We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in Baix Empordà”
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Region is beautiful, both the inner part and the villages beside the sea! Nice to come between May and June. Not so hot and beautiful sightseeing with sunny days.

Nice to relax, stroll or bike.

Delicious Hotel, vintage ambient, familiar and friendly.

Differential: Clara i Joan were excellent and funny hosts

Best: Having a proper dinner (excellent relation quality&cost), drinks and dancing in their "DJ from the 80's night " !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corintio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived in Begur on a Saturday and stayed for three nights at the Hotel Aiguaclara. As my partner and I are not fantastic at speaking Catalan we were presently surprised when we were greeted by the most hospitable lady that spoke english as if it were her mother tongue (she is also fluent in many other languages,very talented!). The Hotel itself offers plenty of amenities , an honesty kitchen and bar with a selection of tea, coffee, soft drinks, alcohol and small. It also has a plenty of communial areas were you can socialise if you wish, there is a lounge with a selection of music , books and dvds, also to hand there were beach towels and other bits and pieces in order to execute a day or few at the beach! What is striking about the hotel other than the traditional Cuban style is wherever you look there is something different and special to look at, there is art on every wall which you can buy and the attention to detail is commendable.
You can feel that Clara and Joan have put their heart and soul into the building, using the hotels moto “Fet am Love” (made with love)to uniquely influence their décor plus Clara’s quirky hobbie of collecting old pieces, mixing it with a vintage chic retro style they really have created a marvellous setting.
The Hotel originally started out as a restaurant which took off very well, local people of Begur and others book up the restaurant very quickly as the food and company is so good!I recommend that you book the table located under the Heart! Unfortunately I didn’t personally get to sit there (it doesn’t matter as the whole room is beautiful ) but it seems to be a popular table . It would be perfect setting for a marriage proposal ! The menu was a mixture of tasty dishes and the food was delicious I ordered the monkfish special (10/10) and the mojito sorbet! Never had one before if I ever see it on a menu again I would definitely order it!! 10/10.
The residents eat breakfast in the restaurant in the morning between 0900 and 1100, there is a wide selection of chirozo and sausage, fruits, pastrys and breakfast puddings, the coffee is very good and the squeezed orange juice is a very refreshing start to the morning.
I could go on forever but will probably run out of room ! I just want to relay how fab the people and place was!
As we stayed in early April , one of the nights we stayed it was raining , Joan and Clara offered us their own clothes as we packed for sunnier whether! Nothing is too much bother !
You must have a little nosey in Clara’s vintage/antique shop whilst you are there too ! It has some really interesting items , If we had more baggage allowance my bags would have been full!!
We enjoyed ourselves so much we want to re visit Hotel Aiguaclara very soon !
If anybody has any questions about our stay then feel free to contact me direct!
Amy and Dean from England  xx

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy-Beth84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had no idea where we were going to stay. I really like historic buildings, as I spend most of my time restoring them, so I was really happy when I went through the doors of this hotel. The place was really authentic and you will not be disappointed. The service and warm welcome from the owners and staff really made a big difference. After 2 nights in the hotel, I would make these constructive criticisms of the hotel. They need to provide slippers to guests, as the stone/tiled floors are really too cold on the feet when its not baking hot outside and in April it's not. The hotel should also provide tissues to guests, as there were none in the room. Finally, whilst the place appeared clean, it was not really clean. For example there was quite a lot of dust under the basin in the bathroom. I also think the room price should have been 100 Euros per night and not 150 Euros, but since the place was full, I don't suppose they will change the prices. I make these points only so the hotel can do a better job, as I really liked the place and it should be at the top of anyone's list of places to stay in Begur.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The March weather (like in the rest of northern Europe) was rubbish, but we were more than happy to hang out in this hotel when we couldn't be outside. It would be even more perfect in the sun and summer, but it is the owners who take the hotel from a 'good' to an 'I-would-definitely-go-back-there' kind of place. Clara & Joan were just great. The hotel is a bit bohemian, with just enough mod cons, a good restaurant, and a very cozy and welcome feeling throughout. The coastline is also stunning, and we have already decided we'd like to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bathmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in March, it was a last minute change of plan and I can't state it strongly enough how happy we are with our choice. It's a small, cozy, charming home-like hotel in a perfect location. The rooms are big enough and the entire place radiates innocence and charm without compromising on basic hi-tech facilities. In short, it's a place with overflowing character that deserves its ranking here.
But to make it all work, you need good people. And the people here make it magical. Fluent in multiple languages, helpful to an embarrassing degree and so warm you won't feel January; they made our stay. No doubts what to suggest and where to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RastogiRishav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although we are certain that Hotel Aiguaclara would be wonderful in another world on a sunny day in high season, our visit was nothing short of enchanting.
After four busy days in Barcelona,we rented a car and drove north, detouring for the windy drive along the Costa Brava to reach our destination in the afternoon. The weather had been cloudy and the Mediterranean a bit tempestuous but the scenery still spectacular.
Reaching Begur, our trusty GPS took us straight into the heart of the village town to this colonial mansion turned hotel. Stepping through the door, you enter another world, unlike any hotel we have ever stayed in. Hotel Aiguaclara is filled with old antiques, bits and bobs, little kitschy corners here and there. The spaces are incredibly welcoming and communal so it is a good opportunity to interact with other travelers, should you wish to do so. Our room was incredible, cleverly lit, a cd music system with available music in the room and hotel library. A wonderful bathtub, which is sometimes hard to come by in Spain, and a great bed. We were able to fix ourselves a gin and tonic at the bar where tea, coffee, snacks and beverages are on the honor system-a great concept and makes you feel at home. Being low season and a weeknight, dining options were somewhat limited(the hotel has a good restaurant open at other times and the town, several restaurants). We chose a nearby cafe/bar with simple tapas, shared with another couple from the hotel, who we met and enjoyed. Other local patrons enjoyed the futbol game on television.
At breakfast the next morning, a wonderful buffet available and a greeting from Clara, the
owner, who welcomes you warmly, as if you were an old friend!
Simply put, this hotel was magic for us.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an available suite room and it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upperleftcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My companion and I traveled in the February off-season to Costa Brava and were pleased to find the Aiguaclara open and available. In my opinion, the overwhelmingly positive reviews of the Aiguaclara do not come close to capturing its magic and charm. We had the most amazing short stay of 1 night one could imagine and cannot wait to visit this wonderful boutique hotel again. The hotel is decorated in an incredibly unique and eclectic retro-style which we found pleasing, relaxing, and welcoming. The staff is highly professional and almost as charming as the hotel itself. As Costa Brava is sleepy in the off-season, we settled on dining at the hotel due to limited options in Begur, but were blown away with an amazing and reasonably priced meal at the Aiguaclara. Breakfast buffet int the morning was similarly delightful - far surpassing most European hotel buffets which I find lacking. Indoor and outdoor common areas are lovely, warm, and inviting. Above all, there is a beautiful spiritual energy that envelopes the Aiguaclara.

If you like big hotels with fitness centers and generic rooms that feel like they were made in the same sterile factory, then the Aiguaclara is not for you. For a romantic getaway, it is difficult to beat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#7 of 14 in Begur
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
211 reviews
15.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $113 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing