We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique hotel!”
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely hotel with character, very nice decoration and excellent location in the centre of Begur, worths a visit!Clara and Joan are very kind and helpful, the village is wonderful and the nearby beaches very nice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Thank you so much for an awesome time, only had chance to stay for 2 nights and regret not being able to stay longer, the family really are lovely and they have achieved everything that they intended by making a home away from home, but they make better food :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had four nights at Aiguaclara and enjoyed the whole experience. Wonderfully helpful staff who helped arrange our outings. We loved the stylish decorative touches and the beauty of the the big bedrooms, and the view from our big balcony. We had supper in the restaurant twice which was delicious and the vinyl night was great fun. Clara and Joan have created a very special hotel which is laid-back and charming as well as very comfortable. We were a group of two families and we all had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I love hotels with a bit of character and Aguiclara has it by the sandy bucketload - it's full of interesting furniture and vintage finds - the rooms all have their own unique charm and its a lovely place to stay! Yes, reception is a bit eccentric and yes, breakfast is served a bit late for some (not for us) but it wins on the things that matter - fantastic food, a great eye for detail and great warmth and charm - it's a labour of love for its owners and that shines through!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We felt instantly relaxed and at ease staying at the Hotel Aiguaclara which was brought about by the warm hospitality of Clara and Joan and their staff as well as the beautiful decor. The friendliness of everyone was palpable and really puts guests at ease - we got the impression that Clara and Joan genuinely enjoy running this gem of a hotel. The decor has Cuban influences and themes of travel with a retro feel. It is unique in its style, clean and comfortable but still manages to have mod cons of staying in a hotel (hair-dryer and TV if you wish to use these items).
The food is good and it is well worth booking yourself into the Tuesday night evening which involves a DJ playing vinyl of stuff that you will know but can't quite place (and leaves you having to go and inspect the cover). There is nothing to fault this hotel and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is very rustic.. and a bit of a shock at first. There is never anyone at reception, breakfast only from 9am so not great for early starters. We had to go out of our way to pay – kept checking to see if someone at reception. I found the owners very standoff ish. Our bill was wrong they had added in few drinks and one from date we weren’t even there!! Our bill was wrong in pretty much every hotel and restaurant (and never to our favour!) so this was consistent. I would say this is a B&B and we treated it as such however, the price was our most expensive accommodation on the holiday. Begur is amazing town and I would recommend staying there however, I would find cheaper accommodation and just visit this hotel for a drink / food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 004Casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I think this is the 9th year I have stayed with Clara & Joan at Hotel Aiguaclara in Begur, Costa Brava. As always it was a great pleasure and I enjoyed the warm welcome from the hosts, and the eclectic atmosphere of the hotel. Aiguaclara is truly a "hidden gem" at the Costa Brava, and I cant wait to go back next year. Aiguaclara is instant feel-good!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaritElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#7 of 14 in Begur
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
211 reviews
15.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $113 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing