We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, comfortable”
Review of Mas Ses Vinyes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mas Ses Vinyes
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Narbonne, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peaceful, comfortable”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We got a great price on a last-minute booking for 3 nights here. We arrived late and rather tired, and were greeted by a friendly receptionist who showed us to our room in one of the modern blocks by the pool. We were amazed by how spacious it was. The bathroom was almost as big as the room and was split into 3 rooms! It included both a full bath and a rain head shower. In the room itself, one whole wall was glass, with a great view over Palafrugell, and a table and chairs for sitting outside. Very tastefully decorated too.

With the rooms being in blocks of four, it is very quiet and private (we certainly didn't notice any noise from other guests). The landscaped gardens are lovely, and I enjoyed a swim in the pool. There's a spa on site too, but we didn't have time to try it.

We ate in the restaurant on the first evening. The food wasn't fantastic, but it was good enough, and reasonable value at 20 euros for 3 courses. There are lots of lovely places to eat in this area, although you will need a designated driver! Breakfast (included in the rate) was fine -- self-service bread, cakes, cereals, juice, coffee etc. plus a hot dish of eggs and bacon.

We liked it for a quiet, relaxing few days. I'd go again -- especially if I could get that price of 70 euros a night again!

Room Tip: Definitely the rooms in the garden blocks, rather than the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monsieurmystere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    64
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
140
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night here, tho we wished it were more. Located not too far from
Palafugell, so great to use as a base to visit the very busy costal area's of llafranc and the like. Its a terraced plot, with the main building housing reception/ resteraunt/ bar, with the lower levels having blocks of 3/4 rooms and the infinity pool, with some nice views and the sea in the far distance. We had a great room in the block next to the pool ( got upgraded on arrival) it was very large, had a jacuzzi bath for 2, lovely big bed and a table and chairs to sit outside. We had dinner at the hotel, which was really good, if you can have the starter: pasta of the day with fruit de mer, have it, it was stunning! All in all a great little place away from the hussle and bussle, to chill out and soak up the rays! Oh and a beer is only 2.50 and a cocktail 7.50. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights over Easter in a room in the main building. The room was comfortable and had character, there was a private terrace with table & chairs giving direct access to the garden. As previously noted in another review there is some noise audible from the neighbouring bathroom but this did not give us any major concern.

The hotel is set in beautiful countryside and is very quiet, the main noise is birdsong. It is an ideal base from which to do some walking without needing to get in the car first.

Breakfast was plentiful and varied and the evening menu though limited offers some delicious choices. No English version was available but the staff are more than happy to help with a bit of translation.

All in all this hotel is a real find and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neetwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

If what you´re looking for is peace, quiet and relax, you won´t find a better place at Costa Brava. My husband and I were looking for a place to simply forget about the world and recharge our batteries after a tough year and Mas Ses Vinyes totally exceeded our expectations. Stunning views, fabulous garden with many different areas which allow you to find your own spot with no need to share your space with other guests, great infinity pool, cosy rooms with incredibly huge bathrooms (at least ours was bigger than the room), delicious buffet breakfast, very helpful staff and one thing I particularly liked: the SPA. Not only is it a great alternative for a rainy day but you book it just for you or your friends and in that time no other guests are allowed to go in. Great!
You can really see that the owners put in a lot of effort and heart in that place, always improving and thinking about the guests´ comfort. It shows in every detail and makes you want to come back.

Room Tip: In my opinion, the best are upper floor rooms with terrace. The rooms are rather small but the terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights after leaving a previously booked hotel because the reality vs the expectation set up by their website was severely lacking and a price tag of €250 per night for same was frankly, rip off! So we arrived at Mas Ses Vinyes on spec to be greeted by an extremely pleasant receptionist who initially thought she could not accommodate us but while we were having lunch approached us to say that she discovered that she did in fact have a superior room available for us and which she was happy to give us at the price she had previously quoted for a standard room. We were delighted!

Our room was spotlessly clean, had a big comfortable bed, flat screen TV (but sadly not even one English speaking channel which we thought was quite remiss but potentially easily fixable?) Our bathroom had a lovely big jacuzzi bath but a strange arrangement whereby if one wanted a shower, one had to literally crouch in the jacuzzi under the shower head which was fixed half way up the wall.

The infinity pool was super and the view from it was absolutely panoramic. The restaurant served an excellent continental breakfast, super coffee machine and toaster for the wide range of breads etc. Lunch and dinner in the restaurant were also very good indeed but the menu was limited and did not change so one really could eat there twice at the most. Apart from these shortcomings, we enjoyed the peace and tranquillity and most hospitable service and would recommend highly to anyone seeking a comfortable few days of high quality R & R.

Room Tip: A room in the grey blocks nearest the main hotel/house building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a pleasent three night stay in this beautiful hotel. If you like a quit environment with amazing views over the spanish hillside and sea you have to be here. You are 7 km away from the begur and pallafrugell beaches which claim to be the most beautiful in spain. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The food is excellent!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roelfrissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is an amazing little hotel. It's high in a mountain between a few great little cities so you are close to a lot of different things. They have a very good restaurant on site and an endless pool with an outstanding view. Nice quiet evenings in very nice rooms with a great view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kudaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
386 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convent
Hotel El Convent
#12 of 14 in Begur
202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
2.4 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#5 of 14 in Begur
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Ses Vinyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Ses Vinyes

Property: Mas Ses Vinyes
Address: Cami de Ses Vinyes s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Begur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mas Ses Vinyes 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant and SPA services are the ideal complement for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mas Ses Vinyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas Ses Vinyes Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing