We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Tasty meals on a rainy evening.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty meals on a rainy evening.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful and fun staff. The food was delicious and the atmosphere pleasant. Local wine went well with the cuisine. I could reccommend this place to others.200 characters is just too long for a review @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@#@@@@#00000000000000000000&&&&*********77777833333333444444455//^$$$$$$////$$'######$$$$$$$$$-@@##!!!!!!!!!!@@222222323333333444444.



































  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yoguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    86
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
46
272
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My friend & I loved our stay at Mas Galena, a very special place.....only hope to be fortunate enough to return some day!! Miguel & his staff are very welcoming & provided fantastic service. We returned to our room on the final night to find the staff had left a breakfast tray with coffee, pastries, etc...knowing we had a very early morning departure! And I must mention the food.....fantastic!! If you're looking for a smaller, more personalized, unique place to stay (not a hotel chain), don't hesitate...book your stayat Mas Galena!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LuvSiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

booked for 1 night and ended up staying two. Complementary bottle of wine from miguel the owner. Perfect setting for exploring this beautiful area and very good quality for the money. breakfast was delicious and restaurant galena is also excellent quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenGogsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City-California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Hotel Galena Mas Camangau and it's surrounding area was the absolute highlight of our Northern Spain adventure. Everything about the property is wonderful. Miguel, the proprietor is helpful and very enjoyable to spend time with. The rooms were outstanding with amenities that were more typical of a 4* property. It's location is perfect for exploring the small villages and beaches in and around the Begur Peninsula.
The food in the Costa Brava including the restaurant at the hotel is amazing. We look forward to returning with more time to explore and enjoy.

Room Tip: All 10 of the rooms are beautiful and offer a different view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtisanJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this wonderfull romantic small hotel ( 11Rooms) The well tavelled landlord loves his mansion and his guests. Very helpfull and a pleasure to talk with. Ask him where to go, he knows all the hidden secrets of the Emporda region and....beyond.
Don't forget to have lunch or dinner in his charming restaurant, with a fine catalan kitchen and a wide range of wines.
The rooms are charming and modern in Catalan country style, wifi ,internet, wide screen tv and a well equiped bathroom.
And wow what a breakfast !!!

We will be back soon .Muchas Gracias Miquel friends forever

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxMassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights in Hotel Galena and thoroughly exjoyed the experience. The hotel itself, with 10 rooms, offers a comfortable, relaxing base. Our room, Number 9, was spacious, with an outside deck, a very comfortable bed and tasteful decoration. The lounge, dining room and terrace were all very welcoming spaces where we were happy to spend time. However, what really made the Galena so exceptional for us was the owner, Miguel, and his excellent staff, who were very attentive, yet so friendly and amusing. The meals in the hotel were superb - we particularly enjoyed the Saturday nice dinner with live jazz. But there were also lots of alternative restaurants a short walk away in the centre of the village. If we're ever in northern Catalunya again, we'll certainly stay at Hotel Galena. Meanwhile, muchos gracias Miguel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markinch-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel came recommended, but my room was small, dank, smelly and dark. My friend's room was lighter and larger, but dusty and shabby. The public spaces are nice, but the private rooms are not. Whole place smelled of cigarette smoke.

Dinner was promised, but the restaurant was closed the night we arrived. We were sent to a tourist dive down the road. Breakfast was sumptuous and left us wanting for the dinner we did not have the night before.

We stayed here as part of a package, so I don't know how much the actual cost was. But given the choice, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, avoid room 6. I was told it was the old wine cellar, and the only thing that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Global-Villagerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaMasComangau, Gerente at Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I thank you for your information and sorry is not able to enjoy the night stay in our house.

In this regard I am pleased to inform you that, every room in our farmhouse are different, being his friend one of the most spacious rooms.

The room you occupied,was recently renovated, offers bathroom door and cedar in wood from Lebanon, which gives off a characteristic smell of the wood. In the rooms and other public areas are non-smoking. For this purpose, the terraces are enabled .
The restaurant has a open chimney, which is commonly used throughout the winter and always leaves a characteristic smell wood burning in the main salon.

From September to June, our resturante closed one day a week, which includes information on our facility, while it previously communicated to our customers and partners.
The contracted stays in half board, during the closing days of the restaurant, for lunch or dinner, are provided in a collaborator Restaurant, located 150 meters from our hotel, direction of the center of the town.

I appreciate your impressions, which help me to improve our services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 15 in Begur
5.0 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
10.9 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Parador de Aiguablava
3.8 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 7 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#7 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau

Property: Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Address: Ramon Llull 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#4 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the village of Begur in the heart of Costa Brava is Galena Mas Comangau Hotel-Restaurant.. A converted catalan Farmhouse dating from the 18th Century.Our Hotel located in a peaceful area of Begur, five minutes walking from the city center, and very close to the best beaches and golf courses in Costa Brava ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galena Mas Comangau Begur
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing