We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Smelly Room; Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel came recommended, but my room was small, dank, smelly and dark. My friend's room was lighter and larger, but dusty and shabby. The public spaces are nice, but the private rooms are not. Whole place smelled of cigarette smoke.

Dinner was promised, but the restaurant was closed the night we arrived. We were sent to a tourist dive down the road. Breakfast was sumptuous and left us wanting for the dinner we did not have the night before.

We stayed here as part of a package, so I don't know how much the actual cost was. But given the choice, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, avoid room 6. I was told it was the old wine cellar, and the only thing that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Global-Villagerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaMasComangau, Gerente at Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

I thank you for your information and sorry is not able to enjoy the night stay in our house.

In this regard I am pleased to inform you that, every room in our farmhouse are different, being his friend one of the most spacious rooms.

The room you occupied,was recently renovated, offers bathroom door and cedar in wood from Lebanon, which gives off a characteristic smell of the wood. In the rooms and other public areas are non-smoking. For this purpose, the terraces are enabled .
The restaurant has a open chimney, which is commonly used throughout the winter and always leaves a characteristic smell wood burning in the main salon.

From September to June, our resturante closed one day a week, which includes information on our facility, while it previously communicated to our customers and partners.
The contracted stays in half board, during the closing days of the restaurant, for lunch or dinner, are provided in a collaborator Restaurant, located 150 meters from our hotel, direction of the center of the town.

I appreciate your impressions, which help me to improve our services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 481 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Galena Mas Comangau for 4 nights in early September. Orginally, we were looking at towns and hotels along the water but was so glad we chose Begur and this hotel instead.
The hotel is in a beautiful stone building with a wonderful terrace for dining. The buffet breakfast was excellent and included breads, cheese, meats, fruit, and eggs among many other items. The service was excellent and everyone was so kind when we struggled with the very little Spanish we used to try to communicate. The rooms and bathrooms were comfortable and very large by European standards. We were in Begur during the Cuban Festival and Galena Mas Comangau was situated perfectly for visiting town as well as touring the area and beaches. As others have commented - Miguel is extremely helpful and offers great advice. While we visited when the weather was warm, because there is a fireplace in the dining room and a number of areas (including some in the lower level) to gather with friends and relax, we think this would also be a great choice during the colder months. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Costa Brava.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCvacationer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights at Galena Mas Comangau as part of a 10 day stay in Spain with these 4 nights being the most comfortable and relaxing of the whole trip.

As others have said, the breakfast, hospitality, dinner and accommodation were excellent.

Miguel and his family are very welcoming and make you feel that you're in a home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichandSiobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I finished my month-long Spain trip in the best hotel of my adventure. The cozy room and big views made it a perfect end to my trip, and a quiet getaway from my previous four days in Barcelona. Begur is VERY small, so walking five minutes into the downtown area was not an issue for me. I arrived in bus. I also hiked down to one of the beach trails using Miguel's maps and directions. If I needed anything, he and the staff were amazingly helpful. They even gave me a scooter tutorial before I took off for Figueres one day.
The restaurants in town are fabulous, but make sure you enjoy one dinner at Mas Comangau. Breakfast is worth it, too. Tortilla de patatas, croissants, fresh fruit, and Spanish meats kept me full through lunch. The rooms have air conditioning and heating, but the weather was so pleasant that I did not need it, even in early August.
I am already trying to figure out when and how to return to this perfect place. It would be a great honeymoon destination or mother-daughter trip. Thanks again, Miguel.

Room Tip: I was traveling alone, so I stayed in the cellar room...a couple would prefer a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheen8rmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Within a few minutes walking distance of Begur, this charming little hotel was a welcome escape from the touristy beaches of the Costa Brava.

We stayed there for one night during July 2012 on our way through the area, and had a really enjoyable time.

Pleasant and friendly staff were ready to assist and offered helpful advise and assistance.

We were late in booking the room, so ended up in a cheap but small double room. It didn't matter to us that it was a bit cramped, but perhaps worthwhile inquiring if this matters to you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed three nights at the hotel in July 2012 and were very pleased. The owner Miguel was extremely nice and very helpful, as were all the staff. Miguel speaks very good English. The hotel is a converted old farmhouse that tumbles down a hill just outside the main shopping area of Begur, an upscale town with many restaurants. We paid extra for a superior rooms and were very happy we did. The room was comfortable and ours (a converted stable on the side of the property) had a nice patio where we enjoyed sitting. Breakfast is terrific, particularly if you can snag a seat on the terrace that has a wonderful view to the West. The hotel is a bit out of town and on a slightly busy road, but the road noise was minimal in the evening and the walk into the shops and restaurants in the main part of town took about 5 or 6 minutes. We actually enjoyed staying a bit out of town, in part because the parking was easy and the views from the property are superb.
We ate at the restaurant one night and it was pleasant but we thought fairly expensive and the food was so-so.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with terrace looked to be worth the money. I saw some standard rooms that looked very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

What we got was quite different from what we were expecting. It was decent but not great. The building is quaint and the staff very freindly and accommodating. The location is very convenient to walk into the old village. The breakfast is good and overall the value is reasonable. They could make this a better venue by upgrading the furnishings in the rooms and the beds, which are very hard. The terrace was large but it is shared with 2 other rooms with the separation being done with some planters with small foliage in them resulting in no privacy. There are also power lines at the end of it that are less than appealing.We were in room 10, accessed through a door that also access 8 and 9. We had the best of the 3. The upgraded rooms are in a different area and appeared to be quite dark. I am not sure they would be worth the upcharge. The breakfast was very good but there seemed to be no activity at dinner, which was a surprise. Hoever there are many neat tapas cafes in town. All in all we quite liked Begur and this location was very handy. The owners would do well to spiffy the place up at a bit.

Room Tip: For the basic rooms 10 is better than 8 or 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doofrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
210 reviews
10.9 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau

Address: Ramon Llull 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#3 Family Hotel in Begur
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $99 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the village of Begur in the heart of Costa Brava is Galena Mas Comangau Hotel-Restaurant.. A converted catalan Farmhouse dating from the 18th Century.Our Hotel located in a peaceful area of Begur, five minutes walking from the city center, and very close to the best beaches and golf courses in Costa Brava ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galena Mas Comangau Begur
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing