We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Start to Our Honeymoon”
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2009

My husband and I began our honeymoon in Begur at the Aiguaclara Hotel. The hotel is beautiful and a lot more charming than all of the other hotels that we stayed at in Spain. Our room had a towering ceiling and nice, tall windows to let the breeze in. The bathroom was spacious and very nice, too. Clara gave us great recommendations for nearby beaches and restaurants in Begur. Breakfast was convenient and delicious. We were a little nervous that we had to park our car in a dirt lot away from the hotel, but it was secure. There are a lot of relaxing common spaces in the hotel to take advantage of, too! Very good deal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkrispinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2009

We spent a week at Aiguaclara at the end of August 2009. This was our first visit to the hotel, but we have been to Begur before and loved it so much that we decided to return. If you are looking for a base to explore the beaches around Cap Begur and still be in an atmospheric village in the evenings, Begur is the best place to choose for your base. And Aiguaclara is the loveliest of all local hotels on offer. More a guesthouse than a hotel, it is beautifully decorated and has a familiar feeling about it, you immediately feel welcome and relaxed. Clara and Joan are delightful, always smiling and happy to help out their guests. The rooms all have high ceilings and individual furniture, they are kept very clean and the bathrooms have modern fixtures, with rain showers. Rooms at the front may get more noise from a nearby church which chimes every hour even during the night, but I would say that if this does not bother you those rooms have a nicer view and more light (e.g. room 8). The communal areas are spacious and full of inviting spots to linger in. There is a huge DVD and book library, a wonderful restaurant, free internet, charming lounge and patio. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, with lots of fresh fruit. Joan served excellent coffee too. It is hard to fault the place. One can see how much effort and love Clara and Joan poured into every detail and how much they care about their guests. Let us hope they do not change anything!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaiaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We have stayed at the Aiguaclara Hotel for our family holiday for now 3 years running. We love the place. Clara and Joan are wonderful hosts and make sure that your stay is special. The rooms are very comfortable and i love the high ceilings. The breakfast area is very relaxing and the spread of food is delicious. At night it turns into a wonderful tapas area. I have 2 small children 1 and 3 years old and the staff were always very helpful.
Enjoy your stay at Aiguaclara!
Suzanne & David

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We thought we'd finally landed in heaven and we had. Aigua Clara had a gorgeous welcoming lounge, beautiful rooms in an amazing old funky renovated villa, AND they seemed like such nice people... A dream! Unfortunately, on day 2 of our stay, we returned from the beach to our room to find that nothing of ours was left in our room. All of our belongings had been packed up, and 3 new bags that weren't ours were there instead. Somehow, they misunderstood that we wanted to stay for one night instead of two, took us for true sauvage animals, and packed up our bags! We felt violated, disappointed and to top it off, my boyfriend was going to propose to me that night! We were left with such a bad taste in our mouths, we could not bear staying in what we thought was idyllic Begur, even though they had the nerve to say that there were vacancies elsewhere in the town. It was a really unprofessional, beyond impolite move on their part. When we told people about our experience they could not believe their ears. It was clear that the hotel owners had got a better deal (full price) from the other guests who they let in (we had a last minute deal). The right thing to do would have been to tell the other people they have to leave and put THEM in the other hotel! It was a gorgeous place that turned sour. They gave us the room for 50% off but that wasn't worth the price of us having to roam the coast of Spain trying to find some other town to stay in as we tried to calm ourselves down from such a sour experience! In North America, is it absolutely illegal to kick someone out of their room!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rougerouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Aiguaclara is the lovechild of Joan and Clara, a very special place run by two very special people. Their welcome is genuine and friendly and the atmosphere supremely relaxed and inviting. Tasteful decoration benefits from Clara's frequent visits to the markets and Joan taught us to cook tortilla. Whilst they probably most regularly have couples as guests, we were there as two families and they were brilliant with all our children, including dancing to Mama Mia, Dancing Queen and Eye of the Tiger. The guests honesty bar was a particular favourite. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckydadoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I agree with all the reviews regarding the owners of the Aiguaclara. Joan and Clara were very delightful and most helpful upon arrival. We arrived for a two day stay on Sunday and unfortuntely the Aiguaclara Restaurant was closed on Sunday and Monday, so I can not comment about the food at the restaurant, except for the breakfast which was quite good. I can, however, comment on the rooms and the noise. We stayed in the Junior Suite Begur, which was on the 3rd floor. My husband and I were unable to sleep all night because of the proximity of the hotel to the bell tower. Apparently this is not unusual, but the tower bells rang every 15 mintues all night long which we were not accustomed to. That along with the noise from the street from the passing vehicles, the garbage collector, etc. made for a very miserable night with absolutely no sleep. We checked after the first night and moved down the coast to the Hotel Aiguablava (absolutely beautiful).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkhtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Arriving at Aiguaclara is one of those perfect travel moments when you arrive at a hotel and instantly feel welcome and comfortable. The decoration is stylish with wonderful collections of art and "things" ranging from old soda bottles to old typewriters (some of the younger members of our group did not know what these were...). The hotel itself is an old "Indianos" house - meaning it is of a Cuban style. There are close connections between the town of Begur and Cuba, which result in one of the best festivals I have been to - a weekend of Mojito's, Cuban food, and a whole lot of Cuban dancing. The town is decorated with palm trees and given a complete Cuban makeover. Everyone wears white. It is really a very special weekend if you can plan to be there. The Aiguaclara hosted a Cuban party one night and once again it felt like I was in someone's home rather than a hotel. The owners, Joan and Clara, are quite simply very special people who are happy to do anything for their guests, including drinking and dancing with you as required! Go to Begur (great town), stay in Aiguaclara (great hotel) and have fun.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HulaKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#7 of 14 in Begur
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
211 reviews
15.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $113 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing