We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in a pleasant setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
tw
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good hotel in a pleasant setting”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during a journey through France and Spain. The place is just on the edge of Begur - about a 15 minute walk to the centre of town.
There were 4 of us and we had 2 rooms - a junior suite and a standard room. The rooms were good but were not the cheapest (although we were there in high season).
We eat in the restaurant the first night and the food was excellent.
Breakfast was included and was an enormous buffet with fruit, cold meats, juices, breads, cakes etc. It was excellent.
Overall we had a very good stay here and would recommend the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campiTw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    99
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
60
333
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I stayed here for four days in June 2011. I can't recommend this hotel or part of Spain enough. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are nice, and the restaurant is absolutely fabulous. We had a car, which was helpful as there are several beaches within 10 minutes drive, but you can also take the beach bus quite easily. The interior of the common areas were very clean and well designed. The bedroom itself was also very nice. The TV signal was poor and WiFi was a little slow, but otherwise it was well maintained and felt very modern (excellent shower). Ultimately, the best part of this hotel is the restaurant, which has phenomenal food and view. The wait staff are very friendly and keen to chat about every dish at length.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_Hutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Just back from 5 nights with my girlfriend at this lovely hotel - Miguel and his staff were a pleasure and put a smile on our faces morning and night - nothing was to much trouble for them - room prices were very good value and the food superb - we ate in the restaurant for 3 nights and wish we had for the full 5 as it was far better than the town of Begur had to offer - we really experienced the delights of Catalunya - we will certainly be going back -

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reldasjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

A great hotel converted from an old farm house and associated buildings. A great base to visit the Costa Brava area with it's lovely coast line. The owner, Miguel, was extremely nice and helpful in directing us to the places in the area to see and restaurants to visit. The staff at the hotel was also very helpful. We had a great breakfast there and the dinner was quite good as well. Places of interest and/or beautiful scenery that we especially liked include Alguablava and Tamariu on the coast (great restaurant right on the water at Tamariu named Adelle's is recommended). Another town that is interesting as it appears to be a center of ceramics is Beisbal. The town of Pals was also highly recommended but we ran out of time to include it.
This area is very crowded during the summer I am told. We went in March and no one was around which we liked and the weather was in the 70's and sunny.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLandKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern US
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed two nights recently. The owner is very lovely and told us the history of the town and the mas. We had an excellent dinner and the best breakfast we had in our two weeks in Spain. The homemade cakes and the local membrillo were wonderful.

We did have some problems with the A/C however (maybe because it was the beginning of the season). The outside temperature was cool at night, but unfortunately we couldn't open the doors or window because there are no screens and a stray cat would walk in.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankeeinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We planned and stayed for just one night, but we are deeply touched by the great hospitality of the boss and staff. The room is nice and cool, simply great. Dinner at the restaurant is above average. (Family from Singapore....)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spmong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We spent 3 nights here and loved it! The rooms are beautiful, with lots of character but also modern in terms of facilites. We stayed in room 9, had our own little terrace, a Bose sound system and a small fridge in the room and a fantastic shower in the bathroom! The room was very clean and the bed was big and comfortable. The breakfast was of excellent quality with a wide range of juices, breads, traditional cakes, boiled eggs, meats etc. There is a lovely lounge downstairs where you can relax and have a coffee. There is free wifi throughout the hotel. But the best thing about Galena Mas Comangau is the service we received from Miguel. He is very friendly, extremely helpful, welcoming and gave us plenty of information and tips on where to go in Begur. He even organised a scooter hire for us so that the scooter was dropped off for us and collected from the hotel instead of us having to go searching for one. The hotel restaurant is also fabulous. We are vegetarian but the chef had no problem with this and made a vegetarian paella especially for us. It was delicious as were the desserts. The hotel is located just 5 minutes walk from the old town of Begur which is lovely. There is a supermarket and a petrol station very close by. We would highly recommend staying here and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLT75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
552 reviews
15.3 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,202 reviews
10.9 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
792 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Convent
Hotel El Convent
#12 of 14 in Begur
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau

Property: Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Address: Ramon Llull 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#4 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the village of Begur in the heart of Costa Brava is Galena Mas Comangau Hotel-Restaurant.. A converted catalan Farmhouse dating from the 18th Century.Our Hotel located in a peaceful area of Begur, five minutes walking from the city center, and very close to the best beaches and golf courses in Costa Brava ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galena Mas Comangau Begur
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing