We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in October 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in October 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Thank you Clara i Joan for a wonderful 2 night stay with you in October 2013. Your hotel is beautiful, the breakfasts and dinner with you were superb and your welcome could not have been more warm. We hope to visit you again one day.

Love,
Mark, Soraya and Alex

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    141
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
243
749
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wonderful hosts, lovely rooms uniquely decorated and a nice restaurant where we enjoyed the food very much. My husband was ill and Clara & Joan, our hosts, were very kind. We are looking forward to returning one day when we both are well and able to enjoy more of the beautiful scenery definitely. this is a very beautiful and a must stay in Spain!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpeabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We are living in New Zealand and decided to visit Spain. One of our destinations was Begur, recommended by a friend. We googled the Aiguaclara and immediately booked. We got a train from Barcelona to Girona, then hired a car from there (with gps). When we arrived Joan was fantastic, made us very welcome, and gave us the best recommendations to eat and visit. All were perfect, and made our stay brilliant. The rooms were very comfortable and the view from our room, looking up at the castle was breathtaking (especially at night). October was a great month to visit as no queues and the weather warm. I would definately recommend booking the Aiguaclara and enjoying Joan and Claras hospitality... Many thanks, Michelle

Room Tip: Not on the main road are quiet and views brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1che11e2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

It's been absolutely great. Vielen Dank an Clara und Joan für die herzliche (und doch sehr diskrete) Gastlichkeit. Wir haben uns total wohlgefühlt. We are already looking forward to returning to this magical place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfWa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had a wonderful visit to Begur, largely due to the graciousness of our hosts, Clara, Joan and Erica at the Aiguaclara hotel. Our room was large, with a very comfortable bed and windows opening onto a wonderful view of the castle
and overlooking a terrace. We were given maps and excellent advice on local hikes. We enjoyed a very good dinner at the hotel followed by an entrancing flamenco show. We felt like we were amongst friends. A thoroughly enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenescholten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We came to Barcelona for a wedding and spent an extra four days at the hotel Aiguaclara in Begur. I immediately took to Joan the proprietor. He couldn't have been more helpful and courteous.
The hotel was built as a townhouse by a local who had returned after making his fortune in Cuba in 1854. It has old tiled floors, high ceilings and doors you could ride through on horseback with traditional keys on a China key fob - rather than a credit card . The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a decidedly Edwardian feel to them: in fact it was almost as though it hadn’t changed since the days of The Grand Tour. I felt the staff hadn’t changed much either, they were so very friendly and helpful, although they told me they had only been there ten years. The whole place was pervaded with an air of comfort and relaxation; just what we were looking for in fact. On Friday evenings during dinner they have a DJ who plays tracks from 1970s vinyl records he inherited from his father, which was precisely my taste in music.It made such a very pleasant change from a four-star American chain hotel!

Room Tip: Our room had a large terrace. Probably more expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in this very grand old colonial type building which has an amazing staircase and wonderfully high ceilings. The interior is furnished vintage style with lots of quirky bits and pieces everywhere you look. Our room was almost like a suite with a bedroom enclosed by very tall french glass windows and a seating area with french doors that opened out onto a lovely terrace overlooking the castle. The bathroom was small but had an excellent shower with plenty of very hot water. Clean towels were provided everyday if you required and the sheets were changed everyday. Beach towels also provided which was really useful as we didn't take any! The one and only reason why I didn't give the full 5 stars was the bed, the mattress was quite lumpy and after 3 nights my back was aching quite badly.

Joan and Clara are very charming, welcoming and went out of their way in giving us routes for long walks to discover some amazing beaches and booking us restaurants in the village.

Breakfast in the morning from 9-11 was buffet style with a huge choice and lovely orange juice and espresso coffee. We ate in their restaurant two nights of our stay. The first night there was a live flamenco show and the second night a vinly DJ night playing some old classics. Great to have entertainment whilst dining!

All in all a very homely type run hotel in an amazing building and I would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: Room No. 4 has an amazing terrace overlooking the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
11.0 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Property: Aiguaclara Hotel
Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 Best Value Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing