We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Little Hotel”
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We drove from barcelona to begur on a 3 day ride before returning to the "big city" for a few days. The aiguaclara was a perfect choice there. When our gps on the rental car led us astray, a hotel rep actually walked to the gas station in town to show us the way! The room was large & quaint. Breakfast, included was good. (granola had bits of chocolate -- yum). Easy walk to explore the town & they recommended a very good restaurant for dinner (called Fonda camer I think). They also gave us a map & marked interesting towns to see on our way to our next stop in gerona.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISLANDATTORNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel is a gem, we loved it! We stayed only for one night while travelling in Costa Brava, it was just a stop-over in our trip. Wow! We had a great surprise and discovery. The decoration of the hotel has been very carefully done, with lots of details and a bit funky. It was great. We had a lovely room with huge terrace having a view to the castle and the old town. The staff and owners are very pleasent and attentive to details. The restaurant is also nice, we had a great time in the DJ friday's night. We'll come back for sure just to enjoy the hotel, the location and to explore the area a bit more.

Room Tip: Ask a room with terrace and view to the castle, are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crisquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We couldn't quite believe how many great reviews Aiguaclara Hotel in Begur had received so decided to try it out.... and it was as good as our fellow reviewers had said!
The 'care factor' is there from the moment you meet Joan and Clara, and the design of the hotel is to die for - I wanted Clara to come and decorate my house! Most striking is the fact that they treat you like an adult, trusting you to record what you take from the bar/snacks tables in the common areas and offering great quality drinks and food. The breakfast is delicious and Clara's antique boutique is worth the visit on its own!
We also liked Clara's honesty when she volunteered a couple of things that needed fixing in the bathroom before we found them and said they were going to be doing a proper repair of everything that had been broken in the near future as the season was ending.
Very minor comments re slightly noisy corridor waking us up earlier than planned (its floor is made of beautiful tiles, so I guess these carry the noise) and the choice of DVD's/TV channels being mostly in Spanish but certainly not something that would put us off staying again.
Would highly recommend Aiguaclara Hotel if you want to stay somewhere individual and stylish with fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Hoffs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

No, this hotel has not got a pool. No automatic blinds either. But who cares, in a place like this. Right in the centre of the charming little town of Begur, not far away from beaches and amazing coastal scenery, this is a wonderful place. 150 years old, beautifully renovated, full of atmosphere created by Clara and Joan, the most welcoming hosts you can imagine.
We don´t go to the same holiday place twice, but we are thinking of making an exception.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 + 4 on the first floor have spacious roof terraces.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank thomasbantje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

A real gem of a Hotel in a wonderful town! There's always a warm welcome from the owners, who have marked their personal touches all over this hotel. Beautifully renovated, good food, not a bad word to say about it!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank NorthEastUK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

After being greeted with great enthusiasm by host Clara, she showed us the premises: hotel bar where you just take what you want and make a note of it, book exchange where you can borrow books in lots of languages, cosy restaurant, chill out area with lots of DVDs, CDs and magazines, not o mention the rooms themselves: like entering a time machine to a time when things were not so fast: old travel suitcases and trunks, the bathroom design, which in our case had an amazing second to none new-but-antique-looking shower head. Free wifi in the rooms. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndersKryger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Begur is a much nicer place than we had expected - quaint, prosperous, good restaurants and shops, and some excellent coastal walks and beaches a short drive away. The hotel was as good as previous reviewers suggested. A lovely old building, nicely fitted out, and run by nice people who seemed keen to please. Our only reservation is that it turned rather cold while we were there, and our room was a little chilly.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhepher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
714 reviews
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $100 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing