We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old town family-run gem in the Northern Costa Brava” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rosa
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
living in Surrey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Old town family-run gem in the Northern Costa Brava”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rosa for 2 nights in mid-September on a pre-booked self-guided walking holiday. This family owned hotel with its Michelin-guide restaurant (the owner is the chef) a couple of metres away across the narrow street made a real change from the standard corporate concrete box hotels. We had a spacious and comfortable room in the accommodation annex to the rear of the street-facing reception area. It had that welcome rarity, a 2 person sofa and coffee table in a clearly separate space for chilling out and watching TV. There was a pair of Juliet balconies looing west out over the back streets and roofs to the local hills, a TV/games room in the basement and a sun-deck on the roof (with a lift if you cannot manage the stairs). The food and service in the restaurant were excellent both at dinner and breakfast - the staff were friendly and cheerful. The only drawback, and it sadly applies widely in hotels in continental Europe, was the lack of a hospitality tray in the room. But being forewarned of this, and as English people in need of properly hot tea after a hard day's walking, we had brought our own equipment. Hotel Rosa is centrally located about 100m from Begur's main town square, and if you want to get the feel of life in an old Catalonian hill town you really should go there. One of the best we have stayed at. (We came in and went out on foot, but at least one other review has mentioned parking not too far away).

Room Tip: Higher ones are likely to get more light and maybe a rooftop view. There is a small lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiltshireman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    48
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
100
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel Rosa has the best breakfast you can hope for. Much of the food on offer is home made from locally sourced products and the selection is too enticing for those who are looking to control the calories. The rooms are basic but fine (a fridge would be nice) and the hotel is in the middle of the old town. Parking is easy on the street about 500m away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We made a last-minute booking as a result of a change in travel plans. We were very lucky to discover Hotel Rosa! This is a small, quaint, locally-owned and operated inn right in the middle of Begur. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms were modern, superbly maintained, clean, and well appointed. Breakfast was exceptional. We were very, very pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is truly a 'little gem'. Although centrally-located, it was quiet. The beds were comfortable, it was clean and had all the mod cons we like such as air-conditioning, lift, decent- sized en-suite and good breakfast included. The young woman on reception spoke English and was very helpful and friendly. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Parking not available on-site but we had no trouble finding a free parking spot on the street nearby...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
185 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our third highly enjoyable visit to the Rosa; a hotel with real character!

It's a small hotel in the centre of Begur, developed over the years from several adjacent buildings. This means that it rambles in a quirky kind of way, and occasionally confuses you as you make your way around. It has a lift, a rooftop sunbathing area, a basement with table tennis and pool tables, a bar and a private parking area. The owners are developing a spa next door to the hotel, which is something to look forward to next year.

Our room was, as usual, bright and comfortable, spotlessly clean and fully equipped. I don't remember an en-suite spa bath on previous visits, but we had one this time. My only criticism would be that the hotel's wifi didn't quite reach us.

The hotel and a restaurant across the alleyway are owned by the same family, and it's here you get the Rosa's superb breakfast. Certainly it's the best we have ever had in Europe, with all the usual cold stuff, plus hot dishes, freshly made bread and pastries, and a great fruit selection.

The only word of warning I would offer about the Rosa is that it's a bit hard to find if arriving in Begur by car, especially at night. This is because you can't drive up to the front door, which is in a pedestrian zone right in the centre of town. The easiest option is to drive towards the centre, park where you can, and reconnoitre the area on foot. It's not a big town and you'll quickly find the hotel, and get directions from them to the best places to park, or to their own car park.

Finally, as many other reviewers have said, what gives the Rosa its special appeal is its people. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and their personalities contribute a huge amount to the Rosa's character. Thanks to them we had another great stay at their hotel, and will certainly be back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Very simple rooms but excellent service and wonderful staff. Do not miss the freshly baked organic bread at breakfast or the salt cod provencale at dinner. We were part of a larger group and couldn't have been looked after better. Many thanks!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a gorgeous but homely hotel, set in the heart of a quiet medieval village. The value for money was outstanding. It was a lovely roomy room. We didn't have a view busy it didn't matter. The decor of the hotel is elegant but be warned, parking is about 100m in a side street. Find a spot and park. The hotel is on the first floor with no lift. Breakfast was good and we had a spectacular evening meal in the gorgeous doing room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Begur hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 15 in Begur
5.0 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#6 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#7 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa

Property: Hotel Rosa
Address: Pi i Rallo, 19, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Begur
Hotel Rosa Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing