We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If we could give Aiguaclara 6 stars, we would.”
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If we could give Aiguaclara 6 stars, we would.”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Strange as this may sound, we felt more "at home" at Aiguaclara than we do here in New York, and often wondered about the formula for this bizarre, almost cognitively dissonant experience. How can one be so far away from home, and yet so close to it?

Our hosts, Clara and Joan, surely held the much-coveted patent for it. Perhaps it was the kiss on the cheek with which Clara greeted us upon arrival. Or maybe it was the beautifully restored old mansion with a gorgeous restaurant right inside its tented garden. It could have been our room with a view, a rain shower, and a bed so comfortable we couldn't get out of it all morning. Or perhaps it was the countless suitcases that graced in the Almodovar-inspired lobby, each of which surely had a story to tell of a trip somewhere far, far away. Surely the food at the restaurant had something to do with it - the fish was absolutely divine.

Regardless of the exact ingredients that made the Aiguaclara formula so uniquely successful, we felt as though Clara and Joan gave a whole new meaning to the word "charming." Decorated with quirky artwork and mismatched furniture, Aiguaclara was as unique, special, and adorable as the couple who runs it. No other hotel on our trip came even close to it, and they were almost all fantastic hotels.

The morning of our departure, we couldn't leave right away. Instead, we stayed on their terrace sipping freshly squeezed orange juice and playing chess till noon. It was the best morning of our entire vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palachinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    143
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
244
756
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Very attractive B&B with beautifully restored and decorated rooms and tasty meal available most evenings. On our first night a couple of local restaurants were suggested for us by Clara and we were delighted with our choice. The second night we were joined, in Aiguaclara, by our daughter and her boyfriend (who are living nearby) for dinner which was delicious.
The honesty bars - one in the little library/reading room and the other downstairs in a real chill -out area with a charming patio - are a lovely idea. Our room was airy and light with an exceptionally comfortable bed and the shower was a real pleasure.
We were warmly welcomed by Clara who guided us to the adjacent car park before bringing us into the hotel. The roads in Begur are quite steep and we had some small adventures over the couple of days going to and from the town. Beautiful scenery all over the area.
I would imagine it would be a really lovely romantic break for a young couple as the hosts are welcoming to everyone and "Love is in the Air" is their motto.
P.S. The only reason I would not give this hotel full marks is that I found that while the welcome was very friendly and warm it was a bit too overpowering, from strangers, for us when we were on a first visit - but that could be because we are not quite so effusive by nature.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barcardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

A delightful old mansion house transformed into a unique B&B. Joan and Clara were extremely helpful and welcoming. Bed comfortable, room was spacious and filled with light, with superb views. We ate at the hotel's restaurant once, but it was only fair. Fortunately, Begur and the surrounding area have many excellent places to dine. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Just home from another relaxing weekend in the beautiful Aiguaclara in the delightful village of Begur. As always Joan and Clara were the perfect hosts and we were warmly welcomed by them and their excellent staff.
The hotel is beautifully furnished in an eclectic and interesting style, the rooms are individually styled and supremely comfortable. Breakfast is a feast of local cheeses, jamon, fruit and Joan's excellent chocolate cake - delicious and a good reason to drag yourself out of bed in the mornings!
If you are travelling around the Costa Brava don't miss this amazing hotel.
Fantastico!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This is a small beautiful bed and breakfast in an amazing location. The staff is very friendly and treated us like family. Breakfast included fruit, bread, pastry, meats, cheeses, cereal, etc. The room was lovely, spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was large with a strong shower. Begur is a great little town with good restaurants and stores. It is located just minutes from a half dozen of the most beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frindin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Aiguaclara for 2 days, and wished we could stay for more.
the Hotel is designed in a magical way that makes you feel you like a dream.
it is very romantic, the rooms are big and well designed, breakfast is good
there is a free Wifi in all the hotel
the beaches near by (15 min drive) are beautiful.
and above all, Clara and John who are one of the nieces people you will ever meet.
and assist you in any way possible.


I will gladly advise to anyone if needed by mail
liormalka9@gmail.com

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mino_Malka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We loved our stay at the Aiguaclara with our hosts, Joan and Clara. They are exceedingly generous and could not have been more kind of helpful. They had a sincere interest in our satisifaction, not only with our accomodations, but also in our overall stay. They guided us to restaurants, sites and beaches. When it rained, they suggested activities for our teen sons. They are a warm and hospitable couple. It is the perfect stay/get away from Spain's busier metroploitan areas.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean093093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
531 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
775 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
364 reviews
11.0 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Property: Aiguaclara Hotel
Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing