We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hideaway on Costa Brava”
Review of Hostal Sa Rascassa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Sa Rascassa
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Providence, RI
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little hideaway on Costa Brava”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I just returned from a trip to Spain where I stayed at this wonderful hostal in Aiguafreda! It is in the perfect location, nestled in a little cove on the Costa Brava, steps away from the water, and with a tremendous restaurant!!! Oscar and all of his staff were so friendly and helpful, and were very attentive to our every need. And did I mention the food? The restaurant there has gourmet food to die for! I highly recommend the Secreto Iberico...yummy! And the included breakfast every day was an added bonus! It was a wonderful breakfast with croissants, breads, jams, meats, fruits, cheeses, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, etc. You will not go hungry here! The rooms are nice, with a fantastic shower with tons of water pressure. Also, right outside of your room there is a cute sitting area with a very nice breeze, only for the guests of the hotel! A wonderful place to sit out and enjoy the surroundings with a good book! The dive shop below has been bought by the hotel, so the previous comments about the noise from the dive shop are no longer an issue. This is a precious place with everything you could want and at a very affordable price compared to other places in the same area! I highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerjaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    20
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
74
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BCN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Cala d'Aiguafreda is a beautiful place to spend holidays especially if you're looking for some days of relax ... Pine trees, cristal clear sea water, great food ... and no shops, no cars, no loud bars ... no stress at all ....
And the hostal is so charming. All the staff is so wonderfult and they make you feel as one of the family ...
We had such a great time that we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirjana_Bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We spent 5 nights at Hostel Sa Rascassa in June 2008 and did not experience disruptions related to the Dive School next door nor did we ever have any trouble parking. The rooms are definitely basic but they were clean and certainly very functional. The breakfasts were wonderful and the dinners were really, really good. Oscar is a terrific host. One night he suggested that we might want to have dinner in Begur as there was going to be a family party in the restaurant that night. In the end we ate at the restaurant and became part of the family party - dancing and mixing with various family members throughout the evening. It was a real treat and a highlight of our holiday. Almost every day we walked the sea wall to Sa Tuna, a small village with several hotels, for our daily beer by the sea. We certainly recommend Hostal Sa Rascassa and would return there when we travel to Spain.

  • Liked — Oscar's attention to customer service, great food in the restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLM1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamphire, England
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We'd booked 5 nights at Sa Rascassa after reading a review in the Sunday Times about it and it's local beach. However, with hindsight we should have known that it would not have been for us as we usually stay in 5* hotels. However...

Sa Rascassa is really a restaurant with 5 rooms above. Each room has its own en suite and twin beds. They are very, very, very simply decorated and furnished, but everything works and they're kept clean. The rooms all share a terrace which is sparsely furnished with wooden chairs and tables - so not a lot of comfort for lounging around. It's rated 2*, which is probably about right, but at Euros 100 per night, I don't think it offers value.

On the plus side, Oscar, the owner, is extremely nice and unbelievably helpful, and speaks perfect English. The food in the restaurant is superb - this would give city restaurants a run for their money. Everything is fresh that day and cooked to perfection. There's nothing fancy or posh, just excellent ingredients cooked exceptionally well and simply.

40 metres away is Aiguafreda Bay. Oscar also runs a beach bar there which does drinks, ice creams and simple fare. There is no beach - not sand, nor rocks - the bay is for divers and boats, so it's paved and concreted - although you do see people sitting out. From the bay is a lovely coastal walk which leads to other bays.

Aiguafreda is about 5-10 minutes drive from the local town of Begur. It is really remote and without a car you'd be stranded (although I dare say Oscar could arrange taxis for you). It's also really hilly, so a stroll into town would be 1. dangerous (fast drivers) and 2. challenging (steep hills, hot sun!).

I would recommend this if you like diving (there's a diving centre right next door to Sa Rascassa). For small children there are too many dangerous places to climb and fall. If you love food and don't ming slumming it a bit - then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Fabulous food and friendly owner
  • Disliked — Not one luxury in sight!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

This small hostel has been full most of the summer from people who read about 'Best Secret Beaches' in the Sunday Times - hence lots of Brits. We came from a 5 star hotel to the hostel but we had prepared ourselves to have no expectations as we knew it would be basic. The good news is that the chap who runs the place is really nice and extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was better here than in the five star hotel we had just come from and the food in the restaurant is very good and a lovely setting at night. However, the accommodation is VERY basic although kept very clean. There were chairs to sit out on but no lighting at night prevented it's use. We had possibly the worst rooms (4 and 5) which were located over the kitchen so were noisy with the usual clatterling in a kitchen and as someone else has stated in another review, no air con and impossible to leave windows open due to the noise in the restaurant. Also, the extractor chimney from the kitchen made outside our rooms smell of chip fat when they were cooking which was even more reason to move inside and shut the windows. The actual beach is not at all the best in the area - hardly a beach at all but there was lovely walks to Sa Tuna and Sa Riera is really much nicer with a big sandy beach. So, in summary - do go to the restaurant and be prepared for basic accomm if you stay over.

  • Liked — Restaurant and being in the Cap de Begur region
  • Disliked — Smell of chip fat, noisy rooms and ants!
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We booked the Sa Rascassa after seeing it in Alistair Sawdays Great Places to Stay.......unfortunately it turned out not to be. Their website had indicated that the rooms were air conditioned when they weren't. I must stress here that it was not the Sa Rascassa's website that had indicated this.This then created a knock on effect, whereby in mid July it was essential to open the windows at night to let cool air in. The windows opened over the restaurant from which some noise came, but far worse came from the dive school next door, particularly when they had a night dive followed by a party that went on until 2AM. Now beside the Sa Rascassa is a boat ramp which people on weekends start to use from about 5AM onwards, so sleep was not terribly relaxing. After 2 nights here we simply had to move elsewhere in order to get some sleep. Now as a hostal we weren't expecting a parador, but we did expect a peaceful sleep.This was unfortunate as Oscar ,as other reviewers have written, is a fantastic guy and his staff are superb as is the food in the restaurant. It was really tough to tell him that we wanted to leave and we did explain that it wasn't his website that had given us the misleading information about the aircon. If you are into diving then this place would be ideal and I would certainly reccommend visiting for a meal if you are in the area, but for a family, it just didn't do it for us. Another issue, which Oscar readilly accepts, is parking. On busy July weekends, it is sometimetimes difficult to get parking nearby as you have to share with everyone else trying to get to the water. This was to be the final port of call on a 2 week trip that also included Grupotel Gravina, Barcelona; Rural Hotel Uson, Hecho Valley Aragon; Can Cuadros Palouet Catalunya & Bliss Hotel Begur, Costa Brava..all of which I have also reviewed

  • Liked — food and staff
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We stayed for 5 nights in early June. The hotel is really a very good restaurant with 5 rooms. The rooms are basic but clean and are really quite adequate. There is a patio to sit out on before of after the meal, but apart from that there are no public rooms. Excellent food and a charming proprietor, Oscar, who will talk to you all night!
The area and setting is beautiful, better than expected and it remided me of Majorca with the honey coloured stone buildings.
However, I understand it get s busy in July/August.
We went to the Dali exhibition one day, which was excellent.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Basic rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mature married couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
390 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
550 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Sa Tuna
Hostal Sa Tuna
#14 of 14 in Begur
111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parador de Aiguablava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sa Rascassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sa Rascassa

Property: Hostal Sa Rascassa
Address: Cala d'Aiguafreda, 3, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Begur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five twin rooms: with bathroom, heating and TV; and no telephone! mediterranean cuisine restaurant. Under the pine trees, by the sea shore, at Cala d'Aiguafreda. No bars or discos within 2,5 miles; and plenty just at 3. Cosy atmosphere. Open from March to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Sa Rascassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sa Rascassa Hotel Begur
Hostal Sa Rascassa Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing