We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectionist”
Review of Hostal Sa Rascassa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Sa Rascassa
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Boston Spa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfectionist”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed two nights, eating in the restaurant both nights. The owner showed exceptional cMust be even better in warm weather!oncern that everything should be just right and it showed in the range and the quality of presentation of the food. It is hardly surprising therefore that the bedrooms should display the same attention to detail; immaculate decoration and very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Terrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    20
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We just loved our 2 nights at Sa Rascassa in September. Tucked at the bottom of a windy road, a stones throw from a pretty cove. All the rooms are small but nicely and simply decorated with surprising cupboard space and very clean unfussy shower room. A really nice touch is a beach basket with beach towels are provided for your stay. We had dinner under twinkling lights strung through the trees and it was simple but delicious food. The place is run by Oscar, who with just one assistant managed to look after a full house in very good time, in the correct order and with a smile on his face! We loved it so much we also had lunch there and had to drag ourselves out on the second night as we really thought we ought to explore as we only had two days! Reluctantly though! You need not drive during your stay as a few hundred yards to the left is another restaurant with a wonderful terrace overlooking the see and a 10 minute walk to the right is the lovely bay Sa Tuna - with several delicous restaurants to chose from - Oscar will lend you a torch to navigate the path after dark! Absolute heaven.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterPug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We like quiet, small, personable places in hidden pockets with great food. For us this place was just right. Tucked in a cove a few steps from the water, A pathway to other coves, privacy yet amazing people on hand if needed.
Sept is a good time, the weather is still good and the crowds are gone.
We hope to return to this little gem.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights in September. The restaurant is truly delicious, with great wines and a wide array of quality meat and seafood dishes. We came with the intention of eating somewhere else one of the nights but we couldn't justify leaving this stunning restaurant. The rooms are well equipped and clean and the showers are top quality. This is a fantastic place to base yourself to explore miles of unspoilt coastline. We spent our afternoons in Sa Tuna, which is an utterly delightful cove just a few minutes walk from Hostal Sa Rascassa. My favourite time of day however was probably sitting out before dinner on the terrace, reading books under the fairy lights. Oscar (the owner) will welcome you to this place, and by the end you'll wish you were staying for longer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosadoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have not yet stayed at Sa Rascassa but this review is about my interaction with its ownership. Based on reviews here and elsewhere about its simplicity, comfort, service and environment, I was very excited to include Sa Rascassa for one day on a trip my husband and I are taking in October 2012. I corresponded with Oscar, the owner, to book a room for a Monday night, the only night we could stay there. He told me there was availability but that their restaurant is closed on Mondays in October, and that he wanted to be forthright so that I could have the experience I'm looking for. I was fairly persistent in wanting to book anyway, figuring we could always find a restaurant somewhere in the area, but he was graciously very straightforward about the likelihood of finding something we'd like (and I know it's very dark at night in that remote area), mentioning that some restaurants might decide to close on a whim and that we might be left disappointed.

I finally decided against booking a night there. I think Oscar's behavior is the epitome of service... serving my best interests over his own material gain. Let me tell you, the next time we visit Baix Emporda, it will not be on a Monday or in October!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ani7011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hostal Sa Rascassa was all it claimed to be and we enjoyed 5 relaxing days there with our family during Easter 2012. Stunning location, cosy bedrooms with comfortable beds, crisp linen and towels. Breakfast extended to 11 am so no rush to get up in the mornings; dinner in the restaurant was excellent and reasonable priced. Oscar and his team were always friendly and attentive. We haven't enjoyed a holiday so much in years, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KH3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Sa Rascassa is located at a small quiet bay with clean & comfortable rooms; in the bathroom you can choose between a regular or a rain shower. Furthermore they also supply large beach towels (including a carrying bag) that you can use. In front of the rooms there is deck with a table & chairs for each room and also some benches with a great view of the bay.

We also had dinner and the terrace is just great; tables set under the trees with small lights giving it a special atmosphere in the evening. The food was very good and fresh (that also counts for the breakfast we were served in the morning).

And most important: Oscar is the perfect host!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunbergia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
419 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
565 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Sa Tuna
Hostal Sa Tuna
#14 of 14 in Begur
115 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parador de Aiguablava
1.2 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sa Rascassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sa Rascassa

Property: Hostal Sa Rascassa
Address: Cala d'Aiguafreda, 3, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Begur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five twin rooms: with bathroom, heating and TV; and no telephone! mediterranean cuisine restaurant. Under the pine trees, by the sea shore, at Cala d'Aiguafreda. No bars or discos within 2,5 miles; and plenty just at 3. Cosy atmosphere. Open from March to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Sa Rascassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sa Rascassa Hotel Begur
Hostal Sa Rascassa Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing