We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average food”
Review of Hostal Sa Tuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Sa Tuna
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Such a great location, looking out over a beautiful bay etc etc. We stopped for lunch only, though we did consider staying here when we were planning our holiday. The restaurant design is good. However, menu prices were very high compared to everywhere else we've eaten on this holiday, and the food was probably the most disappointing. The bay is absolutely worth a visit, but maybe try I be of the other 2 restaurants instead? Or maybe we got it on a bad day?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Located in the harbour of this small cove. The menu is very varied with a lot of Asian influence. The food we had was all great and served in a very innovative fashion. Gazpacho, a very tasty aubergine dish, foie gras and wild mushrooms.
A very nice lunch experience.
Above the restaurant there also 5 rooms for rent.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Framcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lovely to arrive at Sa Tuna on foot, having walked over the cliffs from Aiguablava. The setting cannot be bettered and this restaurant is a welcome resting place with a pretty terrace. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Food was beautifully presented and tasted good enough - not spectacular, not dreadful either. Very expensive though. We paid €130 for two with a couple of drinks. We ate spectacular food a couple of nights earlier in Barcelona, with a bottle of wine, for €100. So I guess you are paying for the setting. It was pleasant and I would return, if only for the ambiance, but a bit surprised at the bill.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank samliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

the restaurant is located close to the sea with a wonderful landscape over the beach. Excellent sea food very fresh and well served, but the portion of the sea market dish is too small. Perfect to spent a day there, having a bath and eating in the terrace.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The best way to wile away an afternoon in Catalonia is to head to the beautiful sea side cove of Sa Tuna and dine at Hostal Sa Tuna. The setting is sublime, the welcome is warm and the food speaks to the culture and cuisine of this special region; absolutely delicious.

The restaurant represents the best in Catalan cuisine without being over fussy. The highlight of our meal was the "surf and turf" - rabbit meatballs with shellfish, artichoke and peas.

This special family-run restaurant, that has been est for 100 years, draws on loyal local clientele with a smattering of tourists. You really feel part of the community when you sit down and dine.

In my view, this is the best restaurant in Catalonia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacKenzie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stepped by Sa Tuna beach for evening coffee and desserts. Have to say, that was a great "cafe con leche" and the terrace opens a pleasant view on the sea! But then problems started: it took a while to get desserts (the kitchen just opened at 8 pm), the desserts looked nice but tasted just average, and the final bill for two coffees and desserts approached 20 euros... Even worse, after that my wife felt sick the whole evening. Sorry, would not come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank aka79_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had dinner in the restaurant part of this hotel whilst on holiday in May. The village of Sa Tuna was deserted and so was the restaurant so maybe the good cook was off. Our experience was average food (under-cooked burger and over-cooked lamb) with artistic lines of balsamic and sprinkles of micro-salad. Not bad but certainly not good enough for the hyped prices. Take my advice and go somewhere that can cook a piece of meat or fish and doesn't cost you the earth for pretentious decoration.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tripmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sa Riera
Hotel Sa Riera
#13 of 14 in Begur
110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurante Sa Punta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sa Tuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sa Tuna

Address: Platja Sa Tuna, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $126 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Sa Tuna 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Sa Tuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sa Tuna Hotel Begur
Hostal Sa Tuna Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing