We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Hotel Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rosa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely little Hotel in a charming town. We booked well in advance and got a great rate for a Junior Suite. The room itself was spacious, bright, clean and comfortable and the bathroom was a good size ( loved the double sinks!) The Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and in particular Pilar, she really went out of her way to assist us and took time to recommend beaches and places of interest, she is a great asset to the Hotel. The breakfast was varied and tasty and service again was prompt and friendly. I would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Suite, it's lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskysour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 202 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Rosa. The room was comfortable and very clean, the breakfast buffet was excellent, and the staff, both in the hotel and the restaurant, were as friendly, cheerful and helpful as any hotel I've ever stayed at. I must give a special mention to Pilar, who smiled constantly and went out of her way to assist at all times, whether with maps, bus timetables, directions or anything else. The location of the hotel within the town is perfect, and the town of Begur itself is lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

stayed here for 2 days on a wlaking trip. girls on reception very helpful, no room service, but it's not that type of hotel. room clean enough and spacious, it does have a solarium on the roof which is nice, but obviously too small to have a pool. great location, just yards away from the square and church.. wouldn't recommend the restuarant, despite having had it's praises sung by our rep. the food is best described as unusual! all in all a fairly nice, reasonable value hotel in a lovely spot in a fantastic village

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cudders01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We were looking for somewhere outside the city of Barcelona to stay for 4 nights.to take in some walking and the coastline. We found the small town of Begur and Hotel Rosa. on Trip Advisor. Upon arriving at the Hotel we were made so welcome by Pilar, the Receptionist . We mentioned to her we had researched the area for walking and immediately she was on her computer printing of in Enghish, all the local trails recommended by the Hotel and the local Tourist Board. The room was very comfortable with nice toiletries in the Bathroom. The bonus was the jacuzzi bath . The breakfast was wonderful with a wide selection of cereals, eggs, and bacon or sausages , cold meats, cheeses and the breads and pastries were delicious. We asked for English Tea seeing we do not drink coffee, and the kitchen assistant went out to the local shop to buy tea bags so we could have our morning tea. Make a point of having at least one evening meal at the hotel. The food is delicious .
The town square is a two minute walk to the centre and great place to sit with a nice drink and people watch. We found the church clock goes of every 15 minutes, even at night. You can get used to sleeping through its chiming .There is so much to see and do in and around Begur we plan to return soon to Hotel Rosa.
Pilar made our stay extra special with all her help and recommendations .

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2looseladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Last year my partner and I spent 13 wonderful days and nights in Begur and stayed in Hotel Rosa, which was definitely the best choice. The staff were always happy and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the dinners were really special and great value. We did eat out in other restaurants in Begur, but kept going back to Fonda Caner as we enjoyed our meals. There is a lovely rooftop terrace which is a lovely place to go early morning with a good book and all you can hear is the sound of birds and the church bell! Begur is a very pretty hilltop town situated back from the coast but with a car it is so easy to go to different beaches and coves each day. The central square is a great place to people watch with a long cool drink particularly after a day in the sun! We went inland to Pals and a few other towns which were spectacular as they were so old, but yet so well maintained. We both often talk of Begur and in particular Hotel Rosa and Fonda Caner quite a lot and we will definitely return in the next year or two and would have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Rosa to family, friends or anyone reading this review. Many thanks to all at Hotel Rosa for making our holiday so special!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calams_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We were bowled over by Begur, and the Hotel Rosa, and both the town and the hotel are ideal for independent travellers.

Begur is a delightful hilltop town in northern Spain, with a variety of small family-friendly beaches and coves nearby, and the Hotel Rosa is in the pedestrian area right in the centre, just strolling distance from a wide variety of restaurants and bars.

Now, this is Costa Brava territory, but Begur is not the kind of place where the excesses of mass tourism are to be found. Both the town and the hotel are civilised, friendly, pleasantly quiet places.

Our room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. It and the bathroom had been relatively recently remodelled. Everything worked well, including the air conditioning and ceiling fan, although both the latter were a bit noisy.

The hotel has a super sun-deck on the roof, and a bar and games room in the lowest area. It also has an excellent restaurant across the lane from its entrance. Breakfast there was wonderful; the best breakfast buffet I have had in Europe.

Previous reviewers have commented on the helpful friendly staff at the Rosa, and that was certainly our experience too; special thanks to Helena who made breakfast even more of a pleasure!

Bonus features of the Rosa were the excellent free wireless internet available in all rooms, and the laptop available in Reception for guests. Also the secure car park nearby (at extra cost). A negative would be the relative difficulty of finding the Rosa if you arrive by car. We found that the map and directions available on Booking dot com were rubbish. Your best bet is to drive up into the town centre, and park. Don't worry if you have to park outside the town, because it's a very small one. Any of the friendly locals will direct you to the Rosa, and whoever is at Reception will give you a map that works.

All in all this was a great place, and the price, for what you get, was also great. We shall be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

A great hotel in the center of lovely Begur. Very clean, comfortable beds, central air-condition, quiet, super-friendly staff, nice patio/courtyard area, free laptop in the reception, wonderfully located in a central pedestrian street (so parking is not nearby), exceptional breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank M_and_R_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Begur hotels
0 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#7 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa

Address: Pi i Rallo, 19, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $92 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Begur
Hotel Rosa Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing