We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character”
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2009

This is a quirky hotel, full of character and very unusual. The owners welcome you like old friends and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Showing us round on our arrival, Clara presented us with lots of local information and recommended places to eat and visit, all of which turned out to be very reliable. We had a room on the top floor, simply but tastefully furnished with wonderful views of the castle and out to sea. The en suite bathroom was well-equipped, the towels were snowy white and fluffy, and the shower was roomy with very hot water. The hotel itself is a very old building, which the owners have renovated in their own quirky but very pleasing style. There are lounges where you can listen to CDs, read or help yourself from the honesty bar, and there is free internet connection. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of fresh produce (including homemade preserves and cakes), and we had a delicious evening meal in the restaurant one evening. Only one evening, because there are so many excellent restaurants to tempt you in Begur itself, all of which are only a short walk away. Although there is no beach within comfortable walking distance, there are several that are only a short car journey away, secluded little coves with some wonderful restaurants serving the best seafood you could imagine. If you are tired of bland uniform hotels, you won't be disappointed with the Aiguaclara - it's unique! We had a lovely holiday and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2009

The hotel is situated in a beautiful old house but what makes it extra special is the attention to detail of the owners. It rained one day while I was there but there were plenty of books and dvds provided to while away the hours. Begur is a lovely village close to Girona airport and is a great base for exploring the costa brava. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aingealpcsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Joan and Clara were super hosts and made us feel very welcome. They recommended places to visit and eat in. Our room was lovely but the various communal rooms were fantastic to relax in before dinner. Tried out the restaurant too and the food was wonderful. We had a lovely weekend...thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

After a couple of days of exciting Barcelona, we decided to take a couple of days off by the beach. We found Aiguaclara and it is a wonderful place: An old house, personally rebuilt and refurbished by the owners. Once arrived, one feels like visiting old friends. The rooms are charming and romantic, and even if the weather is not as sunny as expected, there is lot's to do - not only in the great area around Begur but also @ Aiguaclara - there are nice rooms and lounges to sit and read and every room is equiped with a DVD player. There were lots of interesting DVDs to look at - and it seems, they are great fans of Woody Allen movies...

All in all very recomendable experience!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamburgMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Aiguaclara Hotel owners/hosts Juan and Clara truly go out of their way to make guests feel at home. They've lovingly restored and artfully decorated a 19th house -- Begur's grandest. The tone is quintessentially casual chic, tranquil and warm with lots of comfortable places to hang out and relax -- an honor bar, CDs, DVDs, books and magazines. They serve a delicious buffet breakfast every morning with lots of choices -- fruit, breads, pastries, cheese, meats, cereals -- and they operate the best restaurant in the village for dinner (Juan cooks and Clara hosts). Because we were there with our two children off season, we not only had the run of the hotel but we were among the only tourists visiting the Costa Brava. While it's not yet swimming weather, days in mid-March are sunny and warm and early spring flowers are in bloom. Juan and Clara offered perfect daily itineraries with visits to nearby towns, coastal walks and restaurants. All in all, an idyllic experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We were staying in a villa in Calonge and visited Begur for the day. We loved the town so much, we decided to go back there and spend the night so we could have a night on the town - I'm so glad we did otherwise we would never have found Aiguaclara.

Firstly the hotels is so easy to drive to and has parking just across the road. Clara met us at the door and even though our room was still being made up, she made sure we had the keys in order that when we came back to the hotel we could go straight to the room. Clara then showed us around the hotel. I love the room right at the bottom of the hotel where you can sit in a comfy corner reading a book, listening to one of the many CDs and having a drink from one of the two honesty bars. This room overlooks a great little courtyard - when we were there it was a rainy & windy March day, which made this corner of the hotel even more cosy and inviting.

Clara and all the rest of the team are all so friendly and welcoming, they invite you to treat the hotel as your home. There are several nooks and crannies that you can investigate and there are many DVDs, books & Newspapers at your disposal. There is also free access to the internet and WIFI if you decide to take your own laptop.

We stayed in a Junior Suite (no 3). The rooms are beautifully decorated, quite sumptuous and the original floor tiles are stunning. Our room had a full length terrace & the bathroom was large and had great fixtures and fittings.

The hotel mixes modern and original effortlessly and it is a space where you can be alone or mix with other guests as the mood takes you. I loved it here and wished that we had the opportunity to spend more than one night.

Aiguaclara also has a restaurant (and Tapas bar in the village centre) and although we did not eat at either the menu selection looked good and the food certainly looked very good.

Breakfast if a buffet affair with freshly squeezed juice, tea and coffee of your choice and good choice of cereal, pastries, cheese, meats, fruit etc.

Begur itself is a wonderful village with great restaurants, bars and a small selection of interesting boutiques. The walk to the castle ruin can be quite steep at times, but is certainly worth the effort for the views.

We ate at Fonda Caner where the food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful

Overall this was the best part of our week in Spain. I would love to come back to Begur and hotel Aguiaclara.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasperfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

My family spent 4 glorious days at this gorgeous hotel and loved every minute of it. Innkeepers Joan and Clara made us feel entirely at home, provided terrific suggestions of unspoiled local villages and hikes, great restaurants (including their own which is excellent) -- and really treated us like family. I loved our 3rd floor room with high windows, shutters, views of the castle and glimpses of surrounding countryside. Begur itself makes a good base for exploring Costa Brava, towns and beaches, though the town itself was a bit disappointing -- not much going on, at least in the off-season. Still it was always a pleasure to come back to Aiguaclara and live like grandees from days gone by. Hats off to Joan and Clara for kindness and expert hosting.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bornwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
728 reviews
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $98 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing