pleasant. Local wine went well with the cuisine. I could reccommend this place to others.200 characters is just too long for a review @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@#@@@@#00000000000000000000&&&&*********77777833333333444444455//^$$$$$$////$$'######$$$$$$$$$-@@##!!!!!!!!!!@@222222323333333444444.



































  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yoguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My friend & I loved our stay at Mas Galena, a very special place.....only hope to be fortunate enough to return some day!! Miguel & his staff are very welcoming & provided fantastic service. We returned to our room on the final night to find the staff had left a breakfast tray with coffee, pastries, etc...knowing we had a very early morning departure! And I must mention the food.....fantastic!! If you're looking for a smaller, more personalized, unique place to stay (not a hotel chain), don't hesitate...book your stayat Mas Galena!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LuvSiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

booked for 1 night and ended up staying two. Complementary bottle of wine from miguel the owner. Perfect setting for exploring this beautiful area and very good quality for the money. breakfast was delicious and restaurant galena is also excellent quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenGogsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City-California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Hotel Galena Mas Camangau and it's surrounding area was the absolute highlight of our Northern Spain adventure. Everything about the property is wonderful. Miguel, the proprietor is helpful and very enjoyable to spend time with. The rooms were outstanding with amenities that were more typical of a 4* property. It's location is perfect for exploring the small villages and beaches in and around the Begur Peninsula.
The food in the Costa Brava including the restaurant at the hotel is amazing. We look forward to returning with more time to explore and enjoy.

Room Tip: All 10 of the rooms are beautiful and offer a different view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtisanJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this wonderfull romantic small hotel ( 11Rooms) The well tavelled landlord loves his mansion and his guests. Very helpfull and a pleasure to talk with. Ask him where to go, he knows all the hidden secrets of the Emporda region and....beyond.
Don't forget to have lunch or dinner in his charming restaurant, with a fine catalan kitchen and a wide range of wines.
The rooms are charming and modern in Catalan country style, wifi ,internet, wide screen tv and a well equiped bathroom.
And wow what a breakfast !!!

We will be back soon .Muchas Gracias Miquel friends forever

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxMassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
565 reviews
15.3 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,205 reviews
10.9 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
802 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#9 of 14 in Begur
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau

Property: Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Address: Ramon Llull 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#4 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the village of Begur in the heart of Costa Brava is Galena Mas Comangau Hotel-Restaurant.. A converted catalan Farmhouse dating from the 18th Century.Our Hotel located in a peaceful area of Begur, five minutes walking from the city center, and very close to the best beaches and golf courses in Costa Brava ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galena Mas Comangau Begur
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing