We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel made of love!”
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

First of all, thank you Trip Advisor for pointing me toward this great hotel. I don't even think it's fair to call it a hotel, because "hotel" implies something less than what you experience here. I think that "Inn" or "Bed and Breakfast" may be more befitting to this experience (though B&B's are often frumpy like someone's grandmother's house which this definitely is not...). Throughout the "Inn" are the words "fet amb love" which translates to "made with love" which is definitely evident as you visit the different rooms...you will find awesome collections of old luggage, cameras, typewriters, globes and other things that conjure up images of a better / simpler time and place which is something I find very appealing given that my normal life is spent drowning in technology and all things modern!

The food is great - both breakfast (included) and dinner (not included, but reasonable) - the pumpkin ravioli is to die for! They also have a DJ who plays on some nights spinning an eclectic mix of old-school vinyl, which is perfectly fitting and 'fet amb 'love.'

As for the rooms, my wife and I stayed in room 9 for 3 nights and room 4 for 1 night (we had a last-minute change of plans which is why we had to change rooms). They were both nice, but room 9 is a Jr. Suite and is therefore more spacious...though room 4 has a great little balcony with a nice view of the town. As others have mentioned the walls are a little thin - that's the nature of this old building and know that going in...it didn't bother my wife and I despite the fact that there were children next door; I highly recommend installing a noise making app on your phone (I use "Relax Melodies") which is invaluable when traveling, especially when your wife is a lite / sensitive sleeper. :)

One thing to note is that there is no elevator, and if you packed a large, heavy suitcase for a 2+ week trip as my wife and I did, note that staying on the third floor is going to mean quite an exhausting schlep to your room...twice in my case. This was the really the only less-than-positive experience here.

As for the town itself, it's a small medieval village with tons of charm and a good amount of restaurants and shops without feeling overly touristy. This is one of those places that you hope doesn't get too popular so as not to spoil it! It's worth pointing out that the hotel is not on the beach - you can take a nice 45 minute hike to get a beach, or you can drive ~10-15 minutes to get to a number of great beaches. For those of you looking for a relaxing beach holiday on Costa Brava, you can definitely get that here even though you are not right on the beach...my wife and I had a relaxing day on the beach at Augabrava and were happy to be able to spend the evening in an area removed from the beach that was both lively and charming.

Lastly, Joan i Clara are both very warm and welcoming, but very clearly focused on the task of delivering a great experience. It's inspiring to see a couple who moved from working for someone else in the "big city" (Barcelona) to pursue their dream of building a hotel of their own in Begur. Best wishes to them and long live Aiguaclara!

Room Tip: Room 9 is a Jr. Suite which is nice and spacious. Room 4 has a front-facing balcony - not a Jr. Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Best hotel ever. It is not just a stay, it is a wonderful experience.
The hotel, a colonial villa, is beautiful and you are made to feel at home instantly by a lovely couple Clara and Joan and their friendly and helpful staff.
The hotel's motto: 'fet am love'(made with love) proves itself right in every aspect. The welcoming and original ambiance, the restaurant with delicious local and international dishes and fantastic music to maximise the atmosphere. They even have a DJ coming at certain evenings who treats you to a wide range of genres.
The location of the hotel is perfect, only a minutes walk from the town square where you will find numerous restaurants and boutiques in small alley ways. There are beautiful beaches within a short distance, easy to reach by car or public transport.
We loved staying at Aiguaclara and will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked 2 rooms at the Aiguaclara Hotel for 5 nights, however we checked out after 4 as the weather was miserable - this was a real shame. I am sure we would have enjoyed our holiday hugely if we had been able to go to he beach, however, due to the weather, we spent most of our holiday driving around in thunder, lightning and torrential rain trying (and failing) to find something to do.

The rooms were beautifully decorated each with an individual style, and all with large opening French doors with views looking onto the town of Begur or the mountains.

The staff were delightful, very cheerful and always willing to help. However they weren't always around. But came quickly to help if you called their mobiles.

The restaurant was also very tastefully decorated with retro furniture and fairy lights. It had great dinner menu that had something for everyone. And the breakfast buffet had everything - from chocolate brownies and melon, to cheeses and salamis.

The only issue was the noise from other rooms. As it is a hotel that welcomes all ages, both of our rooms ( that were on different floors) were hugely disturbed by noisy crying from babies and toddlers.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a fabulous rain shower and is beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Aiguaclara Hotel. It is without doubt the most welcoming and friendly hotel we have stayed in. Joan and Clara go out of their way to help in every way possible. The atmosphere is unique with its mish mash of trinkets and baubles. Breakfast superb and evening meals excellent and good value. Make sure you book early or you will be disappointed. A gem on the Costa Brave

Room Tip: Room 3 and 4 have superb terraces not sure about others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is not so much staying in a hotel, more like sharing somebodys home. Its absolutely beautiful! The decor of rooms, restaurant and hallways is spectacular. Breakfast is great with a small but fantastic selection of meats, bread, fruit, cake and cereal. If you get chance try the hotel restaurant, this was the nicest meal and the best price of our entire trip. This all topped off with fantastic friendly and personal service making this a must if staying in the area. We would love to come back and pay another visit.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 10 days - loved it.
If you want a very friendly relaxed holiday in a real Spanish Hotel that is a little bit different and original in the very best of ways, then book now or face disappointment . The owners have a very personal touch that immediately makes you feel at ease and welcome - nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant serves excellent food has a great atmosphere with excellent background music.
The Hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy the picturesque town center of Begur - again real Spain with Bars and plenty of quality small shops to satisfy all of the family. Beaches are clean and set in small beautiful coves - great for swimming and within a short distance. Yep it really was a good holiday - we will be back - John & Sally K

    • Value
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in August 2013, having selected the hotel after positive TripAdvisor reviews. The location is perect - less than one minute from the main Begur square. We booked just a few weeks before and were in room 1, which I suspect is the least good room - the room is next to reception and quite small! (also, the room has a very unusual wooden covering to its shower-floor, which seems to smell a little of, erm, damp wood).
Overall the hotel is very on-trend (e.g. intriguingly there was a DJ during Friday night dinner!) and there's much 'Love is all around/Love is all you need'-type memorabilia hanging on the walls (some of which could come across to the cynic as a little 'TX Maxx').
Breakfast was excellent, with apparently fresh orange juice (for example), although one tiny oddity was that if you wanted milk with your breakfast cereal (surely a necessity?) you have to ask for it to be hand-delivered.
There are two honesty bars (one next to reception and one downstairs), with loads of good booze and pop on offer. Excellent!
Overall, the Aiguaclara is super and lovely, and a credit to the super-friendly owners (expect a double-kiss upon arrival).
I'd suggest it's probably not a place for pensioners or anyone who's just had a romantic break-up (given that 'loved-up' memorabelia everywhere), but for youngish couples, book now, it's brilliant! Cheers!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReviewingHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
617 reviews
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
771 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 Best Value Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $114 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing