We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED it here. Chic and affordable”
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“LOVED it here. Chic and affordable”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I found this hotel on the i escape website and thought it looked very chic but in a relaxed way. Email communication direct with the hotel was super efficient and I booked a junior suite with a balcony (they did let me know it only got the sun till lunch time , which i thought was a nice touch)
Anyway, we stayed 4 nights at the end of May.
Everything about this hotel is wonderful. i LOVED the "shabby Chic" decor, the breakfast (whilst not extensive - but don't you just hate the waste of the usual overloaded hotel breakfast buffets?) was delicious as was the service. Clara was visting family when we stayed but we were looked after by Joan her husband and the lovely English manager (i am really sorry i have forgotten her name) she was super helpful with suggestions on things to do in the area and printed off some maps for us to help us get back to Barcelona.
We also had dinner in the hotel restraurant one night and I can honestly say it was the best meal of the trip (and the food in Begur is FABULOUS) you MUST eat here, they were turning people away all night.
The town of Begur is a small medieval village with some great restaurants, shops and some stunning scenery close by. We loved it here but we especially loved this hotel. So much so that we are considering if this is a possible place for our wedding (when we eventually get round to setting a date.)
Make no mistake, it's not 5 star uber luxe, but it's 5 star in service, food and friendlieness (is that a word?)
Parking is available too (if you pre book)
We will be back here for sure, loved this area of Spain and the Aiguaclara made it even more special.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    143
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
244
756
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at the Aiguaclara at the beginning of September. Joan and Clara were welcoming and friendly hosts. In fact it was like staying in someone's beautiful home. Clara's collection of memorbilia make the Aiguaclara delightful and unique. Clara has thought of everything to make her guests stay comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant on three occassions, the food was delicious and reasonably priced.Again Clara has worked her magic and created a wonderfully romantic place to dine in the evening.
We have visited Spain many times but had never been to the Costa Brava. It has a stunning coastline with beautiful coves such as Sa Tuna, Sa Riera & Tamariu. We visited the pretty medieval towns of Pals, Peratallada and Besalu.
Begur is a lovely town with an interesting history, full of narrow streets and beautiful houses.
We would definitely return to this area and there would be no better place to stay than the Aiguaclara. It really is a place "made with love" (fet amb love ).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon in Spain at Aiguaclara and it was a wonderful, memorable stay.

Begur is a medieval town some five-ten minutes upland from the beaches. As we later realized on our 10-day trip on the Costa Brava, there are some advantages to not being directly on the seashore, even after the summer tourist season has died down. The restaurants are more reasonably priced with better quality, there is a larger year-round population in town, and there were interesting shops to visit. Getting to the beach was easy because we had rented a car; without a car it would be more challenging.

The hotel's proprietors, Clara and Juon greeted us on arrival with kisses on both cheeks, as if we were staying with family friends. The hotel bears their unique touch in the decor, the common rooms, and the restaurant. The building itself is wonderfully proportioned -- high ceilings and tall windows in the room, small balconies. Our room - San Tuna -- did not appear to be the best room from browsing the website -- but it exceeded my expectations as one of the nicest and most beautiful rooms we stayed in during our 10-day trip. Bathrooms are modern but retain the character of the historic building. We also appreciated the free DVD library in the lounge with many English language films.

I recommend a 2-night stay here before moving on to other interesting locales on the Costa Brava.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of Sept, partly as a result of the reviews I'd read here.
It lived up to all our hopes. Very nice small hotel with real style. Super room, well equipped and very clean. Nice restaurant with good food and reasonable prices. Friendly and informative staff made our stay a delight. Begur is a good base for exporing the local area.
We thoroughly recommend it and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Friends gave us a very strong recommendation for Aiguaclara and we were delighted with our stay. To say the hotel is characterful is an understatement. It is full of eclectic personality and individuality.The owners Clara and Joan are incredibly welcoming and helpful. The hotel is packed with history and memorabilia. And we found the restaurant to be first class..and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights on a calm and peaceful mid-september Begur. We've been really comfortable at this nicely decorated hotel and very welcomed by its staff. The character of the building and of the rooms are the best. Hope to come back to see the other bedrooms!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a great stay at Aiguaclara. The staff there is extremely welcoming and helpful; we didn't have to figure out any of the directions to coves ourselves as they showed us everything. The rooms are spacious and warm. I would absolutely recommend the hotel and hopefully can return in the future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
529 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
775 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
364 reviews
11.0 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Property: Aiguaclara Hotel
Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing